Dwoon 1st Gear March 17, 2010 Share March 17, 2010 Langkasuka is a good budget hotel and not too far from Cenang. If you want civilisation, then best to stay in Cenang itself. The street is lined on both sides with shops/stalls. Berjaya is quite far from anything. Only consolation is that it is next to the base of the cable car that takes you upto the suspension bridge. This area has restaurants and shops with a nice landscaped pond. Go during holidays and it'll be packed. You definitely need a car to stay at Berjaya. An old Saga starts from about RM70 in the low season to as high as RM120 during the peak periods. CDW is another option that will cost about additional RM$20 a day. Check that the car is licensed to be rented. 9many locals rent their cars out illegally). Also, their police will be looking out strictly for this and will be an opportunity for them to get kopi $$$$. Don't bother about the hot springs there. (basically a mud hole). Others, have already been mentioned already the things to do there. The Pasar Malam if you manage to catch it, moves daily. Nothing much really but kinda fun running around trying to 2nd guess where it'll be next. (yes I got so bored staying 7 days last time that I went hunting for it) Nothing much in Kuah town so don't stay there. I like going to the Marina as they have some nice restaurants to eat whille watching the boats. The island is duty free and you'll see many tourists buying heaps of chocolates. (be careful not to buy too much as they seem to have awfully short expiry dates). Li3quor & ciggies are also cheap. You'll find these duty free shops scattered all over Kuah town and there's the major one in Cenang (next to the aquarium) For boat rides to the eagle feeding/ fish farm etc.... cheaper to go directly to the jetty (in the swamp area). If I remembered correctly, I paid RM280 for the boat (so need not share with others if you're booked through the agent) for a 4 hours or so tour. There's the cultural crafts centre to visit and the glass blowing factory which was not mentioned. Also, can visit the waterfall which at the car park area, itis already very cooling and there's a leg massage tent setup there where you can enjoy some serenity while having your legs worked at. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigg 1st Gear March 17, 2010 Author Share March 17, 2010 Hi, I just came back from Langkawi (12-14Mar) and have stayed at Bella Vista (organised tour). If you are looking for sea sports activities, I will not suggest Bella Vista. You can try Holiday Villa Beach Resort where they have their own beach. (http://www.holidayasia.com/asp/malaysia/rate.asp?HotelID=MAL0118LGK) Althought, Bella Vista is located near the town, you would need to walk at least 40mins to reach there. With the weather conditions there, I would not suggest so. As I have went with a group of senior citizens, I didn't arrange for any beach activities. I would certainly return to do so. Carlsberg cost only RM1.60 per can. If you are a smoker. Ciggy at Changi airport is S$22 while at Langkawi it is RM64. Some of the must do. Eagle feeding. Island hopping. thanks gadget man for the review! this will definitely help some of us going there soon... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged March 17, 2010 Share March 17, 2010 langkawi is an interesting place with well blend of urban and rural. my gf and i spend 9 days in there, very fun and enjoying. go up to this hill whereby the air is cool, kinda similar to genting. further to this, a few waterfall, hopefully it is still around and not dried up. during this 9 days, we rent a small malaysia made car, kelisa if i not wrong. cheap, only 50-60rm per day. hotel stay was good, if i not wrong, during the 9 days stay. we stay 3 hotels and the best one was helang, the one that is nearest to the airport. very cosy and spacious. they even got shopping mall and movie. avoid seafood and instead, eat those naive foods that is tasty and cheap. hope this info helps, as i can only recap a little which was dated 3 years back. oh, if you drive there. be careful, on my first day in langkawi, saw 3 minor accidents.. probably due to tourist overexcited and skid over a bend near the sea. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TandemAssassin 1st Gear March 19, 2010 Share March 19, 2010 Hmm... no more updates already? :( Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knht Neutral Newbie March 19, 2010 Share March 19, 2010 Carlsberg cost only RM1.60 per can. You should also put up the price of a can of coke as comparison - it's more ex than a can of carlsberg!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigg 1st Gear March 21, 2010 Author Share March 21, 2010 how bout smokes? how cheap is the duty free? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TandemAssassin 1st Gear March 22, 2010 Share March 22, 2010 Now I guess we are just left with waiting for Hermitage to go to Langkawi before coming back to update us. :) Bigg, which period are you going? Remember to check that cable car is open. There is a lengthy closure during the first 2 weeks of April, if I recall right. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigg 1st Gear March 22, 2010 Author Share March 22, 2010 TA, probably end of this month! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TandemAssassin 1st Gear March 30, 2010 Share March 30, 2010 TA, probably end of this month! almost forgot about this thread. have fun and update us when you return! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simplesilver 1st Gear March 31, 2010 Share March 31, 2010 how bout smokes? how cheap is the duty free? hey just returned from Langkawi. Smokes are like RM6.40, duty free per pack. Hahahaha. DAMN DAMN CHEAP! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TandemAssassin 1st Gear March 31, 2010 Share March 31, 2010 hey just returned from Langkawi. Smokes are like RM6.40, duty free per pack. Hahahaha. DAMN DAMN CHEAP! Bro, what car did you rent? Any other interesting things to share with us? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simplesilver 1st Gear March 31, 2010 Share March 31, 2010 Bro, what car did you rent? Any other interesting things to share with us? fyi. Sister here. Stay at Berjaya, the only problem we had is..., the supply of water is very unexpected!! sometimes can cut off. means ZERO water. than must call maintenance to fix it. & we also rented a Proton Saga. drove around the whole island. nothing much, alot of corners on the road. than did island hopping to The Lake of Pregnant Maiden. Alot of monkeys there. All trying to steal food and can-drinks. esp when you are drinking, they bio at your can, ready to jump and take from you. than if you lift it high high, they will pull your pants, scratch you, than if you threaten to kick them or slap them away, the bigger one come. hehe. & well, we ate ALOT ALOT of food for dinner for the past 2 days. had a some what fine-dining near Datai there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hermitage 1st Gear March 31, 2010 Share March 31, 2010 Now I guess we are just left with waiting for Hermitage to go to Langkawi before coming back to update us. :) Bigg, which period are you going? Remember to check that cable car is open. There is a lengthy closure during the first 2 weeks of April, if I recall right. Simplesilver so lazy!! Just say come back only...never update the guys here!! OK lah, I'll do the updating Langkawi was pretty fun! If you're flying there, try to get a seat as far to the front of the plane as possible. Why? 'Cos you'll wanna be one of the first out of the plane! There're only 2 counters to clear customs and they're really really slow about it. So if you're among the last in line, be prepared to waste 20 - 30 mins in the queue! After that though, getting a car is a breeze. The rental companies there are practically lining up to get your business! We got a Proton Saga (new model - MT of course, I'll have it no other way!), advertised at RM120 a day, but we got it for only RM140 for 2 days (Monday to Wednesday). Here's a list of other cars for rent and their respective daily rates: Perodua Kancil - RM90 Proton Iswara - RM100 Proton Wira (MT/AT) - RM120 Proton Viva (A) - RM160 Proton Perdana V6 (A) - RM250 Perodua MYVI (A) - RM160 Nissan Sentra a.k.a Sunny (A) - RM180 Nissan Latio (A) - RM200 Kembara Jeep 4WD (A) - RM180 Mazda 3 (A) - RM200 KIA Rio (A) - RM160 Toyota Vios (A) - RM180 Toyota Altis (A) - RM200 Mit. Space Wagon (A) - RM250 Nissan Serena (A) - RM250 Honda Stream (A) - RM300 Nothing really, to get that 'ol adrenaline pumpin' but hey, it's an island retreat right? Ya supposed to relax right? We took up residence at the Berjaya Resort. Quaint little place, but getting to your chalet up in the hills of dense rainforest can be quite a hassle. Not to mention the water supply problems they were facing at the time! Went Island Hopping (RM65 per person) and got sunburnt on face, neck and arms! Otherwise, quite an OK experience. Liked the bit were I got to fight off monkeys who were grabbing at my cans of soft drinks! The little buggers have got no fear of humans and will run right up to you, grabbing for your can! Hahaha! Had to slap a few of them to get them off my back! Geology buffs will especially enjoy a visit to Langkawi and the islands. 'Cos they were formed about 290 million years ago when plate tectonics forced the rocks outta the water. Evidence for this can be clearly seen in the layered rocks that form the islands, jutting out at angles and reaching for the sky. Very cool! Next was the cable car ride. A harrowing experience to be sure! You're in a little box made of metal & glass, hanging by a thread and going up the sheerest of cliffs whose elevation exceeds that of the Petronas Towers! At one point, the angle of ascent was so steep that one could hardly imagine making it to the top ! The alternative being certain death! An unimaginably horrible one at that! Aside from thoughts of plunging down, screaming all the way to be smashed to oblivion on the rocks far far below, the view though, is incredibly scenic on the way up, and nothing short of breathtaking at the peak. Well worth dying for! A second cable traverses between 2 peaks, and is not as frightful as the first. Here at the 2nd peak, there's a 5 min trek down a steep set of stairs which leads the intrepid visitor to a suspension bridge with views that make you feel at One with the Eagles! The City. If you're a metropolitan, shopaholic kind of a person...FERGEDDABOWDIT! OK? Just forget it!! There's nothing in the way of a decent mall, and the only things worth getting are duty free ciggs and alcohol, which btw cannot be brought back to Singapore at all! Not even ONE miserable bottle! Can lah, declare at customs and pay tax lor. The Datai Resort & Gulai House Restaurant. There are nice hotels, beautiul resorts, classy restaurants...and then there is The Datai and it's adjacent restaurant Gulai House! These locations are simply in a different league from the rest of the hotels, resorts and restaurants on the island. Had dinner at the Gulai House and what an experience it was! Yes, it's very expensive comparative to the rest of the islands' cuisine, but to me, it's an absolute must if you visit Langkawi! Cuisine is traditional Malay and Indian (you'd balk at the prices though...RM46 for 2 slices of Otah!!), service is of fine-dining standard. However, it's the ambience that gets you! The only way to get there is by private car from the Datai or Andaman Resort. The driver will take you through meandering roads lined with thick, prehistoric rainforest, then into a narrow inlet between the trees which entertains the impression of being swallowed by the forest itself. After thoughts pertaining to kipnapped tourists start to creep into your imagination, you arrive at the Gulai House. Deep in the forest, but at the same time, down by the sea. Decor is period-chic, reminiscent of a bygone era. Woven baskets of wicker set astride tables in private conclaves where diners sit cross-legged on tatami around low tables. Staff serve your food on squat gu Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simplesilver 1st Gear March 31, 2010 Share March 31, 2010 (edited) okay okay laaa. thank you la. such a lobster, don't everything my fault. rahh! I will upload the photos soon yea.. Edited March 31, 2010 by Simplesilver Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hermitage 1st Gear March 31, 2010 Share March 31, 2010 okay okay laaa. thank you la. such a lobster, don't everything my fault. rahh! I will upload the photos soon yea.. Quickly upload ah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simplesilver 1st Gear March 31, 2010 Share March 31, 2010 Quickly upload ah... ehh lobster, shooosh! you also got some photos. you upload laaa. me, d princess, going to sleep now. tml than I upload. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear April 1, 2010 Share April 1, 2010 Eh.... if fly there.... singapore airport's duty free at $22 for a carton is still the cheapest. hey just returned from Langkawi. Smokes are like RM6.40, duty free per pack. Hahahaha. DAMN DAMN CHEAP! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear April 1, 2010 Share April 1, 2010 Did the RM140 for 2 days car rental cover CDW? Or did you have to pay the ~RM$20/day for that? Thanks. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...