I give up owning a car liao...

relacker

Bro , majority earns less than 10k but problem is most of them earning above 5k are buying cars. Maybe some with combined family incomes of more than 10k can be justified but for the majority i mean those earning between 5~10k , they are spending like more than 20% of their money on cars? After CPF and normal expenses , i wonder how much is left for them to save? I don't see how will life improve for the better when savings are that low and probably most of them do not know how to invest.

Now the COE is going sky high , it is probably for the better for future car owners. These people which used to marginally afford cars would be forced to take public and their % in savings would increase thus allowing them more chances to find better investments which in turn might fuel them for better cars in the future. So to me COE increase might not be a bad thing. As it forces those which can marginally afford out while those who can genuinely afford would still be able to anyway.

dun forget.... there are ppl who genuinely need the cars....

Right after grad, many of my frens enter sales line for the perceived money. their basic is <2k, with 700 allowance. Even with their commission, it is likely to be only 3k + unless they are some kind of top salesmen.

Its worse for service ppl....

Some people just have a tougher life and still need a car. And for people just joining such careers, the rise in COE is indeed v unfortunate.

The truth is often the most bitter and hard to bite and swallow.

But than if everone is so financially savvy you will be out of job liao :D

Well i don't mind losing my job if it is the better of many. But problem is , i can't get out of job? The problem is my department in fact is hiring and expanding in view of the new IR.

dun forget.... there are ppl who genuinely need the cars....

Right after grad, many of my frens enter sales line for the perceived money. their basic is <2k, with 700 allowance. Even with their commission, it is likely to be only 3k + unless they are some kind of top salesmen.

Its worse for service ppl....

Some people just have a tougher life and still need a car. And for people just joining such careers, the rise in COE is indeed v unfortunate.

Bro they are things called motor bikes or 2nd hand or COE cars which cost less. Maybe those motorbikes with additional side cart might go back in favor. I'm thinking of getting one and try to change it into a hybrid bike with a cart.

i have owned cars for 6yrs now... feeling of owning a car still feel fresh

not fading yet

to each his own, some people leave this world without ever owning a car and they are fine with it

i am just saying dont regret things you missed out in life, only on your last day

Erm , i've jumped off a plane , a bridge and repel down a helicopter before. I guess I'm not missing much. Last thing i need to fill in my report card is to "own" and crash a Ferrari.

By the way do you "own" the car or does the bank own it? Or like what some others say , we are just leasing it for 10 years from the garmen

Edited by CH_CO

Erm , i've jumped off a plane , a bridge and repel down a helicopter before. I guess I'm not missing much. Last thing i need to fill in my report card is to "own" and crash a Ferrari.

By the way do you "own" the car or does the bank own it? Or like what some others say , we are just leasing it for 10 years from the garmen

errr... do u own your life or are you leasing it for 70yrs?

if you are lucky maybe 100yrs

or if u r unlucky today maybe your last day

Edited by Nimm12

errr... do u own your life or are you leasing it for 70yrs?

if you are lucky maybe 100yrs

or if u r unlucky today maybe your last day

Actually I'm borrowing every min of my life , any extension to me is a gift. Who knows when i would go but the problem is what happens to your family and the ones you love when you go? I don't really want my family to take on my liabilities.

totally agree bro

just enjoy every min of your life

let the liabilities and the future worry for itself

[sunny]

Bro , majority earns less than 10k but problem is most of them earning above 5k are buying cars. Maybe some with combined family incomes of more than 10k can be justified but for the majority i mean those earning between 5~10k , they are spending like more than 20% of their money on cars? After CPF and normal expenses , i wonder how much is left for them to save? I don't see how will life improve for the better when savings are that low and probably most of them do not know how to invest.

Now the COE is going sky high , it is probably for the better for future car owners. These people which used to marginally afford cars would be forced to take public and their % in savings would increase thus allowing them more chances to find better investments which in turn might fuel them for better cars in the future. So to me COE increase might not be a bad thing. As it forces those which can marginally afford out while those who can genuinely afford would still be able to anyway.

Bro different ppl different stroke lah..

some earn 5 k. take home 4K. spend 1.5K on car left with 2.5K. give parents left with 1.5K. own expense left maybe only Sgd500.00 (their style of life and not because they have to save for the car hor.). saving is 1K a month. still okay.

emigrate if you really cant afford car here and want to own car

1k a month 12k a year ? Won't get sick , won't get married , won't have children ? No insurance ? No nothing? Ok lor , fine to some but not fine with me. Cause potentially more workload for me.

emigrate if you really cant afford car here and want to own car

actually is migrate , emigrate not used this way , people can choose to "emigrate". Which bank you working for? High flyer? Or clown ? I've yet to see your picture of your so called car leh. Dua Kang yao xiu.

Edited by CH_CO

1k a month 12k a year ? Won't get sick , won't get married , won't have children ? No insurance ? No nothing? Ok lor , fine to some but not fine with me. Cause potentially more workload for me.

All included in Sgd 500.00 lah. Married already combine income, all those problem non exisitence. unless you are saying living on 1 person income.

for the rest assuming stay single even if you included all these. at most another Sgd 500.00. saving Sgd 500. still 6K for 1 year, 10 years is 60K.

Now kindly advice with your professional experience, what is the problem with that?

you 2 just don't give up, right? :D:D

We are easily misunderstood. I am sincerly asking for professional advice you know?

Cause got banker friend tell me, you only need to earn 3K a month can own car liao if you are prudent in your spending.

Another one tell me Insurance except for Endowment, the rest are all over rated. dont need them one. especially in singapore got CPF use Medi-save to buy medical insurance can liao.