Sabbie Clutched February 10, 2012 Share February 10, 2012 Test test lo, sometimes I bo liao also ask for fun and see if I get the right answer but so far, mainly wrong answers haha don't expect too much at the Mass Market level la... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jrage 1st Gear February 10, 2012 Share February 10, 2012 (edited) Try Govt bonds then. Obiviously you have queue for govt bond or the more low-risk ones like temask and hdb, right after they are announce they are almost all snapped up. If you buy after IPO, normally, you dun get a good rate e.g. 1% yield instead of the 3% year if bought at ipo. then transaction cost is 1-2 per share, i.e. 2500 x $1-2 =2.5k to 5k.. You can only see the real interest after 1 or 2 yrs. Need to get Relationship manager to help monitor, inform you when there is a ipo.. and they will help you to pick up the bond.. ipo admin cost is ~0.5 per share. I bought from uob, not sure abt other bank charges but i believe shld be the same. Edited February 10, 2012 by Jrage Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged February 10, 2012 Share February 10, 2012 haha don't expect too much at the Mass Market level la... True, that's why do own investment best Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabbie Clutched February 10, 2012 Share February 10, 2012 True, that's why do own investment best Depends la...there are peope who really don't know much and putting in a safe endowment with the banks may be a better idea than keeping it in their savings as they are relatively safe and give at least 2 to 4% projected returns Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabbie Clutched February 10, 2012 Share February 10, 2012 How do I go about buying SQ Bonds??? Invested for years in UTs but no idea about bonds. I think there is one tranche of SQ bonds traded on SGX....yields quite low though Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tedlhw 5th Gear February 10, 2012 Share February 10, 2012 my advice is dont take up shui on they got too much debt not safe Thats right. You are in the know. Shui On has an est RMB 10B funding gap in 2012. About USD1.6B. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tedlhw 5th Gear February 10, 2012 Share February 10, 2012 How do I go about buying SQ Bonds??? Invested for years in UTs but no idea about bonds. Call your banker/Remisier. They will buy for you. Bonds are traded OTC, not on exchange. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabbie Clutched February 10, 2012 Share February 10, 2012 http://www.sgx.com/wps/wcm/connect/sgx_en/...sh/9jan2012-006 Thanks for the link, you were referring to SIA bonds right....they launched one at 2.15% last year Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jrage 1st Gear February 10, 2012 Share February 10, 2012 (edited) -- duplicate-- Edited February 10, 2012 by Jrage Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jrage 1st Gear February 10, 2012 Share February 10, 2012 (edited) Launch price (IPO) is normally 250k- 1 lot.. which is 2500x$100. Normally, ipo charge 0.50 admin, so you need pay ard 251.50k per lot. The bond will normally be denoted as <company name><int%><maturaty yr> ..eg. SIA 2.7% 2016. After it's launch, ppl can buy from the open mkt , like stock , price will go up and go down..If price go down, then you may get $250k a lot. But most companies like SIA , gvt bond will be > $250k , sometimes yield less than 0.5% ann if you buy from open mkt. But ppl still buy because it's fixed income, low risk. If it is traded on SGX, you just need to check SGX. If not , you need to call your RM and call the treasury in the bank. they will "check" bloomberg for you. You need a buyer to sell to... so you need to confirm its a firm bid before you can sell. Different shares, shares is always traded. Bond is not so often. Edited February 10, 2012 by Jrage Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jrage 1st Gear February 10, 2012 Share February 10, 2012 Thanks for that. It's what I thought. Near enough. Is there a difference between 'bonds' and 'stocks/shares with a dividend'??? Always had difficulty buying anything else than UTs as I find UTs easy to understand and trade as and when but dividend shares and Bonds not transparent to me at all. Bond is a debt.. so if a company liquidate.. you get $$ before share holders..You get full price when the bond matures.. e.g. SIA 2.7% 2016.. in 2016, you get back full 250k that the company owe you. Share , you just leave it there or trade it accordingly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabbie Clutched February 10, 2012 Share February 10, 2012 But I don't understand how that is not even close to the 7% shown in that link. How does that work? Bro, that 7% is the dividend yield for the stock last year, dividends are not guaranteed, you are confusing stock vs bond....but I think if you are confused at this level, stay out of it until you understand better.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tedlhw 5th Gear February 10, 2012 Share February 10, 2012 So do I get dividend with stocks/shares??? Dividends are not guranteed. All listed companies can give dividends as and when they like. Bonds, are different. Technically, its the company borrowing money from you, at a pre determined interest rate. In most cases, they have to pay bond holders interest, even when they do not declare dividend. In fact if they do not pay dividend, for whatever reason, it constitues a default. By right, you have a right to seize their assets and sell, subject to liqudation procedures and laws. Cos they borrow money from you. Same thing what, when you borrow from bank, no matter what also have to pay the installment and interest. If not they go your house paste stickers... Just that for companies, the size of debt bigger, and the debt is trade-able on market. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabbie Clutched February 10, 2012 Share February 10, 2012 (edited) See, that's why I'm asking questions here before checking elsewhere. Have you got that now. Thanks to Tedlhw for his explanation. Sorry if I sound abit blunt, but I am just telling you to do your homework first, if not you will accuse banks of mis-selling again but it's yourself who is interested in buying the products......Bonds and Equities are different Asset Classes.....Unit Trusts can invest across these various asset classes....these are basics that you should know And one last thing: asking for advice on internet must be coupled with real research as what you see on the internet may not be entirely true Edited February 10, 2012 by Sabbie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jrage 1st Gear February 10, 2012 Share February 10, 2012 (edited) Dun think you are the only one that is surprised by the question "So do I get dividend with stocks/shares???" Cos' without the basic concept of profit/profit share ,assets and ownership. Buying stock will be just another form of gamble. And the biggest surprise is that these basic could be found on the internet. The difficult part is how to value a share and see analyst if there is a upside, how much up, when to let go, when to buy in , trading volume of the stock. All these take time and effort on your side, and cannot be spoonfed. Not understand bond, i can understand cos' like Sabbie said, not many ppl are exposed to it. Edited February 10, 2012 by Jrage Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scb11980 1st Gear February 10, 2012 Share February 10, 2012 Thats right. You are in the know. Shui On has an est RMB 10B funding gap in 2012. About USD1.6B. DO you have any lobang to buy US stocks on cheaply? the cheapest is USD $50 with GST Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cars08 1st Gear February 10, 2012 Share February 10, 2012 Actually if u r below 55 yrs old...why talk abt bonds? Too young to even consider bonds.. shld assume more risk n go into other financial instruments.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabbie Clutched February 10, 2012 Share February 10, 2012 Dun think you are the only one that is surprised by the question "So do I get dividend with stocks/shares???" Cos' without the basic concept of profit/profit share ,assets and ownership. Buying stock will be just another form of gamble. And the biggest surprise is that these basic could be found on the internet. The difficult part is how to value a share and see analyst if there is a upside, how much up, when to let go, when to buy in , trading volume of the stock. All these take time and effort on your side, and cannot be spoonfed. Not understand bond, i can understand cos' like Sabbie said, not many ppl are exposed to it. Thanks for seeing eye to eye with me, I may be blunt, but there is always truth in what I say, the basics and knowledge can be easily found on the internet, it's the execution and psychology that's hard to do........ ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...