'Engine popped out of car' after violent crash

Blackseal

Thu, Apr 08, 2010

AsiaOne

THE engine of a Hyundai Matrix reportedly popped out of the car in a traffic accident in the wee hours of Tuesday.

A reader was woken up by a loud crash as a Hyundai Matrix smashed into a road divider along Bedok Reservoir Road. The incident occurred at 4.30am, according to a Stomp report.

The reader told Stomp that the driver seemed uninjured. The driver "was still sitting inside the car" after the accident occurred.

According to the reader, the car was "totally damaged" and bits of the car's parts were scattered all over the road.

"The driver looked fine. The car was totally damaged and all the car parts from the front bumper to the coolant and the road metal divider flew towards the bus stop.

Thu, Apr 08, 2010

AsiaOne

THE engine of a Hyundai Matrix reportedly popped out of the car in a traffic accident in the wee hours of Tuesday.

A reader was woken up by a loud crash as a Hyundai Matrix smashed into a road divider along Bedok Reservoir Road. The incident occurred at 4.30am, according to a Stomp report.

The reader told Stomp that the driver seemed uninjured. The driver "was still sitting inside the car" after the accident occurred.

According to the reader, the car was "totally damaged" and bits of the car's parts were scattered all over the road.

"The driver looked fine. The car was totally damaged and all the car parts from the front bumper to the coolant and the road metal divider flew towards the bus stop.

i think he was flying lah not riding [sly]

may be the engine problem. saw on tv some years back. engine of airplane explodes at high rev into 10k pieces due to the bolt that was not tighten during servicing. engine exploded pieces shoots at 360 degrees like a shot gun. passengers are either killed by blade or after the plane crash. so scary.

thanks god the driver is alright.

And thank god no injuries to any innocent bystanders

Edited by Blackseal

come on lah...years ago, my friend accident in NSHW in his Honda SIR....Also die on the spot and engine also fly out....in high speed crushes....anything can happen to the car, depend on the impact point....

Edited by LoverofCar

One subaru engine was on fire this afternoon at AYE just after Alexandra towards lower delta.

Think the driver was alright.

some cars, the engine pops out is not because its faulty but more to a safety measure. by engine popping out during a collision would mean the car wont explode as the driver probably didnt have enough time to scramble out of the car.

that is one of the safety feature a car has. but "pop" definition i not too sure. actually, i think it only drops out thats all?

some cars, the engine pops out is not because its faulty but more to a safety measure....

Those for safety purpose usually drop and go under the car....not 'pop out'.

thats why my last line says not sure the writer's definition of "pop". cant be fly towards top and lands?? OMG

pop as in the same stickers on your car? =p

btw, your avatar showing a car with those frogs are very cute. hahahahaha..~

great. at least they can be seen as frogs. seemed too blur to be seenable. Thank you wor.

i hope the writer's "pop" as in "detached" and not fly upwards from the car man!

thats why my last line says not sure the writer's definition of "pop". cant be fly towards top and lands?? OMG

I never say you are 'sure' of TS's definition. I was just posting what I knew....with your post as reference. Don't be so sensitive leh. [;)]

[laugh] hahhaha dont worry, me never sensitive. only if you can tahan im abit slow and blur.

yes, they drop from below, those safety feature. though I have never seen before.

another reason why it drops. because it gives allowance between the collisions. the empty space (where the engine dropped) acts as a defence wall, and not engine crashed towards driver. this is then the reason why it drops. think not cos the explosion. my mistake. hahaha [:p]