How Good A Driver Are You?

Nutsack

How Good A Driver Are You? Rate Yourself!  

46 members have voted

1. 1. How Good A Driver Are You? Rate Yourself!

• I am an excellent driver. Best of the lot.
    • I'm not an excellent driver, but I'm at least better than the average driver.
    • I'm so-so only. Neither good nor bad.
    • I'm not a good driver. I'm lucky that I'm still holding on to my license.

A short poll of MCFers' impression of their driving prowess.

Edited by Nutsack

wah this is too generic...putting in good lap times at PG? or wat....you should put how well do i know your car....because to me the best drivers are the ones that know their cars the most....its like knowing a piece of software of application

How good then is considered good? Quite subjective leh.

I think in terms of skill I should be quite okay, above average. But honestly speaking, in terms of road manners, I can be better.

imo, a good driver is one who

1) knows his/her limits in terms of driving skills (eg. if u can't react fast, then u dun drive fast and tailgate ppl) and not displayin overconfidence.

2) does not bear grudges when met with rude motorists (i know its hard to contain sometimes la, haha). end of the day, we just wana get to our destinations safely. All anger should be off when u off ur car engine. :)

So far I see 70% think they above average. 26% think they average...

Considering that we should consider top 25%(upper quantile), middle 50% as average (interquartile) and lower 25% as below average. Somehow the profile of the average mycarforum user seem to be unrepresentative of the general population.

The fairest and most objective gauge would be demerit points deduced. Not to say I am the best of the best but I never kenna any demerit points since 17 Oct 96, the day I got my license. And I bet among those who feel they are good actually a lot is always kanna demerit one.

Wah. Not quite fair also leh. [:p]

I got 12 points for beating red light (one moment of rash judgement), but in my half a decade of driving I only ever got one accident. That was when I was young and foolish.

well it is much better than "feel" right?

I got a friend who always kanna accidents and he always feel that it is the other party's fault. He also always kanna demerit points... always not his fault one... always the road conditions and other people at fault according to him. He feel he go up MSCP damned fast that mean he is good... to me, I feel that is a sign of a reckless driver.

And if the demerit point system is not a good gauge of whether a driver is a good road user... then we shouldn't be banning people from driving for accumulating 24pts tio bo?

Edited by Mikethm

I'm a lousy driver because my lines taken through the corners are not consistent... Even kenna beat by Kelisa Turbo... Sigh!

The fairest and most objective gauge would be demerit points deduced. Not to say I am the best of the best but I never kenna any demerit points since 17 Oct 96, the day I got my license. And I bet among those who feel they are good actually a lot is always kanna demerit one.

Objective gauge shd be demerit points + accident record.. my record is still clean after 6 yrs.. no parking fines even.. ^_^

I'm a lousy driver because my lines taken through the corners are not consistent... Even kenna beat by Kelisa Turbo... Sigh!

I can drive 120km/h in a stable and straight line. [scholar]

I think I am genetically linked to Michael Schumacher! [thumbsup]

So is Ralf... [shakehead]

To me, a good driver is someone who:

1) Drive and stop smoothly without causing passengers to feel nauseaous.

2) Anticipate and react to road conditions proactively.

3) Concentrate on the road while driving

4) Can control ego and temper and not get goaded into doing something rash

For me, (1) = Very good. (2) to (4) = Acceptable

I am a below average driver. I'm a very considerate road user. I don't really speed much. And if I'm not sure, I never go.

But I still rather be driven than drive. My wife is the one who can drive. Very well.