Diamond2006 1st Gear May 7, 2010 Share May 7, 2010 According to the United Nations, 42% of the country's residents are foreigners. No wonder there are so many non Singaporean weird accents and non English speakers on the streets these days. Should the government consider stricter immigration policies to avoid being flooded by unskilled and undesirable migrants? http://www.un.org/esa/population/pub...Stock_2008.pdf This is greatest joke of Singapore.... I am not giving myself the chance for the joke to happen again, in the coming election ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zuoom 1st Gear May 7, 2010 Share May 7, 2010 erm, is that true? what's the official numbers from the DOS? http://www.singstat.gov.sg/ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Diamond2006 1st Gear May 7, 2010 Author Share May 7, 2010 Hello bro... PR are considered as foreigner too.... dun be mis-lead by the term Singaporean/PR group Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Retrochink Clutched May 7, 2010 Share May 7, 2010 SG is trying to do an Arsenal. :angry: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged May 7, 2010 Share May 7, 2010 SG is trying to do an Arsenal. :angry: no way... arsenal's players are mostly talents, except a few... singapore is opposite Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tonyhawk 1st Gear May 7, 2010 Share May 7, 2010 i've been looking for the foreigner/PR/Citizen number for the longest time. never found it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mr_b20 6th Gear May 7, 2010 Share May 7, 2010 gahment always like to include PR together with SGPeans to make the foreigner ratio look smaller :angry: i rather believe UN stats of 42%. if factor in illegals & overstayers, i think is almost half gotta vote wisely this time Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chewbacca 1st Gear May 7, 2010 Share May 7, 2010 I AM REPRESENTING THE 42% HERE! *RUNS* Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged May 7, 2010 Share May 7, 2010 no way... arsenal's players are mostly talents, except a few... singapore is opposite Wrong, Arsernal's Player look talented when they play for Arsernal but like s--t for other club, except for a few.... Sound like Singapore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear May 7, 2010 Share May 7, 2010 I AM REPRESENTING THE 42% HERE! *RUNS* yes you are. good for you. 60 yrs from now when my old kids come up to you selling tissue paper at the hawker centre, pls buy it from them gum xia. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chewbacca 1st Gear May 7, 2010 Share May 7, 2010 yes you are. good for you. 60 yrs from now when my old kids come up to you selling tissue paper at the hawker centre, pls buy it from them gum xia. No problem! I'll even given them a bit bonus. Must share the wealth, yeah? Aiya, Singapore in a pretty bad position in this perspective. Don't import? Might not have enough people to compete with other countries. Import? Singapore turns into Mixapore. Maybe I'll become full fledged Singaporean in the end. Can't tell for sure... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sorrow 2nd Gear May 7, 2010 Share May 7, 2010 According to the United Nations, 42% of the country's residents are foreigners. No wonder there are so many non Singaporean weird accents and non English speakers on the streets these days. Should the government consider stricter immigration policies to avoid being flooded by unskilled and undesirable migrants? http://www.un.org/esa/population/pub...Stock_2008.pdf This is greatest joke of Singapore.... I am not giving myself the chance for the joke to happen again, in the coming election bro can't see leh, link down Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear May 7, 2010 Share May 7, 2010 (edited) The way our population is growing, by the time by my kids start thier career, the company constist of maybe 20% sporean 80% PR & FT. Edited May 7, 2010 by Hiphiphoray Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Diamond2006 1st Gear May 7, 2010 Author Share May 7, 2010 UN_MigStock_2008 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sorrow 2nd Gear May 7, 2010 Share May 7, 2010 saw the pdf alreadi thanks.... haiz... duno nxt time if i get married and have children, he/she will have problem understanding the teachers anot....imagine all different accents....no more local taste..... i'm ok with a controlled number to sustain certain working fields, but close to half is abit too much liao.... even with regards say our population is not growing, sometimes our dear ah gong also have to see the rising costs of inflation, our salary etc... like wat i told my parent, last time, 1 salary can feed a couple of mouths plus buy a flat....now 1 person salary enough to sustain himself and if he 'lucky', take a 30 yr loan to buy a flat in which he is only around for less than half a day as the rest of the day, he will outside earning money to sustain the payment and stuff. CPF contribution part i still can agree as I know some ppl really duno how to save money when they work...so at least it allows them to have a roof over their head i think these pointers are previously highlighted by others before, but well....i think its a major concern in my opinion... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tonyhawk 1st Gear May 7, 2010 Share May 7, 2010 42% is indeed ridiculous. can anyone chart gdp growth wrt to population growth. perhaps its just the easy way out, more people more gdp. gdp per capita doesnt even change. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chewbacca 1st Gear May 7, 2010 Share May 7, 2010 42% is indeed ridiculous. can anyone chart gdp growth wrt to population growth. perhaps its just the easy way out, more people more gdp. gdp per capita doesnt even change. No lar. GDP per capita, Singapore is actually one of the highest around. Has been a very clear uptrend. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear May 7, 2010 Share May 7, 2010 The way our population is growing, by the time by my kids start thier career, the company constist of maybe 20% sporean 80% PR & FT. And this is highly probable. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...