Why Sporeans don't wanna greet each other Overseas?

Tigerwoods

Dao mah. :D

You wanna know why? Becos sgp got a lot of salesman(sure get flame up down left right) :D . If someone were to approach you with a smile and say hi, mostly likely they will ask you to sign up some credit card membership or sell you some kinda product related to insurance. I have never encounter someone greet me just to say hi in sgp maybe except my friends or neighbours.

So it becomes 2nd to nature when ppl start to say hi to sgporeans, they will act dao or ignore you and quickly walk away.

I sometimes in a queue say in Movieworld for the rides - 1 hr waiting time. So I see a parent with his kid behind me and I struck a conv. he is like, yes, no answer, showing that he don't wanna talk to you.

This is not the 1st time but countless. Some even worse, Slang - wah this one I cannot tahan (esp girls do that more than guys).

DAO is the word

My observation is :

The More Educated the person, they more he/she will try to act High Class - Overseas...

I sometimes in a queue say in Movieworld for the rides - 1 hr waiting time. So I see a parent with his kid behind me and I struck a conv. he is like, yes, no answer, showing that he don't wanna talk to you.

This is not the 1st time but countless. Some even worse, Slang - wah this one I cannot tahan (esp girls do that more than guys).

DAO is the word

My observation is :

The More Educated the person, they more he/she will try to act High Class - Overseas...

small island mentality

not i say one... neil humphreys said one

yalor, i see you in the lift i also duwan to talk, you look like ah long [laugh] [laugh]

HAHAHA...

FYI, I'm now in HKG.

In the plane, got 1 Sickaporean sitting beside me. We are fighting for Elbow space.in Econ class seat.

Finally I give in to him lah. When the plane in HKG Airport, I open the Cabin to get my bags, I also bring his one down - Thank you also don't have... See lah...

HAHAHA...

FYI, I'm now in HKG.

In the plane, got 1 Sickaporean sitting beside me. We are fighting for Elbow space.in Econ class seat.

Finally I give in to him lah. When the plane in HKG Airport, I open the Cabin to get my bags, I also bring his one down - Thank you also don't have... See lah...

i feel you man...

singaporeans got golden mouth... "thank you" very hard to say... costs hell of a lot of money ok... say already will lugi one... [laugh]

Our educational system may be to blame. From young, we are categorized into Band 1, 2, 3. EM1, EM2, EM3.

Gifted, Express, Normal (Acad/Tech). It's too competitive a system.

HAHAHA...

FYI, I'm now in HKG.

again I must say, you are meeting all the wrong Singaporeans,.... I travel frequently and have met many friendly karkeelang while overseas... the SQ crew I met in Greece, they did not know I will be on the same return flight... :)

i also experience that sometimes overseas, in china, japan, korea, but especially in europe and australia.

not so much in malaysia, indonesia, hongkong, and surprisingly, USA.

i also dunno why.

by the way, anyone who has done business in china can tell you the same thing: the taiwanese businessmen in china are united and have a very close knit network that helps each other out. same with the Hong Konger business network in China. they really treat each like relatives and give priority to each other in business.

the singaporean business network in china, however, is full of jealousy, envy, betrayal and haolian-ness. everybody tries to sabo each another and tries to be the winning party that looks the best. i could tell them the story of chopsticks but guess singaporeans over there all looking after themselves only, heck care other singaporeans.

dunno why. perhaps this is what our govt has bred in our people.

You are very spot on. I also felt this way. Ang Mo Country - Sporeans all try to siam other Sporeans one.

Asian countries maybe lesser DAO-ness.

Twn -Kia, HKG-Kia all very close knit ppl one.

Sporean - not united one. I think bcz of language. HKG - Cantonese, Twn - Mandarin,

Spore - Chap-Pa-Lang.

Our educational system may be to blame. From young, we are categorized into Band 1, 2, 3. EM1, EM2, EM3.

Gifted, Express, Normal (Acad/Tech). It's too competitive a system.

i wouldn't say that competition is the problem.

the problem comes from categorisation and classification of young innocent children into systems.. this breeds elitism at a young age and this sense of superiority/inferiority is forever etched into the young kids' minds and it is a burden he/she carries into adulthood.

band 1 lookdown on band 2 lookdown on band 3 lookdown on EM1, etc etc

again I must say, you are meeting all the wrong Singaporeans,.... I travel frequently and have met many friendly karkeelang while overseas... the SQ crew I met in Greece, they did not know I will be on the same return flight... :)

Maybe I unlucky but I'm a frequent traveller and had gone to many places. But cannot be so SUAY right ?

Yes there are some kindred spirits that are friendly. Most will try to Kek 1 SEY...

SQ crew are very friendly people and helpful - sans their uniforms.

i met very friendly SQ crew in Rome as well! he allowed me to check in extra luggage when mine was already overloaded. london SQ crew very nice as well!

SQ people are generally nice people, as many of them do not really come from highly educated or privileged backgrounds... that's why they are more humble overseas.

really cannot tahan the OxBridge crowd or the Harvard/Yale/Princeton singkies. they always try to khek some kind of LJ seh when you talk to them...

i feel you man...

singaporeans got golden mouth... "thank you" very hard to say... costs hell of a lot of money ok... say already will lugi one... [laugh]

Actually this incident made me post this thread.

dun go far.....go into the lift with ppl and all looking down looking for $$$....

wan to chat also the face kuai lan face how to tok

...why do people feel a need to talk in lifts? I'll be here for no more than 15 seconds? At most, a simple hi or nod of heads should do.

but it's a fact lah...my face alwes looks soooooooooo firece...ppl selling flag also wan approach me i stare at them they run away....nb

haha. . . i think they see you as the death angel. . . thats why they scared. . . :D[laugh]

i noticed that too.i don't need to go so far overseas to observe this 'trait'.go JB can see already.but there are still a few who would gladly chit chat once they know i'm a fellow singaporean.

but in JB,also got another trend by sporeans.the "i'm-sporean-and-i'm-richer-than-you" attitude.i'm malay and i dress down when i go JB so as not to attract the wrong attention.and sadly,most sporeans i met when i go there have this attitude coz they thought i am one of the locals.. :wacko: dunno what point are they trying to prove.

agree on this. . . been there seen that. . . [;)]

Maybe those who are 'unfriendly' are on a tight holiday schedule. When people are relatively busy, they tend to have less time for small talks...something many of us don't even do so with strangers when we're at home. But things are quite different when s'porean are living overseas. They are a lot friendlier and generally close knit.

when singaporeans live overseas, ie:- students, they have no choice but to hang out together as they don't get along with other nationalities/races. and even within the singaporean clique, a lot of bitchiness exists.

when singaporeans holiday overseas, especially in angmo countries, most will be very nice and polite to the angmos, but downright nasty to non-whites there, like indians, chinese, vietnamese, etc. even if these non-whites are citizens/residents of that country. don't believe? next time you're overseas in angmo country/city that is popular with immigrants and tourists and have some spare time, stake out a place for coffee or dinner and just observe the singaporean tourists around.

i really think it is something we learned in our education system here...