Too long queue everywhere.

SimonTan

Because in SG, people don't trust one another.

Don't think such systems will come to SG anytime soon, though.

If one can afford to pay $120,000 car yet to cheat on parking coupons.

Don't think such systems will work in SG anytime soon.

And those people who forgot to weigh their vegetables,

And those HELPFUL cashiers will bring the vegetables ALL THE WAY to the weighing counter to weigh for the customer

Actually... why can't the supermarkets get weighing machines for all their cashiers. So that they do not need to walk a distance to weigh them.

I believe some places like cold storage incorp weighing systems at the cashiers. NTUC makes so much money from their business, surely can afford to upgrade their cashier systems.

such a small dot in this Earth and we are nearly 5 millions in population.

thus, it is not surprising to reckon that everywhere will be crowded.

my friend just told me one thing, the crowded places will be for FTs.

we, SGeans, will be hidding in some corners whereby less crowds.. for us to have some peace. =P

hidding at boleh land do shopping :D

It's almost the same in gd locations supermarket......sometimes wan to buy a single item also muz tink twice haha

bo bian lah...this is the world tdy

Actually... why can't the supermarkets get weighing machines for all their cashiers. So that they do not need to walk a distance to weigh them.

I believe some places like cold storage incorp weighing systems at the cashiers. NTUC makes so much money from their business, surely can afford to upgrade their cashier systems.

Yup. In Aus the weighing machines are integrated into the cashier machines. Save one step for the customer.

Not necessarily self service counters like CS GWC, but idiot proof express counters ... less than 10 items, no weighing/ no asking questions type.

idiot proof express counter will be choked up by all the "smart" families with more than 20-30 items in one trolley. [:p]

Yup. In Aus the weighing machines are integrated into the cashier machines. Save one step for the customer.

here is, saving several steps for the cashier.

My view is that Sg has too many blur ppl, who choke up the service counters.

Having customer service is good, blur ppl have the right to exist.

I am just asking for more self service options for ppl who places a higher value on productivity.

Not necessarily self service counters like CS GWC, but idiot proof express counters ... less than 10 items, no weighing/ no asking questions type.

Talking about express counters, last night just went Giant.

Saw a chao kuan couple with 3 kids queued at the express counter with a whole trolley full of items. One guy buay song ask them queue elsewhere. The couple have the cheek to say they have 5 ppl, so 1 person queue for 10 items. KNN... 2 the kids are 4 or 5 yr olds and the other is a baby leh! So inconsiderate!

I think the supermarket need to do something to stop this. If I'm the boss i would tell me cashiers not to checkout for such ppl at express counters. Make them queue twice.

You should be happy that we have FTs. Otherwise do you think Singapore economy can be strong?

To think about it, the late Dr.Goh who made Spore economy strong is also an FT. He came from Malacca

This is utter nonsense. I can't believe you can associate Dr GKS together with these so called FTs. Do you know that Dr GKS was an alumnus of LSE?

What was the socio-economic circumstances that Singapore was in when Dr GKS came? I am sure it was dire, very much worse off than what these FTs have to face off when they contemplated coming.

He made a hard choice.

These FTs were "persuaded" by the red carpet treatment. Many were fast tracked to become PRs and Singapore citizens. I have no offence or ill will against foreign folks who came here and slogged there way here and got their Singapore citizenship 10 years after becoming PR.

Singapore also have. I've seen self-checkout at least at Cold Storage Tanglin Mall.

Because in SG, people don't trust one another.

In US and I think Aus as well, some supermarket allow customers to self-checkout. Yes, the customer is the cashier. Just go to those self-checkout counters, scan the price tags then pay with credit card or ATM card and GO. Simple. Sometimes they put a security guard there to watch u... haha.

And some supermarkets in US have this portable scanner which u take at the entrance for u to scan as u shop. At the express cashier just plug it in to download the data into the cashier machine and pay straight away. No need to waste time scanning at the cashier. And cashier won't even put the items into plastic bags for u. They just throw plastic bags into your trolley n u pack yourself outside. The items u buy don't leave the trolley at all. Very fast and easy.

Don't think such systems will come to SG anytime soon, though.