Cheque got lost in cheque deposit box

Bluepica

Does cheque ever got lost in deposit box??

I thought it's much safer than send cheque by post...

I deposited a cheque in RBS bank last Friday, till today still haven't clear. Called them, asked me to cheque with issuing bank... Duh! Hello? Of course it is not cleared that y I call u what! .... then asked me to send the cheque again.. duh DUH! Hello? I deposit at your bank branch leh, not by postal.... then he put me on hold....asked me cheque number and issuing bank, said will check and get back to me...by when? by Monday! Hello! My cheque already one week in that box and my payment due date is getting nearer and now you take so long to check? ...

TGIF... still have to stress over such matter..

Does cheque ever got lost in deposit box??

I thought it's much safer than send cheque by post...

I deposited a cheque in RBS bank last Friday, till today still haven't clear. Called them, asked me to cheque with issuing bank... Duh! Hello? Of course it is not cleared that y I call u what! .... then asked me to send the cheque again.. duh DUH! Hello? I deposit at your bank branch leh, not by postal.... then he put me on hold....asked me cheque number and issuing bank, said will check and get back to me...by when? by Monday! Hello! My cheque already one week in that box and my payment due date is getting nearer and now you take so long to check? ...

TGIF... still have to stress over such matter..

stress sia, got such thing happen.....................

really must call the branch manage which you deposit at and provide ur cheque details. that y sometime you see people que to deposit their cheque through counter and a acknowledge slip with the bank stamp just in case cheque is missing.

but that is the 1st time i heard of cheuqe lost in deposit box.

Touch wood never happen to me before.

I would not be able to provide the cheque number as i only take note of the amount and the issuing bank.

Guess have to start recording the cheque number before dropping it into the Quick Cheque deposit from now on.

Friend....check the CCTV...heard there was once a case, someone go to the election board to submit form and later kept it inside his bag....BUT...CCTV can tell.....we are in singapore wor...CCTV is everywhere...hehehe

haha..soon or later our street n roof top will be crawling with cctv. [laugh]

it always gd to take down the cheque number as it a unique number tat make tracing easier.

Edited by Dec_allion

Most of my online customers pay me with cheques deposit into the bank collection boxes - so far have not encountered any problem for the last 5 years.

bro your cheque got cross line to the company?

Coz heard many yrs back that some deperados use a stick and some blue-tack/scotch tape to fish out cheques from the deposit box and do alterations to it to claim the $$...especially those older banks still using those wooden boxes. THink newer banks uses unique funnel shaped boxes to prevent this.

in my 10 yrs, never got probs....hmmm....you got put in properi anot

haha..that's why i said...like that James Gomad....never drop in...keep inside pocket....hahaha

bro your cheque got cross line to the company?

Coz heard many yrs back that some deperados use a stick and some blue-tack/scotch tape to fish out cheques from the deposit box and do alterations to it to claim the $$...especially those older banks still using those wooden boxes. THink newer banks uses unique funnel shaped boxes to prevent this.

Got crossed.. and confirm not in my wallet or pocket [laugh]

have to wait and see lo :mellow:

Someone I know told me a true story.... One customer actually drop the cheque into those litter bin beside the ATM machine, thinking that its for depositing the cheque. Luckily it was recovered by the branch manager. :blink:

Friend....check the CCTV...heard there was once a case, someone go to the election board to submit form and later kept it inside his bag....BUT...CCTV can tell.....we are in singapore wor...CCTV is everywhere...hehehe

Are the cameras turn on in the first place?

Always the case when commoners complain and want to review the footage, it's always not turned on, under maintenance or captured the wrong angle.

But when it involves a MIW, the recordings are always sharp and crystal clear.

sure put into the correct cheque deposit box or u put into a box whereby it is a waste bin for ppl to throw away receipts from ATM.....

now cannot trust CCTV, all dummy :D

CCTV can zoom in to see the cheque numbers? they collect in stack also can't see lah ...

haha..soon or later our street n roof top will be crawling with cctv. [laugh]

it always gd to take down the cheque number as it a unique number tat make tracing easier.

CCTV is good if it is high resolution else grainy. CCTV economical when the country is big. Singapore is too small and many high/low obstruction. Better use a satellite, one is enough to see all.