Pandapura 1st Gear May 22, 2010 Share May 22, 2010 I also encountered a goondu who stepped onto the left lane to TRY to flag down a taxi (which was on the right lane)...probably thought that he has the right of way....whatever!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Csnewbie 1st Gear May 22, 2010 Share May 22, 2010 (edited) Hi All, Is there any laws we can protect ourselves from those goondus pedestrians? What is the use of traffic lights if no people obey the rules???? Any lawyers here? can we have the right to sue pedestrians who disobey the red light? I am at a main road,was turning right into a side road,the light for the pedestrian has already turned red. As I was about to turn,this goondus couple still walk slowly across the road.I inched my car forward ,yet the guy actually stared at me. The problem is that I can see cars in the opposite direction at the main road speeding towards me. If there is an accident,whoes fault is it? I have a friend who drove ,knocked down and killed a pedestrian. He was found not at fault, but license got guntonged for 5 yrs,bcos they alleged he was careless.You stand to lose also if not at fault. Edited May 22, 2010 by Csnewbie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kohler Neutral Newbie May 22, 2010 Share May 22, 2010 Usually in these cases, a 120 decibel horn will do them nicely. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Csnewbie 1st Gear May 22, 2010 Share May 22, 2010 Hey.....you're promoting premature-deaf-patients in SG isit...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear May 22, 2010 Share May 22, 2010 i agree....everyday...i see this kind of pple...we have cyclist vs machine...we have pedestrain vs machine...oh...singaporean love extreme challange.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged May 22, 2010 Share May 22, 2010 Nowadays pedestrain seem to walk like they own the road. Take their own sweet time, like they not scared of dying. Maybe they know their rights. Drivers are supposed to keep a lookout for such errant pedestrains even though they are in the wrong. We are always at the losing end. Short of the pedestrain actually, literally, asking to be hit, I don't think us drivers have any case. :angry: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cotrox Neutral Newbie May 22, 2010 Share May 22, 2010 Sleepy-T, yup. must see which area also.not just HDB/Industrial areas... you see geylang and serangoon...they cross the road like nobody's business.we no choice but to be alert and watch out for them. Tansrb, yea the van driver damn heng the bugger nv get up and accuse the van of knocking him down. that would have been an injustice indeed.i think even with super fast reflexes also cannot react in time..the goondu just darted out from in between 2 cars..how to react like that? sighhhh..some people ah.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zelcadence Neutral Newbie May 22, 2010 Share May 22, 2010 Hi All, Is there any laws we can protect ourselves from those goondus pedestrians? What is the use of traffic lights if no people obey the rules???? Any lawyers here? can we have the right to sue pedestrians who disobey the red light? I am at a main road,was turning right into a side road,the light for the pedestrian has already turned red. As I was about to turn,this goondus couple still walk slowly across the road.I inched my car forward ,yet the guy actually stared at me. The problem is that I can see cars in the opposite direction at the main road speeding towards me. If there is an accident,whoes fault is it? I don't think so. There's a news article some time back about the car accident involving a korean kid crossing the road at traffic light when pedestrian light was red. He got hit by an on-going vehicle. The driver got fined 250k after a few months of trials. I think these ignorant pedestrians are too complacent, and certainly do not care about their own safety. Maybe we can "pipe" another line from the wiper water to point forward or side, so we can "wake them up" when we pass by them. And... horn only when you're not in your neighborhood. :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aeromania 1st Gear June 7, 2010 Author Share June 7, 2010 I don't think so. There's a news article some time back about the car accident involving a korean kid crossing the road at traffic light when pedestrian light was red. He got hit by an on-going vehicle. The driver got fined 250k after a few months of trials. I think these ignorant pedestrians are too complacent, and certainly do not care about their own safety. Maybe we can "pipe" another line from the wiper water to point forward or side, so we can "wake them up" when we pass by them. And... horn only when you're not in your neighborhood. :) Compressed air better. Will be useful when chicks with miniskirts walk by your car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zelcadence Neutral Newbie June 9, 2010 Share June 9, 2010 Compressed air better. Will be useful when chicks with miniskirts walk by your car. Not bad at all Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear June 9, 2010 Share June 9, 2010 2 aunties jaywalking across road, talking amongst themselves, no need to check for traffic, I was approaching them at 40km/h, they turned their heads and saw me coming towards them . . . I slowed down to 30 - 20 and they just continue talking, walking at a snail's pace until I had to stop for them. When they were slightly off the left side of my car, I sounded my horn full blast behind them . . you should have seen them jumping out of their skin. Naughty me! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1l0v3you Clutched June 9, 2010 Share June 9, 2010 Would like to know how many drivers out there have encountered some "ALMIGHTY" pedestrians who thinks they are god of the road and no vehicle will hurt them. Just some of my encounters so far... 1) Was sitting in my brother's car in AMK central polyclinic area few years back. While on our way out of the car park, our vehicle came behind a lady holding her little daughter's hand walking slowly in the middle of the road. My brother thought she'd probably walk onto the pavement soon enough but that lady actually took a glance on us and carry on walking slowly in the middle of the road as if she has the right to remain on the road. WTF!!! 2) Was driving along Alexandra road towards city last week at around 10pm at night. If I remembered correctly, it was a 3 lanes road. Anyway, this old couple was at the side of the road looking for a taxi and when the taxi in front of me which was about 200 meters away from me refused to pull over and let this old couple board the taxi, the old man walked out to the middle of the road and started cursing and some gave hand signs to the taxi that went off. Me, coming from the back and was driving kinda fast, saw this uncle in the middle of the road and I was like "WAH LAN EH SIAO LIAO!!!". I quickly slammed on my brake pedal and steered myself to the extreme right lane as there were no vehicles on the right but still carry on braking in case he really went cuckoo and walked to the right lane. Eventually he walked back to the pavement. Fortunately I didn't crap myself. 3)Was driving out of my MSCP this morning and as I was about to reach the exit to main road (the exit to main road has only a simple stop line, no pedestrian crossing or whatsoever), this uncle sort of stare at me and crossed right in front of me. I didn't care much as I was still some distance away from him and just carry on slowly move towards the exit. But as I was about to move out of the exit, this teenage boy was kind of ignoring my vehicle's existence and wanted to cross in front of me without even looking. So I decided to teach him a lesson by not giving way to him and drove off to the main road. (Do note that I executed that decision without endangering his life) So my question is, are pedestrians getting too comfortable crossing the road even if it's not a pedestrian crossing? Do share some of your experiences too. haghahhajahaha lol. the 2nd one so funny LOL. maybe he wait there 3 days liao. if i was there i think i would have burst out laughing LOLLLL. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Axela72 5th Gear June 17, 2010 Share June 17, 2010 Usually in these cases, a 120 decibel horn will do them nicely. Yesterday night when I was driving out from a HDB estate area, reaching about 10 metre near the exit grantry and it happened that a young couple was walking across infront the road. I quickly step brake infront of them. The young couple is startled and seem like they think they have the right of way and the guy was cursing me up and down. So I let it be and intend to continue to drive toward the exist gantry. You know what happen next? The guy still do not want to walk along the pavement but purposely walk slowly along the road infront of my car. I lost patient and horny him to give way. He turn around scolding and used his hand and hammer onto the bonnet of my car. As I have my kid besides me in the car, I decide not to pick a fight with him. So i slowly inches by inches forcing my car through him and out of the gantry. I can see from my rear mirror that he is cursing upside down. When I reach home alighting, I realized that there is a big Dent on my bonnet where he has just punched! How will you feel if you are me? BTW, this guy have tattoo on one of his whole leg. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unfair 3rd Gear June 17, 2010 Share June 17, 2010 How come people get killed by trains, the train driver does not get prosecuted ? Not enough time to e-brake right ? Whereas on the roads, i knock someone down i get in trouble when i dun have time to brake/avoid ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Twincharged June 17, 2010 Share June 17, 2010 Would like to know how many drivers out there have encountered some "ALMIGHTY" pedestrians who thinks they are god of the road and no vehicle will hurt them. Just some of my encounters so far... 1) Was sitting in my brother's car in AMK central polyclinic area few years back. While on our way out of the car park, our vehicle came behind a lady holding her little daughter's hand walking slowly in the middle of the road. My brother thought she'd probably walk onto the pavement soon enough but that lady actually took a glance on us and carry on walking slowly in the middle of the road as if she has the right to remain on the road. WTF!!! 2) Was driving along Alexandra road towards city last week at around 10pm at night. If I remembered correctly, it was a 3 lanes road. Anyway, this old couple was at the side of the road looking for a taxi and when the taxi in front of me which was about 200 meters away from me refused to pull over and let this old couple board the taxi, the old man walked out to the middle of the road and started cursing and some gave hand signs to the taxi that went off. Me, coming from the back and was driving kinda fast, saw this uncle in the middle of the road and I was like "WAH LAN EH SIAO LIAO!!!". I quickly slammed on my brake pedal and steered myself to the extreme right lane as there were no vehicles on the right but still carry on braking in case he really went cuckoo and walked to the right lane. Eventually he walked back to the pavement. Fortunately I didn't crap myself. 3)Was driving out of my MSCP this morning and as I was about to reach the exit to main road (the exit to main road has only a simple stop line, no pedestrian crossing or whatsoever), this uncle sort of stare at me and crossed right in front of me. I didn't care much as I was still some distance away from him and just carry on slowly move towards the exit. But as I was about to move out of the exit, this teenage boy was kind of ignoring my vehicle's existence and wanted to cross in front of me without even looking. So I decided to teach him a lesson by not giving way to him and drove off to the main road. (Do note that I executed that decision without endangering his life) So my question is, are pedestrians getting too comfortable crossing the road even if it's not a pedestrian crossing? Do share some of your experiences too. usually i show no tolerance for idiots who jaywalk, see my car coming and still take their own sweet time. a nice aftermarket horn does the work nicely. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XXPlutoXx Neutral Newbie June 17, 2010 Share June 17, 2010 Dun think there are any law protecting driver on hitting pedestrian. unless the pedestrian admit themself wrong in the 1st place. happen to me once when i hit a lady crossing road, jaywalking. instead watching the traffic, she was eyeing on her phone. hit her, under police case. i was off the charges. i guess the lady did what is right by admitting herslef jaywalk without noticing surround traffic. i respect this kind of people. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged June 17, 2010 Share June 17, 2010 Dun think there are any law protecting driver on hitting pedestrian. unless the pedestrian admit themself wrong in the 1st place. happen to me once when i hit a lady crossing road, jaywalking. instead watching the traffic, she was eyeing on her phone. hit her, under police case. i was off the charges. i guess the lady did what is right by admitting herslef jaywalk without noticing surround traffic. i respect this kind of people. I thought I remember some driver was punished for hitting a pedestrial in a traffic juntion when the light is in the favour of the driver..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XXPlutoXx Neutral Newbie June 17, 2010 Share June 17, 2010 hmm.. i was not at traffic junction. it was a straight road and she came out of the road suddenly ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...