Oil filter logic...

Ken4555

ya, flip the car upside down, so the oil wont spill out when u remove the filter :D[laugh]:D

dun need, stop the engine for 10 to 15 mins...the normal way dismantle the metal casing or 'paper' oil filter....But prepare some unwanted paper or cloth to collect/wipe away the some oil spill from the filter. If hanging type filter u can expect the whole cannister of oil, just ensure take out in an upright position can liao. If inverted type....can expect some spill, just push a pce of drag ard the edge of the filter after loosen the cannister, then slowly turn to dismantle it.

If you are kidding with us. This is ticklish and I appreciate you (laugh)

The synthetic oil (unless it is given free) cost many times the oil filter. If you change the engine oil every 5k km, it does not cost you much to change oil filter?

.l.

i'll say this for the 1000th time...

my car oil total 2.5 liters... i change 5k or less... i even change at 1k before for VX fully Syn and c-----e... cost of oil for my change is $12-$14 per change...

i change myself i have the fumoto valve...

dont need to jack the car i can change oil.. but the filter more troublesome...

weather Simota $30 or Knn $30 or Denso $10 or less or watever race oil filter or stock filter... its the amount ot sh1t it can filter... flow rates dont matter to family cars like mine... if i change eo at 1k or 5k... the filter IS STILL USEABLE... with maybe 200ml of old oil inside... which will be much better than a 10k oil change anyways...

anyways no engine oil change can you get 100% old oil out anyways...

and NO I AM NOT TRYING TO MAKE YOU LAUGH YOU PRICK...

sorry for being rude... its just me...

Can know your problem with oil filter replacement/car model?

I thought mineral-based engine oil cheaper?

*FAINTS*....

bro you from Mars ah? 1500 over posts here in MCF and you like sotong.... you took over a friend's account is it?

dun need, stop the engine for 10 to 15 mins...the normal way dismantle the metal casing or 'paper' oil filter....But prepare some unwanted paper or cloth to collect/wipe away the some oil spill from the filter. If hanging type filter u can expect the whole cannister of oil, just ensure take out in an upright position can liao. If inverted type....can expect some spill, just push a pce of drag ard the edge of the filter after loosen the cannister, then slowly turn to dismantle it.

Can have a container tray to catch the dripping expired oil for proper disposal before you get started to lossen the cartridge filter?

*FAINTS*....

bro you from Mars ah? 1500 over posts here in MCF and you like sotong.... you took over a friend's account is it?

You got the point. You are right. Just arrived at MCF, blur like sotong to learn from the more experienced friends/masters... Many thanks

well if u diy then thats really saving alot of money, and if you enjoy the process then good for you. pls remember though, to dispose of the oil properly with the workshops. cant imagine how u gonna crawl under the car to do your oil changes. have to use double jacks? or use the oil removal pump from the dip stick (definitely not preferred)?

Park car with front wheels on one/two pieces of bricks will do. Can also park car with wheels saddling small dry drain. No jacking required.

I only use one jack on the side of the engine where the oil is.

Although I bought jacks as a pair.

If I remove the tyre, then I would slide the tyre below the car...just in case.

I thought park car with wheel over kerb easier than to jack up for access clearance?

Back in the early 1980's one handy man, during his weekend ( at home) try to drain his wife' ride engine oil, end up killed by the car due to weak bricks that give way.

PS if you need to go under the car, ALWAYS use engine metal stands that are designed to take the car gross weigh. Be very of those locally fabricated stands that used scrap angle steel bars with poor welding joints.

Edited by Yeobh

Looks like removing oil filter in the near future will be easy as removing air filter.

===========================================

2011 Chevrolet Cruze Engines Use Eco-friendly Cartridge Oil Filter

The 2011 Chevrolet Cruze will make proper oil filter disposal and recycling easier. The Ecotec 1.4L turbo and 1.8L four-cylinder engines will use a cartridge style oil filter which is easier to recycle and service compared to the conventional steel canister-style oil filters.

Recycling canister style filters requires that the metal housing and other elements, like the rubber seal, be cut away or separated, whereas the compact cartridge style is made of only paper and plastic. Because of this, proper disposal of the oil filter is easier for recycling centers.

Another benefit of the cartridge-style filter is that it can be changed easily and is virtually drip free from the top of the vehicle. This lessens the chance of oil dripping to the ground or driveway and possibly making its way into the water system when performing oil changes.

The housing for the cartridge-style filter is part of the engine and reused for the life of the engine. It never needs replacing. The housing also has a screw-on replaceable cap that eliminates the conventional canister-to-engine mating surface that is a potential source of leaks.

==============================================================================

My Mini Countryman was using this replaceable element filter, nothing new?

I understand to remove the cartridge your mech will need a special tool and torx bit. Without such tools they will just BS to you the need to replace the whole unit.

Ps The photo may not be the correct type of wrench for your engine.

Once a brother of mine loosen a cartridge filter with Philliphead screwdriver, a hammer, and a piece of rope (he got no other tools for it)

.l.

i'll say this for the 1000th time...

my car oil total 2.5 liters... i change 5k or less... i even change at 1k before for VX fully Syn and c-----e... cost of oil for my change is $12-$14 per change...

i change myself i have the fumoto valve...

dont need to jack the car i can change oil.. but the filter more troublesome...

weather Simota $30 or Knn $30 or Denso $10 or less or watever race oil filter or stock filter... its the amount ot sh1t it can filter... flow rates dont matter to family cars like mine... if i change eo at 1k or 5k... the filter IS STILL USEABLE... with maybe 200ml of old oil inside... which will be much better than a 10k oil change anyways...

anyways no engine oil change can you get 100% old oil out anyways...

and NO I AM NOT TRYING TO MAKE YOU LAUGH YOU PRICK...

sorry for being rude... its just me...

This time I am not laughing, but puzzled: $12/- (1st 5k km oil change) + $10/- oil filter + $12/- (2nd 5k km oil change) = $34/-

$10/- oil filter + $12/- 10k km oil change = $24/- (save enough to buy oil filter?)

Back in the early 1980's one handy man, during his weekend ( at home) try to drain his wife' ride engine oil, end up killed by the car due to weak bricks that give way.

PS if you need to go under the car, ALWAYS use engine metal stands that are designed to take the car gross weigh. Be very of those locally fabricated stands that used scrap angle steel bars with poor welding joints.

I believe being handyman, he had secured cracked/faulty bricks, or placed them under car at the wrong locations (little knowledge can be dangerous)