Gilahonda Clutched June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 Harlow, Just like to know or if anyone had experience this situation before; 1) I know that if you are posted overseas for permanent work,u no longer need to do reservist.But how about those working and staying in Msia?Can they also be opted out from doing reservist? 2) How do i go about downgrading my PES status?I just found out that i have thyroid and don't seem to have the energy to do anything nowadays,let alone an in-camp.The last in-camp i had in April,was a really exhausting period.What I know is that i need to go to specialist and get them to write letter and submit it to my camp MO.Is this correct?Can i just get my GP to just certify me?If not,which specialist is recommended? Thank you all for the info! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Anakin Clutched June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 For 1), you will need exit permit for working overseas on a long term basis (> 6mths?). For M'sia, how often will you come back? If just go 1 week, come back a few days type, don't think can get or need exit permit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 2) u need a specialist letter. GP no count. But most likely temp downgrade only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 2) You need to visit ur GP or Polyclinic to get a referral letter to see a specialist. Then the specialist will do some clinical test and diagnose your illness. The specialist will tell you his/her diagnose and advise you whether u are fit for reservist. The specialist will then write a letter for you to pass to your camp MO. You make an appointment with ur camp MO thru ur chief clerk. Pass the specialist letter to the MO and they will make a decision base on the specialist letter. Better have a "solid" illness or "solid" specialist who can write beautiful letters. I had a "solid" illness, specialist only wrote one sentence to stay my illness. Permanent downgrade to C9N9. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mdfaz 2nd Gear June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 (edited) Yeah get a specialist letter then go see MO... they'll arrange a medical hearing for you... with specialist letter, should not be a problem. GP will not work. i'm quite sure it won't. Edited June 15, 2010 by Mdfaz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 2) You need to visit ur GP or Polyclinic to get a referral letter to see a specialist. Then the specialist will do some clinical test and diagnose your illness. The specialist will tell you his/her diagnose and advise you whether u are fit for reservist. The specialist will then write a letter for you to pass to your camp MO. You make an appointment with ur camp MO thru ur chief clerk. Pass the specialist letter to the MO and they will make a decision base on the specialist letter. Better have a "solid" illness or "solid" specialist who can write beautiful letters. I had a "solid" illness, specialist only wrote one sentence to stay my illness. Permanent downgrade to C9N9. Lao hiah leh . . . pm me what your "solid" illness is. FYI, I've finished my 13 years cycle 8 years ago . . . remember to pm me bro. Thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alechi 2nd Gear June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 overseas no use ... wait long long .. nowadays ... so many specialists serving until 40 yrs old ... officers until 49yrs old / 50. unless you work overseas until you are beyond reservist age, otherwise ... good luck downgrade as well...nowadays ... unless C2L9 minimum, otherwise everyone is field deployable. thyroid is usually a chronic condition, but can be well controlled. downgrade sounds possible ... but to the extent that you can relax in ICT ... very unlikely. gd luck again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gilahonda Clutched June 15, 2010 Author Share June 15, 2010 For 1), you will need exit permit for working overseas on a long term basis (> 6mths?). For M'sia, how often will you come back? If just go 1 week, come back a few days type, don't think can get or need exit permit. Hi Anakin, Thanks for the clarification. However,if all goes well, i might be working for a Malaysian company permanently if the package is right.What happens then?Do i need to still come back for reservist? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gilahonda Clutched June 15, 2010 Author Share June 15, 2010 overseas no use ... wait long long .. nowadays ... so many specialists serving until 40 yrs old ... officers until 49yrs old / 50. unless you work overseas until you are beyond reservist age, otherwise ... good luck downgrade as well...nowadays ... unless C2L9 minimum, otherwise everyone is field deployable. thyroid is usually a chronic condition, but can be well controlled. downgrade sounds possible ... but to the extent that you can relax in ICT ... very unlikely. gd luck again. Hi Alechi, Can i know what u meant by "overseas no use"?Are you trying to say that those working overseas still have to serve reservist??? This cant be true as my own pals are stationed in Australia,America and they dont do any reservist. Same goes for my own brother who has been in Dubai since the last 7 years. cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gilahonda Clutched June 15, 2010 Author Share June 15, 2010 Yeah get a specialist letter then go see MO... they'll arrange a medical hearing for you... with specialist letter, should not be a problem. GP will not work. i'm quite sure it won't. Bro,any good and cheap GP that u can recommend? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davidklt Supercharged June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 I worked in KL for two years..Applied for exit permit. Was not called up while I was away. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic June 16, 2010 Share June 16, 2010 Lao hiah leh . . . pm me what your "solid" illness is. FYI, I've finished my 13 years cycle 8 years ago . . . remember to pm me bro. Thanks! I am diagnose with the following incurable illnesses : 1) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Urticaria Diagnosed in 1999 and visited specialist in National Skin Centre, referred by SAF Doctor. 2) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Uveitis Diagnosed in 2002 and currently yearly visit to specialist in National Eye Centre, referred by Polyclinic and SAF Doctor. 3) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ankylosing_spondylitis Diagnosed in 2005 and currently three monthly visit to specialist in SGH, referred by Company Doctor and Polyclinic Doctor. 4) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Irritable_bowel_syndrome Diagnosed in 2006 and given open date appt given by specialist in TTSH, referred by Company Doctor. 5) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rosacea Diagnosed in 2009 and currently six monthly visit to specialist in SGH, referred by SGH Specialist attending to my AS condition. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonpaul0104 2nd Gear June 16, 2010 Share June 16, 2010 2) u need a specialist letter. GP no count. But most likely temp downgrade only. mine was letter from GP.....then perm downgrade to C2L9 if i dun remember the PES wrongly (excuse field & physical training)....i have ORD since Yr 97 and attended reservist once which I submitted letter...did not attend medical board but just received letter from camp...posted out & downgraded.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear June 16, 2010 Share June 16, 2010 I am diagnose with the following incurable illnesses : 1) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Urticaria Diagnosed in 1999 and visited specialist in National Skin Centre, referred by SAF Doctor. 2) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Uveitis Diagnosed in 2002 and currently yearly visit to specialist in National Eye Centre, referred by Polyclinic and SAF Doctor. 3) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ankylosing_spondylitis Diagnosed in 2005 and currently three monthly visit to specialist in SGH, referred by Company Doctor and Polyclinic Doctor. 4) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Irritable_bowel_syndrome Diagnosed in 2006 and given open date appt given by specialist in TTSH, referred by Company Doctor. 5) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rosacea Diagnosed in 2009 and currently six monthly visit to specialist in SGH, referred by SGH Specialist attending to my AS condition. Woo yearh boh?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear June 16, 2010 Share June 16, 2010 that's so strange. MO told me go med board need specialist letter... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotamp 3rd Gear June 16, 2010 Share June 16, 2010 mine was letter from GP.....then perm downgrade to C2L9 if i dun remember the PES wrongly (excuse field & physical training)....i have ORD since Yr 97 and attended reservist once which I submitted letter...did not attend medical board but just received letter from camp...posted out & downgraded.... it depends on your unit OC and your appointment....if you are in those not that important unit and your OC also bo chap type, most probably that when you have medical issues ( cannot run, allergic to grass, they will post you out and your appointment letter will be "lost" till MR. MINDEF so big if no one were to highlight, they wouldnt bother also lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainman 1st Gear June 16, 2010 Share June 16, 2010 Hi Alechi, Can i know what u meant by "overseas no use"?Are you trying to say that those working overseas still have to serve reservist??? This cant be true as my own pals are stationed in Australia,America and they dont do any reservist. Same goes for my own brother who has been in Dubai since the last 7 years. cheers! That's quite true, my unit 2pdf has plenty of late 30s who are called back for their first ICT. Mostly are those who work oversea for years and then come back, importantly they are combat fit. So if really want to siam, either you have some medical conditions or u stay til 39/40 yo....other than that, it really depends on luck. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mdfaz 2nd Gear June 16, 2010 Share June 16, 2010 (edited) i always see my GP here... very nice and caring doctor... but it's in Punggol, unless you dun mind? Always got long queue... but he's very nice and understanding :) Edited June 16, 2010 by Mdfaz ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...