Akitsuki Neutral Newbie June 22, 2010 Share June 22, 2010 I feel scared when I'm on lane 2 (@ 90km/h) and the lorry/van is faster than me by 20-40km/h no matter which lane. Or the really big trailers and trucks drive so close the right marker of the lane... I damned scared ah. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear June 22, 2010 Share June 22, 2010 YES, lorrys and buses with a speed limit of 60kmh should be traveling in lane 1 Should be lane 3, lane 1 is the extreme right lane. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear June 22, 2010 Share June 22, 2010 The speed limit of 50, 60 and 70km/h is there for a reason. I don't understand why LTA or TP can approve lorries to have higher speed limits when these vehicles don't even have a crumple zone in front to abosrb the impact of a crash. Even at 60km/h frontal crash, the driver and passengers are trapped in their seats. I've witness one years ago near Paya Lebar MRT. It's time to review the speed limits for these vehicles. And for vans, when they are loaded up, the braking distance increases. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear June 22, 2010 Share June 22, 2010 If all the comercial vehicle use lane3 only,this lane will be pack from changi to jurong. haha. got to agreed with you. however, there should be a proper way to use lane2(middle lane) and that's when overtaking. i am fine with commercial vehicles using lane2. then again, the driver must keep up with the speed and not road hog. anything more than their speed limit, they need to change back to lane3(left lane) and not continue the road hogging. just like how some mcfers said, "even you are driving at 90km/h in lane1, you need to give way if you are road hogging." so, this theory should also apply to commercial vehicles. end of the day, i would suggest commercial vehicles to drive during non-peak hours since it is meant to deliver goods. i'm sure the govt can do it if they want to, else we have to keep on seeing the same old situation happening every other day. just my POV.~ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf5725 1st Gear June 22, 2010 Share June 22, 2010 when big commercial vehicles see LGV all these run so fast, they will automatically increase their speed. That is the most dangerous part and difficult to control. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf5725 1st Gear June 22, 2010 Share June 22, 2010 Lane 2 is also 90 km/h. All those below 70 km/h stick to the left most lanes. Hope all these road hogging private car owner listen to you. some even drive slower in lane 2 then lane 3 lorry. And yes, i overtake same share of private car owner and lorry on lane 2. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf5725 1st Gear June 22, 2010 Share June 22, 2010 i cannot understand why some jokers do 70 on middle lane??? i thot nowadays diesel very powerful??? want to hiong middle lane, karh karh chut turbo lah! don scared mata catch thats is plainly inconsiderate. want to drive slow and relaxing, take the left most lane. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear June 22, 2010 Share June 22, 2010 I do drive van on my work assignment. I am also a car driver. I am happy that TP never pester van that travels 70km/hr on the lane2. Goods vehicles also pay road tax, also pays ERP and COE. Some more goods vehicles are 99% all the time rushing for time to meet datelines for deliveries. So van/lorries drivers time are as important as car drivers. Because there is no wrong or offence for the TP to successfully bring the van/lorries who keep to lane2 to court for whatever reasons. I mean if the toothless TP can find reason to summon or catch van/lorries who use lane2 or even lane1, they would have done it long long ago, and announce on newspaper and TV many time liao. After so many years(after the increase in speed limit to 70km/hr), the driving habit of van/lorry drivers has gotten used to the lane2 rule. No wrong according to TP/LTA, so why are only car drivers KPKB about it? Live with it, this is Singapore! i beg to differ on ur statement here... if this is really in ur head, than i suggest u are not fit to drive and not even fit to be holding on to the license in the first place... taking a normal expressway of 90kmh, u think by traveling 70kmh on lane 2 with 4 lanes on expressway is not hogging??? than if this is so, may i know what is consider hogging to u???!!! strictly speaking, lane 4 can be 50/60kmh follow by lane 3 to be 70kmh, lane 2 to be 80kmh and lastly lane 1 to be 90kmh and above; do u still think that by traveling 70kmh on lane 2 is not hogging??? fyi, i hav seen TP signalling asking vans/lorries to move to lane 3 from lane 2... nv get caught or asked to move to the slower lane before does not mean that what you are doing is correct.... lastly, i am a person who hates hogger to the core!!!! pls exercise ur brain while driving, do not find excuses for yourself so as to deny the fact of hogging!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alechi 2nd Gear June 22, 2010 Share June 22, 2010 Since the speed limit for goods vehicles had been revised to 70kmh, lane 2 became their "default" lane. Many had been using it like their Right of Lane. Driving at 70 or 80kmh like their Ah Kong's road. So on a 3 lane expressway Lane 2 & 3 kenah mekan be these goods vehicles. So car drivers will have to tread in and out of Lane 2 & 1. But as lane 1 is reserved for overtaking and emergency vehcile. that is a problem to live with. Lately, goods vehicles have migrated to using lane 1 as their "faster" lane. Wont be surprised to see Heavy vehicles also use lane 1 like their VIP lanes. if they are really slow and causing a super huge gap in front, I will flash my lights at them and if necc, the horn. take care though, in case they play jam brakes Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear June 23, 2010 Author Share June 23, 2010 After the lorry that flipped and caused massive casualties, I am sure the authorities will be under pressure to Do something Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear June 23, 2010 Share June 23, 2010 After the lorry that flipped and caused massive casualties, I am sure the authorities will be under pressure to Do something We just have to wait and see. This morning, I still see the F1 lorries and vans loaded with workers zooming in and out between lanes along the expressways. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged June 23, 2010 Share June 23, 2010 I once used to drive a van, i know how silly the 70 limit is, sometimes is not about rushing or driving dangerously, for example, I religiously stick to slowest left-most lane, then encounter a trailer, going at 45-50 on e-way!?! I drop to 3rd gear to be considerate to other faster cars on lane 2, then change lane (to middle lane) to overtake, rev the s--t out the van 3rd gear bring it up to 80+ to overtake the trailer AND fit in with lane 2 speeds, immediately after overtake I keep left, but even in the short 5 seconds or so in lane 2, sometimes can kena high-beam by cars! so scrap this 70 rubbish, everyone drive normally at 90, just observe lane discipline please, a lot of people once pass license forget the "keep left unless overtaking" rule already; Kenny I am a TPT manager and I always plan my trucks schedules "Just In Time". But to maximise profits for the company, more schedules are to be throw at me. But still, I always tell my drivers at the end of the day, it is the driver's choice to speed or not to speed. No matter how much do the company makes, you wouldn't get to share it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic June 23, 2010 Share June 23, 2010 i think it is the workers who would do something......imagine if you are on a 3 tonner and there is no speed limit on army vehicles and your driver go datona endagering everyone's lives, what would one do when back in camp? driver gets blangket party Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear June 23, 2010 Author Share June 23, 2010 Agreed that some tpt co have been able to manage their drivers to drive within speed limit and safely. Mostly the tankers from big oil companies & a few other tpt co. Main reasons are GPS trekking device installed on their vehicle & safety culture within the organisation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Itsec 2nd Gear June 23, 2010 Share June 23, 2010 small co is about max the profit.. who cares abt their life... our dear FT comes here ..wan to work and work.. dont want rest.. earn enough $$ go back to their homeland... in short, drive and drive..morning/night also drive... till doze off... mentality and physically.. they are drained.. but they cant do anything. They are at the mercy of the co.... the co. can employed many other FT.. to replace those tired or not able to withstand the hardship... If the job goes to the local, they will protest mah... FT wont... Its about maximise profit, cut down resources and labour cost... no problem lah.. 1 FT die.. another come and replace... just imagine i tell a FT.. today have to rush to many places.. usually a local will take 8 places., u take 12.. and have to be on time... as a FT, LLST right?? those who give detail, sit in the office... any accident... start playing ping pong balls lah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tireburner 3rd Gear June 23, 2010 Share June 23, 2010 New lorries and van are really powerful and quick in acceleration. I was driving on the pasir panjang viaduct at 90kph and was tailgated by a lorry so close in my rear view mirror I had to pull over for him to pass. Damn garang. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eclipse1 2nd Gear June 23, 2010 Share June 23, 2010 (edited) these days there seems to be having more cars on Lane 2 going at 60+-70.. I drive Gplate during office hours.. and I can tell its hard to even stay in Gear 5.. this morning, 3series doing just 65kmh on PIE lane 2.. from PayaLebar till Eunos where I overtake from left.. can see from the rear that the driver, doing plenty of things instead of concertrating on the drive.. this is just 1 out of the 5-6 hoggers along a 10km stretch on PIE.. the whole lane 2 was like a snake.. I would dare say from my time on the road that 8 out 10 Gplater on lane2 are keeping to road speed or even faster.. if not most will stay left.. however, car drivers tends to stick to Lane2 even when they do 60-70 when they are suppose to go Lane3 or lane4... if lane 3 or lane 4 banned for private cars? if you spend 1/2 of daylight hours on the road, you will see more then just the 1-2hrs on peak period.. Edited June 23, 2010 by Eclipse1 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...