Rant - Car backside got hit, culprit ran away

Jiawei90

[mad] ,

As above, what would you do? And anyone can introduce a good workshop for Nissan Sunny? Thanks alot guys. [:(]

I kenah before last year in Dec, lorry stop very close me and scratch the top of my bumper... then its PIE very cramp, he slow down and let other cars overtake him then he disappear, next thing i know found it very fishy he was bloody hiong earlier now drive like a mouse... i couldnt stop to check cos there was a bang sound and plus cos very heavy traffic.... now my car bumper got 2 small deep scratch lor... leave it... sian sia... cos there was a jam ahead and it was very chaotic... i had to choose if i come out of the car and risk my life over the bumper or leave it, so i left it lor... drove to safety lucky its not a bang... if not sure have to come out....

Edited by Meganut

Sorry to hear about your mishap, but mine is worse. Boot can't even open and close with ease. And what's worse, it's my dad's car that I borrowed out to send my girlfriend home [:(] Now my dad is super upset and may not even lend me his car anymore [bigcry] What can I say when its not my fault but all my fault in his eyes? [thumbsdown] So I intend to get it repaired with my own hard earned money and hope for his forgiveness. Hence, I need some inputs from fellow MCFers for which workshop to visit. Thanks again. Have a great night everyone [:(]

If you want i can recommend my trusted mechanic, workshop and friend to you... any s--t or what i always go to them, they give me good advise and they help me out with all my motoring stuff including renewing of insurance... Can PM me, I can give you the details of the people, just tell them my name and they will give you good pricing... Intro alot of friends there, my friend's odessey power steering pipe broke, other place quoted 7k, cheapest was 3.5k, they did it below 1k... they will try to help you save if need be... I brought my car for repairing a dent for my last year accident, the knock out and plus spraying.. they did a fantastic job, can't tell got dent before... their spraying workmanship is good, my friend went there to colour his car hahaha...

Thanks buddie, PM sent, hope to hear from you soon. I will give the workshop a try [flowerface]

Sorry to hear about your mishap, but mine is worse. Boot can't even open and close with ease. And what's worse, it's my dad's car that I borrowed out to send my girlfriend home [:(] Now my dad is super upset and may not even lend me his car anymore [bigcry] What can I say when its not my fault but all my fault in his eyes? [thumbsdown] So I intend to get it repaired with my own hard earned money and hope for his forgiveness. Hence, I need some inputs from fellow MCFers for which workshop to visit. Thanks again. Have a great night everyone [:(]

Don't be too upset over it. These things do happen. You should run the idea of repairing the car on your own with your dad though. Depending on the age of the car, he may want it repaired at the agent or at a friend's workshop. Anyway workshops will normally quote you a price when you drive the car over to them so you need to get your dad's permission to use the car for that and to leave it behind for a day or two while its being repaired. Else get your dad to tell you how much the repairs will be and then you pay him off in installments over a period of time?

Thanks for the comforting words, I appreciate it but the situation got the best of me. It's quite an old car as the COE will be up by next year and the idea of repairing the car ourselves is probably as close to impossible as possible as we do not have any knowledge on hardware engineering especially a car. The damage is pretty bad and I do think that professional help is more ideal. Yes, I'm aware that I do need to leave the car behind for 2 days at least for the fixing and I'm still sorting it out with my dad. I do hope that he is able to leave the car at the workshop for the few days at least. I'm able to fork out 1k for the repairs and I hope that its enough [:(] That's almost a month's pay but what can I say? [bigcry] Thanks for the advice buddy, you're of great help. I can only hope for the best given the situation now. Have a great night! [wave]

If it's any consolation, remember to buy your sunny's license plate... you never know... could be sending your GF home in your own set of wheels soon

If you are staying in the east, try Tan Lim Motor at Defu Lane 10, beside the famous Seafood Paradize Restuarant . Big and Good reputable workshop with all one stop service.

[mad] ,

As above, what would you do? And anyone can introduce a good workshop for Nissan Sunny? Thanks alot guys. [:(]

Thanks for the comforting words, I appreciate it but the situation got the best of me. It's quite an old car as the COE will be up by next year and the idea of repairing the car ourselves is probably as close to impossible as possible as we do not have any knowledge on hardware engineering especially a car. The damage is pretty bad and I do think that professional help is more ideal. Yes, I'm aware that I do need to leave the car behind for 2 days at least for the fixing and I'm still sorting it out with my dad. I do hope that he is able to leave the car at the workshop for the few days at least. I'm able to fork out 1k for the repairs and I hope that its enough [:(] That's almost a month's pay but what can I say? [bigcry] Thanks for the advice buddy, you're of great help. I can only hope for the best given the situation now. Have a great night! [wave]

Could you take some photos of your damaged car and post it here? We can then try to give some costing indications for you and perhaps some ideas on what to do. 1K could or could not do the job depending on how bad the damage is really. Worse case scenario in case it really cost too much to fix is to scrap the car now and use what's left of the COE and PARF money to get a newer car.

can PM me also? thanks!

To TS, I personally also rammed my own car backside recently. Damage real bad and was quoted more than 1k in Sin Ming workshops...

Then I was recommended to go to Alexandra Village workshops. Was quoted less than $400 from a few of the workshops. Apparently, the workshops there are more competitive as less "big-name" workshops and usually small workshops fighting for business. Just drive the car to some honest-looking workshops and ask for a few quotes before deciding.

in the end, i paid $350 and it took only 1day at the workshop to fix it.

Hope this gives you "hope".... cheers

To TS, I personally also rammed my own car backside recently. Damage real bad and was quoted more than 1k in Sin Ming workshops...

Then I was recommended to go to Alexandra Village workshops. Was quoted less than $400 from a few of the workshops. Apparently, the workshops there are more competitive as less "big-name" workshops and usually small workshops fighting for business. Just drive the car to some honest-looking workshops and ask for a few quotes before deciding.

in the end, i paid $350 and it took only 1day at the workshop to fix it.

Hope this gives you "hope".... cheers

How would you determine your selection of "honest looking" workshops?? Crooks won't tell you straightup that they can't be trusted right??

Sometimes the honest looking ones are the real wolves in sheepskin... besides, if its only a few hundred difference, just go for the one who's reputable to have a better piece of mind.

Else in the long run, it might jolly well be a penny wise pound foolish decision...

Could you take some photos of your damaged car and post it here? We can then try to give some costing indications for you and perhaps some ideas on what to do. 1K could or could not do the job depending on how bad the damage is really. Worse case scenario in case it really cost too much to fix is to scrap the car now and use what's left of the COE and PARF money to get a newer car.

Hi Sir, the COE when bought is all time low of $2 so there isn't much point in scraping the car. The damage is still not as bad as to scrap the car. I will try to snap some photos of it tonight if I can get my hands on the car. Thanks Sir for your advice. It is useful nonetheless [flowerface] Cheers.