Computer advice needed

Billyone

Got a feeling that it's over speced.

Does video editing need 6GB RAM?

And....2TB HD? That's definitely over kill. I have 1TB. I download lots of...erm, stuff and I still just about 500GB in over....1.5 years.

And put the price.

And, if you're concerned about after sales services, Dell is SUPPOSED to have the best around. A call and they drop by. No personal experience since I only DIY.

can i assume that DIY has no guarantee

would it be oK if bought an addition, external dvd writer too since the spec does not have a writer

i thought it was a stupid spec but sales person said it is good

photo & video editing? get a mac and don't look back.

Ya lor, don't look back...

Lucky I check rear view mirror, a similarly configured PC cost much less than a Mac. I bought a G4 Powerbook Titanium (YES I WAS AN APPLE FANBOY)... battery blew up... Went back to Apple, Apple say Sony problem. Wah. Song lor, Apple care protection my a$$.

No wonder Apple fanboys like to say don't look back, they're hiding something. [cool]

Lucky I check rear view mirror, a similarly configured PC cost much less than a Mac. I bought a G4 Powerbook Titanium (YES I WAS AN APPLE FANBOY)... battery blew up... Went back to Apple, Apple say Sony problem. Wah. Song lor, Apple care protection my a$$.

No wonder Apple fanboys like to say don't look back, they're hiding something. [cool]

you must have been using the powerbook the wrong way.... just avoid using it that way... (whatever way that causes the battery to blow up)

would it be oK if bought an addition, external dvd writer too since the spec does not have a writer

DIY has guarantee on individual items, like motherboard 3yrs, power supply 5 yrs, CPU 3 yrs, RAM lifetime ....

i thought some blu ray writer can do DVD/CD as well. check the spec of the writer ...

Edited by Ehchang8

Yeah, DIY no or little guarantee. Maybe something like 30 days part for part exchange.

You can buy external DVD writer, but I've never liked external ones. USB has always been a bit....wonky for me. One day it works, the next day, it tells you cannot detect device. So try to use internal if possible. Drives are rather cheap. Maybe find one with both BD reader and DVD Writer?

Since you're not a techie, I guess it's suggested that you go for pre builts like Dell. But why don't you give DIY a try? Aside from knowing how to reformat your computer, basic trouble shooting....there's really not much involved. Just goto SLS, point here and point there and they assemble it for you. May just need to reformat your computer once every year or two.

sim lim not only will assemble the computer, they can also, for a small fee, install os you.

if you include the price of windows and monitor, the total price is at most slightly cheaper than you buy direct. maybe you get better spec CPU from DIY for the same price.

you must have been using the powerbook the wrong way.... just avoid using it that way... (whatever way that causes the battery to blow up)

Yeah yeah its never Apple's fault. Don't look back hor, you might see how blinded you are to the Apple cult. [laugh]

All the while, I am using DIY PC at home. No problem when I am at home but whenever I am traveling, the PC will have problem. It is not really a big problem, but somehow, the PC just couldn't do certain tasks. To the extend, my wife has to call me, and I have to guide her troubleshoot and fix the issue over IDD.

Ever since we got an iMac (free from M1), no more issues from my wife or son.

So, it is well worth it to spend a few hundred more for an Apple, to keep the IT Dr. away. :D

All the while, I am using DIY PC at home. No problem when I am at home but whenever I am traveling, the PC will have problem. It is not really a big problem, but somehow, the PC just couldn't do certain tasks. To the extend, my wife has to call me, and I have to guide her troubleshoot and fix the issue over IDD.

Ever since we got an iMac (free from M1), no more issues from my wife or son.

So, it is well worth it to spend a few hundred more for an Apple, to keep the IT Dr. away. :D

that is very expensive... [laugh]

My wife also dont know how to use Com too. i dont get her a Apple as its pretty Expensive.

I get a Netbook specially for her to used nia.

This I agree.

Not to just Apple, but also applies to Dell, Acer, HP, Lenovo, Compaq, Pluto, Dog, Barkbarkwoofwoof.

I recommend anything with a brand as long as you leave me alone. :D

It is definitely not just another lappy.

BUT the people who didn't own a mac before will never know the feeling. [;)]

My mb coming to 4 years. My next lappy will not be an apple, even though it did everything required of it with no problems.

For sure it has its shortcomings like everything else.

Edited by Windchoco

BUT the people who didn't own a mac before will never know the feeling. [;)]

The feeling of being ripped off? [cool]

nowadays a netbook cost same as an iphone... *gasp.

this make Netbook more worth it [:p] cause bigger screen...

I own a Ipone and a Lappy. tell you my lappy is more expensive than my Ipone, but i feel more willing to part pocket for the lappy [:p]

The feeling of being ripped off? [cool]

Latter Apple Fanboi come in and screw you [laugh]

the rest here so far look normal [rolleyes]

Latter Apple Fanboi come in and screw you [laugh]

the rest here so far look normal [rolleyes]

that was his main intention [laugh] [laugh]

either get an apple or pls go sim lim and get DIY com... pros for DIY are a lot which i dun tink i wan to list one by one down here...

this make Netbook more worth it [:p] cause bigger screen...

I own a Ipone and a Lappy. tell you my lappy is more expensive than my Ipone, but i feel more willing to part pocket for the lappy [:p]

Nah, i had i touch and a handphone...

Tell you wad...Its much cheaper than an iphone... [laugh] [laugh]

I would prefer my lappy more....