Kingcopa 1st Gear July 14, 2010 Share July 14, 2010 correct!! easy to say avoid trees, but not really possible to do at all training areas. i suspect it was the rifle, signal set long attenae or even the ET blade or digging equipment which attracted the lightning, and not really the tree. just speculating in my opinion they should be in clean fatigue, no dog tag, weapon secure 1 corner and leave on the ground within sight, and squad or sit down in a sheltered area, possibly under a tree, but definitely dont choose the tallest tree. think this is the safest. Dun worry, those Mindef scholar will review their SOP soon. Mayb soon we will see Lighning rod attached to all helmet ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear July 14, 2010 Share July 14, 2010 My time when cat 1 is announce. The whole bloody platoon will be instructed to load up onto ONE SINGLE 3-tonner. KNN.......20+ NS men with muddy boots and smelly uniforms squeeze together can really FAINT inside!!!!! btw how come no CAT 1 announced? even 15yrs ago they were quite kiasee over this... a little cloud will comms to weather and ask cat status... at least for my infantry unit Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic July 14, 2010 Share July 14, 2010 (edited) why they hide under tree?? will get wet if not doing so.................100% will struck by lighting if doing so..............1% so, there u ve it, they made e choice Edited July 14, 2010 by Hamburger Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear July 14, 2010 Share July 14, 2010 at the top of masiling hill (iirc) there is a huge lightning pole fenced up. There was once, bright and sunny, i was walkg with a group of cadets approaching the pole when lightning just struck the pole. We were probably 50m away. very very close... if not for the pole... we prob gone liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aeromania 1st Gear July 14, 2010 Share July 14, 2010 Some officers gonna kena big time.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear July 14, 2010 Share July 14, 2010 Simi CAT 1? Dat time CAT 1, my unit still train....where got exercise cut.. Got a time in taiwan during navex exercise, got 1 store man died when tonner fell into ravine..everyone thot exercise cut...but 1-2 hour later..exercise still continue..haiz..siao man. Now technology so advance, can tell wat whether heavy rain or wat.. lucky no opicer died..if not mindef got alot of answering to do. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Christan Turbocharged July 14, 2010 Share July 14, 2010 Guess they have to review their TSR again, as usual. Lucky thing no one died if not MINDEF will kenna Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tinydog Clutched July 14, 2010 Share July 14, 2010 While there is little we can do to stop lightning, we can take precautions to avoid being hit: 1) Don Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear July 14, 2010 Share July 14, 2010 Some officers gonna kena big time.... maybe the safety and conducting occfier will kena... kana what will depends on their connection and how they weasel out of it liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear July 14, 2010 Share July 14, 2010 no idea why no one has made this joke yet.... but these 6 Occifers have been chosen by the lightning god to be the next generation of PAP leaders. Even our MM will approve. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fishy 4th Gear July 14, 2010 Share July 14, 2010 if u had been to those training areas, there isnt really much shelter to seek from. its either trees or shrubs in the area, training sheds are usually a distance away. I suspect they were told to stay put, possibly waiting for LR to pick them up to shelter. while waiting, they went under the tree... it can happen to anyone, not necessary officers so dont quite get your joke Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TangoElite 6th Gear July 14, 2010 Share July 14, 2010 Eh, how about car? The car is one of the safest place to be in in the event of a lightning. car has Faraday Cage effect, thats why it's safe seldom will you have such a structure, except for vehicles or training sheds. so avoid holding, standing or having anything that conducts electricity Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maldini03 1st Gear July 14, 2010 Share July 14, 2010 (edited) Those who try to be sacrastic must be those sissy soldier I dun think they have a choice. Cadet A: PC!! must stop excerise, wait got thunder, I dun want to be strike" PC: Good!! this is what we expect from Officer cadet. Safely always comes 1st and cannot be compromise. Cadet A take a rest in the training shed and you shall be train again on this coming sunday Cadet A PC: Edited July 14, 2010 by Maldini03 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear July 14, 2010 Share July 14, 2010 if u had been to those training areas, there isnt really much shelter to seek from. its either trees or shrubs in the area, training sheds are usually a distance away. I suspect they were told to stay put, possibly waiting for LR to pick them up to shelter. while waiting, they went under the tree... it can happen to anyone, not necessary officers so dont quite get your joke aiya. PAP. lightning. Lightning strike. chosen ones. nvm.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yattokame 4th Gear July 14, 2010 Share July 14, 2010 at the top of masiling hill (iirc) there is a huge lightning pole fenced up. There was once, bright and sunny, i was walkg with a group of cadets approaching the pole when lightning just struck the pole. We were probably 50m away. very very close... if not for the pole... we prob gone liao. yo pal from which batch of OCC? i'm 27/97 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WolfT Neutral Newbie July 14, 2010 Share July 14, 2010 Its a semi forest there, either open space trail or trees. If given a choice where would u seek shelter? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear July 14, 2010 Share July 14, 2010 yo pal from which batch of OCC? i'm 27/97 33/98 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fishy 4th Gear July 14, 2010 Share July 14, 2010 aiya. PAP. lightning. Lightning strike. chosen ones. nvm.... oh sorry not imaginative enough i was feeling sorry that conscripts must undergo the trauma of near death... wasnt thinking of PAP or that sort of jokes ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...