The meaning of high beam

Karebu

Yesterday almost hit Malaysian lorry.

Travelling at 60, he was parked behind yet another stationary veh so he had to cut into second lane to get out. He turned abit, and I had no intention of stopping, so I flashed high beam. He continued turning out instead! I had to e brake and stopped half a metre in front of him. His lorry was adjacent then, and he showed me the 'what you want' look and hand sign.

I doubt he would be pondering on the incident, but I do. Does high beam by any chance mean I'm giving way to you in Malaysia or other countries?

Travelling at 60, he was parked behind yet another stationary veh so he had to cut into second lane to get out. He turned abit, and I had no intention of stopping, so I flashed high beam. He continued turning out instead! I had to e brake and stopped half a metre in front of him. His lorry was adjacent then, and he showed me the 'what you want' look and hand sign.

I doubt he would be pondering on the incident, but I do. Does high beam by any chance mean I'm giving way to you in Malaysia or other countries?

Bro, but why u dun give way to him, He drive a lorry, do u think he give a damn? everytime a lorry meet with a car, the car alway is in a losing party. dun play with ur life.

also be fair to him, He lorry, higher so when u high beam it may not seem like high beam to him.

High beam got 2 meaning.1 is give way to you,the other is fk off.I think in malaysia,a country when people high beam is to warn traffic police ahead or give way to me you.I think he think it's the latter.

U r too civilised. I will press on my horn continuosly.

Bro, but why u dun give way to him, He drive a lorry, do u think he give a damn? everytime a lorry meet with a car, the car alway is in a losing party. dun play with ur life.

also be fair to him, He lorry, higher so when u high beam it may not seem like high beam to him.

I agree. I know sometimes we can get too emotional from such drivers while driving. However, when rationality comes back to our senses, we know that we should avoid doing things that might end us up on the losing end.

Seriously, I don't think many of these lorry drivers care.

My advice is: Avoid them. Your car and your life are more precious.

I've been on Malaysia road almost everyday. Use horn better. Make sure you have a loud horn too.

It seems that they don't take high beam seriously. High beam works better in Singapore but its annoying.

For me, I will give way if unsure, you can always overtake it later and zoom zoom away. If kena bang, you have more to lose unless you know someone and have backing in Malaysia [laugh].

Regards,

I'm just curious that whether for all you out there, is this the "speed up on yellow, & signals" mentality, despite the other party giving you plenty of advance warning? close the gap!! make sure the other driver cannot filter in!!! damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead!!!

has it not occurred to all you drivers you can slow down? it's your life. sure you can honk and flash away all you like, just don't end up a dead honker + flasher.

not aimed at TS, nor good drivers please.

I'm just curious that whether for all you out there, is this the "speed up on yellow, & signals" mentality, despite the other party giving you plenty of advance warning? close the gap!! make sure the other driver cannot filter in!!! damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead!!!

has it not occurred to all you drivers you can slow down? it's your life. sure you can honk and flash away all you like, just don't end up a dead honker + flasher.

not aimed at TS, nor good drivers please.

My take has always been if not sure just leave a gap or slow down [cool].

Regards,

My take has always been if not sure just leave a gap or slow down [cool].

Regards,

I agree. That is a very safe approach. [thumbsup]

To avoid any unpleasant situation, always practise defensive driving.

Like one of the reply said, flashing head lamp could mean "dun do it, I am coming!" or "please do it, I am fine!" [laugh] However if its the former, usually would high beam continuously thus if just flash, very often taken as the latter meaning [:p]

Cheers!

Press horn got use meh???

Some ppl don't give a damn one la...

Somemore its Malaysian Lorry leh...

IMO, you crash them....You suffer....

If they crash you...You also suffer...

Its Malaysian plated.....U wan claim from their insurance? Wait long long la.... [laugh] [laugh]

Tats why i saw Malaysian plated vehicles don't give a farking damn in SG..... [thumbsdown]

I doubt if lorry will care if you horn him. Best to drive defensively and preserve both car and life.

Sometime when saw someone signal wan to come out & we speed up dosent mean we r selfish..

so that we can faster past him & not to let him wait..

ya man

of cos horn la..

beam... hahahah

yesterday was driving,

then in front of me got this guys,

forget to turn off hazard lights..

so i high beam him lo...(tap on and tap off)

he seemed to get the meaning

1 second later, he off liao

i think this is considered frenly high beam right?

Sometime when saw someone signal wan to come out & we speed up dosent mean we r selfish..

so that we can faster past him & not to let him wait..

agreed

one thing i hate is

i on lane 2

lane 1 is 2 car length+ clear

i give right signal

the car immediately accelerate (behind him no car pressuring him)

worst is !!!

he accelerate just flush with my car..

i got to brake to slow down to eat into lane 1

u think this type is siao !@#?

High beam is like telling other road users to "LOOK OUT!". So when you high beam he still have the choice to ignore. It's like telling someone there are piranhas in the pond yet he still go on and swim in it. It's also like traveling in NSHW when drivers on the other side high beam means they are warning you there's "POLIS" ahead. You can still be a hero and chiong.

Drive safe.

I was driving along orchard road the other day...coming out from the small lane at shaw and need to immediately filter to the extreme right lane...and I did it without endangering anyone....but I was highbeam by a car behind that wasn't even close when i cut into his lane

I told my wife this..."In Orchard when you get highbeam...it means you are a solid driver...only losers will highbeam in orchard cos they kena eat lane".

Not saying you are a loser but you think your highbeam is some magictrafficstoppingthisismyroad beam? -_-