Ex-smokers and those trying to quit.....

Lex250

This April will be 3 years totally smoke free, not even a stick after 18 years.

Tried for the 3rd time to quit. 2nd time was 6 months smoke free. But not strongwilled.

Now totally no urge to smoke at all.

Money save monthly more than enough to buy new running shoes every month or new running attires those spare change to sign up for runs too. [laugh]

[thumbsup][angel]

Congrats !

Mine official stop date is considered Jan 1st 2009 so I celebrate 3 yrs +

Money saved are spent on my kids TUITION... [bigcry]

I now abt 1 pack a day but thinking of stopping. Damm sian lor. Been smoking since 12 yrs old. [knife]

Brudder Pisces69,

Go read the Archives in this thread and see which one best suits your style.

I have colleagues who stopped smoking because of me as they always think the day I stop is the doomsday so they also succeeded.

There is no quick fixes. The only thing that make or break your habit is your WILLPOWER.

Follow these D words :

DECIDE

DETERMINATION

DATELINE

DECREASE

DETACH

DOMINANT

6 months!!! ............. you were so close yet so far....

its true that as a smoker, i smoked when i needed to think, when i was happy, when i was upset, when i had to kill time etc etc..... to start the day, and end the day, before and after a cup of coffee / makan / a piece of work, etc etdc... :D:D

try cut 1 stick per week??...... in 20weeks (about 5 months) and see what happen? :D or just slowly cut to 6 stick a day and stay there??

Sad to say. Those times when I'm at the bottomless pit, my loneliest days, my saddest days,

The only "friend" that sticks with me is my Ciggarette.

However, now, when I'm at the bottomless pit, my loneliest days, my saddest days,

The only friend that sticks with me is my GOD.

i also go out & party.

And I think I go out party even more... Savings in cigarettes got more $ to drink [laugh] ...

This is what I always drink nowadays.

Wah ! from Ah Pian Sian to Jiu Quee ah ?

although i have stopped for 2 mths and counting, i do see myself smoke again when i go back for Reservist....cos u will be flooded with many smokers!!

Sad to say. Those times when I'm at the bottomless pit, my loneliest days, my saddest days,

The only "friend" that sticks with me is my Ciggarette.

However, now, when I'm at the bottomless pit, my loneliest days, my saddest days,

The only friend that sticks with me is my GOD.

Actually those who have found their God (dont mean treating their car as god) are the happy ones. One thing though: this is something personal. Mother Teresa is one of them?

Brudder Pisces69,

I have colleagues who stopped smoking because of me as they always think the day I stop is the doomsday so they also succeeded.

There is no quick fixes. The only thing that make or break your habit is your WILLPOWER.

Follow these D words :

DECIDE

DETERMINATION

DATELINE

DECREASE

DETACH

DOMINANT

May late father chain-smoked for 50yrs++ (like 2-3 packs a day type), he stopped overnight after a heart surgery, doc told him cause of the illness: very likely due to smoking..... he just dropped it on ths spot...

i must say it he had dropped it much earlier, it would have saved him lots of pains.

But it will be best that you don't need to be summon your built in defence.

You must admit that once you inhale the smoke into your lungs and body, you more or less are weaken by it...

I agree with that. [:)]

Some frens who still smoke resort to inhaling as little as possible.... whether it 'defeats' the purpose is one thing, but the 10% or so they inhale still can do damages to the lungs.

i also go out & party.

And I think I go out party even more... Savings in cigarettes got more $ to drink [laugh] ...

This is what I always drink nowadays.

U mean every session u drink that much? [shocked] Every night? [shocked]

Brudder Pisces69,

Follow these D words :

DECIDE

DETERMINATION

DATELINE

DECREASE

DETACH

DOMINANT

Thanks.

U bring me 1 step closer to stopping. [nod]

May late father chain-smoked for 50yrs++ (like 2-3 packs a day type), he stopped overnight after a heart surgery, doc told him cause of the illness: very likely due to smoking..... he just dropped it on ths spot...

i must say it he had dropped it much earlier, it would have saved him lots of pains.

I know a few frens who quit overnight when ty had serious heart problems n doctor said either u give up smoking or u die. U choose which 1 u want.

I agree with that. [:)]

Some frens who still smoke resort to inhaling as little as possible.... whether it 'defeats' the purpose is one thing, but the 10% or so they inhale still can do damages to the lungs.

Those who dont inhale tend to get mouth cancer.

Lets put it this way.

I believe you have eaten smoked Ham, Salmon etc.

Imagine you smoke everyday 20 sticks -

A doctor told me that the heavy smoker lungs are basically half cooked.

Luckily your body repairs the dead cells but may not replace fast enough.

Each time you want to smoke, think of this and it will put you off....

Lets put it this way.

I believe you have eaten smoked Ham, Salmon etc.

Imagine you smoke everyday 20 sticks -

A doctor told me that the heavy smoker lungs are basically half cooked.

Luckily your body repairs the dead cells but may not replace fast enough.

Each time you want to smoke, think of this and it will put you off....

I tried. So far not working.

I tried nicotine gum but gave it up cos it dont seem to work.

I think I wil hv to depend on my wilpower when e time comes fr me to quit smoking.

[thumbsup][angel]

Congrats !

Mine official stop date is considered Jan 1st 2009 so I celebrate 3 yrs +

Money saved are spent on my kids TUITION... [bigcry]

Good for you too! [thumbsup]

Tuition for kids. It's $$$ well spent.