Feel cheated at Mark Cool.Need advice.

Bossman

Well, then pls stay with that workshop who solved your problem.

My personal experience with Mark Cool was excellent!

Realizing my car left less than 2 yrs, and since only minor leak in the coil, they recommend to do gas top up every 6 mths ($20) and advise against wasting $$$ and change coil which will cost more than $1k.

Must say that many bros here will agree Mark Cool is still one of the most trusted aircon wkshop still around for long long time in Singapore.

I would't be or would't advise anyone to go to Mark cool for advise in aircon.

I have change out my compressor from them about 2 years ago, and recently my aircon got problem.

Turn out that the compressor was shorted after going to one of the WS in ubi for toubleshooting.

The technician just change fuse and also one part of the compressor which shorted the aircon system.

Now is like brand new aircon for me.

Thinking back if I just change out this part, I could have save alot.

I did notice that Mark cool will just say change out whole compressor instead of 1 of the part which they will earn money from it.

Sorry for the dig up but anyone knows Mark Cool opening hours?

Thinking to go on Mon morn but unsure their opening time.

They sud b open by abt 9am Mon-Sat.

I think they close on Sun n PH.

Well, I have sent my car to Mark Cool this morning to check the Aircon which gives a loud screeching sound whenever I turn on the aircon which normally will last about 1 ~2 minutes and then after that it is running fine.

I talked to Ah Huat and immediately after hearing the sound, he told me that the problem is the belt. After taking out the cover, he shown me two belts, one was badly damaged and the other was still doing fine. He suggested to me to change both as the total cost is about $60 ( $25 and $35 for the timing belt and the fan belt respectively) + Labour cost and GST, Final total only $80. He took about an hour to do the belt replacement and now my car does not have any more screeching sound.

In fact, I went there with the suspicious on the compressor and if found to be the case, I think I may have to fork out few hundred dollars even for a second hand one. Thanks God it wasn't.

Well, I am satisfied that Mark Cool has done a good job for my car.

This is the second time I have been to Mark Cool, The last was to replace my cooling fan which was not running.

Mark Cool is definitely a good workshop for Aircon Repair.

Thank you AH Huat.

Thanks Hamburger.

You are right it is not the timing belt as my car is using the timing chain.

should be alternator belt and aircon belt?

been to Mark cool to replace a damaged seal plus top up gas. so far so good......

My personal view of Mark Cool is ....so so only.

I went to seek their advise twice as my aircon was not so cold. Ah Huat told me just select a lower temp...or wait for the aircon is completely not cold then go see him...

So one fine day...the aircon completely not cold I drove all the way to let him check and he merely told me to top up the gas and dye...and ask me to go...(wah lau eh...if like dat might as well I go back to my regular mech)

Anyway...I drove the car as it is...after a few days can feel it was not cold again...then it died on my while on the way into JB and in a jam...(timing could not be better). So went to the mech there and ask them to top up the gas...the shop ask me what happen so I relate to him...he said prob a leak somewhere. He ask if I want to repair it....so I ask him to quote...RM 170 if no need to replace any hardware. So I told him to proceed. He pump the system with gas and dye...and started looking for the leak...and he found it...a small stupid O ring has given way. So he replace the O ring, pump new gas and top up compressor oil and additive...and the air con has been working fine since...BTW...this was like 2 years back.

I would like to give my humble opinion about Mark Cool...

My 9th years old Mazda3 recently having ticking sound from the compressor area when the compressor kicks-in... did some research from the internet, seems to be compressor's bearing issue. As I have read about Mark Cool in this forum and few other car forums (mostly good reviews but also some bad encounters too), since I'm staying at Woodlands, so I went there yesterday evening...

As almost all forum's reviewers recommended to look for Ah Huat, so I does the same, never knew that he was washing car when I drove passed him at that time. When he walked to me, he straightly told me he had heard the ticking sound, and it was due to the aircon's oil was running low in the compressor. Upfront, Ah Huat warned me that there is a possibility that if the gas cannot be pumped back, then this proven that one of the parts (forgotten the part's name) had spoilt, he told me the cost if need to replace that, else only $32.10 (GST of course). A 15mins job by sucked out the gas, pumped in oil and refilled gas, the problem was solved! Nomore ticking sound.

Before I left the workshop, I asked him about my another company car's aircon blower was noisy when the fan turned to highest speed, Ah Huat replied directly saying high chance is leaf at the fan blade area. So I drove the company car to Mark Cool this afternoon, Ah Huat took only 5 mins to dismantled the blower fan and shown me there was a leaf stucked at the fan blade area, when the leaf was removed and blower fan was secured back, the noisy sound disappeared. Very fare cost for this job - $10.70.

Above is my encounters at Mark Cool with Ah Huat. I find him to be polite, friendly and knowledgeable, I'm glad the repair cost to my 2 cars were only $32.10 plus $10.70. Thumb up to Mark Cool from me.  

:grin:

Edited by M3oso