Rastaman01 2nd Gear October 14, 2010 Share October 14, 2010 Hi all I have been driving manual for past whole decade I think. Now converting auto. Have few questions. The gear has the D, P all that I know but also I saw like 1 2 3. May I know what those for and how in the world I use it and when?? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithchue 5th Gear October 14, 2010 Share October 14, 2010 no need to use them in singapore, just leave it in D will do Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Byond 1st Gear October 14, 2010 Share October 14, 2010 leave at D will do dont anyhow change to N from D when stopped at Traf junction..will wear out ur gear box faster I only use 'D' while driving, R during reversing.. P when parked my car 1 2 3, never use before / seldom use if got those semi auto, i only use when i wanan overtake cars... more torquey... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rastaman01 2nd Gear October 14, 2010 Author Share October 14, 2010 Ok let say I stop at slope. Then I wanna drive off no power what do I do Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged October 14, 2010 Share October 14, 2010 Ok let say I stop at slope. Then I wanna drive off no power what do I do Usually won't lah, unless really underpowered car. Just step harder on accelerator can liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear October 14, 2010 Share October 14, 2010 homework for u --> http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Automatic_transmission Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xdarrenx Neutral Newbie October 14, 2010 Share October 14, 2010 Ok let say I stop at slope. Then I wanna drive off no power what do I do i will step brake and rev engine then let go brake. gear 1,2 or 3 is useful when going downslope e.g genting where it limit the speed just like manual cars. then gear 3 u can use for overtaking but normally when u step harder on the pedal, it will auto downgear Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear October 14, 2010 Share October 14, 2010 Ok let say I stop at slope. Then I wanna drive off no power what do I do nothing u can do. if ur auto gear at gear 1 dun have enough torque to move ur car up the slope. then reverse back down lor or ask everyone get out! else if u driving up slopes at speed and u feel ur engine struggling, u can downgear manually to 1,2,3 or +,- if your gear has that function. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Minikong 1st Gear October 14, 2010 Share October 14, 2010 Ok let say I stop at slope. Then I wanna drive off no power what do I do lol, unless your slope is very steep, and your car is like chery thatis so under power. simple, just step on the accelrater will do, and your car will move lol! the car will do the rest of the job for you hahaah. welcome to embrace the high tech Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donghai Neutral Newbie October 14, 2010 Share October 14, 2010 Ok let say I stop at slope. Then I wanna drive off no power what do I do depends on ur steepness of slope, you may have to pull handbrake, step on gas, when there is the urge feeling from the car to move then u release handbrake and move off. and generally, all auto cars will be able to move off with D. Unless the engine capacity of the auto car is small, eg. 1L, you may have to select gear 1 from ur range of gear selections on ur auto gear selector. i am currently driving a 1.3L autocar. i have left it in D when moving off be it for upslope, downslope or flat ground. hope the above info is of help, if u have more concerns, u may raise them. u can even go to the extend of getting a fren who drives an auto to show it to u. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Panhard 1st Gear October 14, 2010 Share October 14, 2010 dont anyhow change to N from D when stopped at Traf junction..will wear out ur gear box faster i was to believe from a guru not to leave it in "D" for too long- does changing from "D" to "N" every time at traffic stops really wear out the gearbox faster??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rastaman01 2nd Gear October 14, 2010 Author Share October 14, 2010 Thanks bro. But let say I on slope n have to use 1. Once already move off how I change to D. Can I change while driving Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mini-itx Clutched October 14, 2010 Share October 14, 2010 Ok let say I stop at slope. Then I wanna drive off no power what do I do Step on brakes to prevent it from rolling back or use handbrake. Then its pedal to metal. LEt the engine rev as high as possible and then slowly let go hand brake or release brake pedal. Auto cars got no clutch but they have torque converter. The engine will pump as much ATF as possible thru the converter till there is sufficient torque to move the car. If pedal to metal still doesn't work, Then your car simply cannot go up the slope at all. But it doesn't happen unless you are driving a Chery QQ. I have seen a QQ stuck at Bugis carpark slope. Need people to help it push...lol.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged October 14, 2010 Share October 14, 2010 Thanks bro. But let say I on slope n have to use 1. Once already move off how I change to D. Can I change while driving Once you move off, change back lor. Step on brake first before changing. No need worry one lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Agalvilaku 2nd Gear October 14, 2010 Share October 14, 2010 Thanks bro. But let say I on slope n have to use 1. Once already move off how I change to D. Can I change while driving You can change while driving. There will be a knob on the gear lever, you have to press that. But be careful, once you press the knob and push, the lever can move to any position in the gear box i.e N, P, R, D. So on the move, you have to choose the correct position, otherwise chances of spoiling your gearbox is high. Better once you are off the slope, stop and shift to correct gear position. Check your user manual. Some positions doesn't need the knob to be pushed down. In my lancer glx, N to D or D to DS (Over drive), i don't have to press the knob. But from N to P or DS to L(1st gear) need to press down the knob and push. Some model comes with paddle shift. Refer to your owner manual, nothing can beat that. if you don't have the owner manual, let us know your car make and model, plenty of people will be able answer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rastaman01 2nd Gear October 14, 2010 Author Share October 14, 2010 Forester. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rastaman01 2nd Gear October 14, 2010 Author Share October 14, 2010 Forester. Thanks all. Really appreciate it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged October 14, 2010 Share October 14, 2010 Forester. Thanks all. Really appreciate it Ah. Definitely no problem one. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...