Minikong 1st Gear October 16, 2010 Share October 16, 2010 every morning when i go to work, i start my engine, my engine will roar to life like it going to burst. then my rpm will dance from 800 to 1500 then to 1200 then back to 800, for like 10 sec. anything wrong? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear October 16, 2010 Share October 16, 2010 isn't that normal? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Minikong 1st Gear October 16, 2010 Author Share October 16, 2010 isn't that normal? for sure? last time i dont have such issue leh lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zangetsu77 Clutched October 16, 2010 Share October 16, 2010 every morning when i go to work, i start my engine, my engine will roar to life like it going to burst. then my rpm will dance from 800 to 1500 then to 1200 then back to 800, for like 10 sec. anything wrong? Did you tune your car or more specifically reflash your ECU? I had this type of start-up sequence after i tuned my car. Specifically tuner re-programmed the ECU with after-market modules and up-loaded a warm-up sequence. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear October 16, 2010 Share October 16, 2010 hmmm, every time i start up the car, the engine rpm for sure will cross over 1k rpm, maintain a while at 1.1k before it drop and sustain at 1000rpm before it finally drop to about 900rpm. However, if i shift into D, this engine rpm thing will be overridden and it will immediately drop to about 800 rpm. I think that the mini surge in rpm is good in getting the engine to warm up alittle and it might be actually allow the engine oil that has settled to actually move around alittle so i sort of wait for the engine to "settle" at 900rpm before i shift and move off. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic October 16, 2010 Share October 16, 2010 Normal lah. Engine auto warm up pre-program in the ECU. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Minikong 1st Gear October 16, 2010 Author Share October 16, 2010 Did you tune your car or more specifically reflash your ECU? I had this type of start-up sequence after i tuned my car. Specifically tuner re-programmed the ECU with after-market modules and up-loaded a warm-up sequence. no leh, i diddnt do anything to my ecu, hmm i think maybe is the cow boy workshop force reset my ecu, to remove the warning. then lead to this problem? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear October 16, 2010 Share October 16, 2010 no leh, i diddnt do anything to my ecu, hmm i think maybe is the cow boy workshop force reset my ecu, to remove the warning. then lead to this problem? lol. since you say the workshop is cow boy outfit then you go cow father them lor. kidding Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zangetsu77 Clutched October 16, 2010 Share October 16, 2010 no leh, i diddnt do anything to my ecu, hmm i think maybe is the cow boy workshop force reset my ecu, to remove the warning. then lead to this problem? No this type of sequence is supposed to be protective esp for FI engines when you run lean. Mine takes 2 to 3 mins to complete the start-up, which can be a bloody nuisance when rushing around late ... But LL la... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Minikong 1st Gear October 16, 2010 Author Share October 16, 2010 (edited) No this type of sequence is supposed to be protective esp for FI engines when you run lean. Mine takes 2 to 3 mins to complete the start-up, which can be a bloody nuisance when rushing around late ... But LL la... u dont compare your gtr with v6 with my puny little 1.6 litre with 4 cyclinder car muhaahha Edited October 16, 2010 by Minikong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zangetsu77 Clutched October 16, 2010 Share October 16, 2010 u dont compare your gtr with v6 with my puny little 1.6 litre with 4 cyclinder car muhaahha Pls la... It's only 2 cylinders more in a V shape. 2.2L difference is like 2 upsized drinks at MacDonalds. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear October 16, 2010 Share October 16, 2010 Pls la... It's only 2 cylinders more in a V shape. 2.2L difference is like 2 upsized drinks at MacDonalds. Then can I top up 2 up size drinks, I even add in happy meal with toy of the day, we exchange car ok? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged October 16, 2010 Share October 16, 2010 (edited) I have a slightly different problem. Every morning, my car will start at the very turn of the key without fail, and that's good for an old car. However, if I turn off the engine within 1 minute, the subsequent re-start will be more difficult and I need to rev the engine while turning the key to make sure it wouldn't die off during the subsequent cranking. Does anyone here have a clue? Edited October 16, 2010 by Albeniz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zangetsu77 Clutched October 16, 2010 Share October 16, 2010 Then can I top up 2 up size drinks, I even add in happy meal with toy of the day, we exchange car ok? Bro... I can't... drive manual.... Haha!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Minikong 1st Gear October 16, 2010 Author Share October 16, 2010 (edited) Pls la... It's only 2 cylinders more in a V shape. 2.2L difference is like 2 upsized drinks at MacDonalds. lol bro 2 cylinder more only? normal bread and butter car only like mine only got 4 cylinder, and 2 cylinder is like a 50% upgrade! and u got 2 turbo i only got 1 :( weird peroformance sport car like you like to act slow. those bread and butter, NA, low cc car, with 4 cylinder like to brag so much.... Edited October 16, 2010 by Minikong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 16, 2010 Share October 16, 2010 no leh, i diddnt do anything to my ecu, hmm i think maybe is the cow boy workshop force reset my ecu, to remove the warning. then lead to this problem? Aiyah u go those half past six ws where those idiot trainee mechs wil do all sorts of funny things to yr car. I think its time u looked fr a better ws b4 yr car turns into a piece of junk. U can try a 'soft reset' of yr ecu by disconnecting yr battery [-] terminal fr a couple of hrs n see if problem goes away. But it wil also return all settings to default so it might take a day or so b4 yr ecu re-learns yr driving style. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 16, 2010 Share October 16, 2010 I have a slightly different problem. Every morning, my car will start at the very turn of the key without fail, and that's good for an old car. However, if I turn off the engine within 1 minute, the subsequent re-start will be more difficult and I need to rev the engine while turning the key to make sure it wouldn't die off during the subsequent cranking. Does anyone here have a clue? The fuel feeding to engine low/used up so u need to pump more fuel to re-start. Not much u can do other than not switching off so soon. It might b a design flaw in yr engine or fuel pump wearing out or fuel filter clogging up. If its not so serious, just live with it lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear October 16, 2010 Share October 16, 2010 Then can I top up 2 up size drinks, I even add in happy meal with toy of the day, we exchange car ok? Sometimes bigger engines doesn't always mean better as i recall. During the generation of the hippo corolla, it was offered in two iterations i.e. 1500cc (1NZ-FE) and 1600cc (3ZZ-FE). The 3ZZ-FE despite having slightly superior volumetric capacity turned out to be only marginally better off in output gains and FC-wise was very much worse off. I also recall that for the WRX (at least i do for the GC err bug eye i think is GC), the export version is 2500cc and the JDM comes with the 2000cc and the Japanese predictably made the JDM version more powerful than the export. Garrison mentality i suppose. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...