Maths

Kelvingoh45

Q1)For every $3 that Ali puts aside, Ahmad saves $4. How much will Ali save if both boys have $84 altogether?

1)$12 2)$36 3)$48 4)$77

Q2)Mrs Goh went shopping and bought 4 similar mugs and a dish for $14.The cost of each mug is a dollar more than the cost of the dish.What is the cost of the dish?

Q3)When Muthu is 10 years old, his uncle is 4 times as old as he. How old will Muthu be when his uncle is 3 times as old as he?

Q1)For every $3 that Ali puts aside, Ahmad saves $4. How much will Ali save if both boys have $84 altogether?

1)$12 2)$36 3)$48 4)$77

Q2)Mrs Goh went shopping and bought 4 similar mugs and a dish for $14.The cost of each mug is a dollar more than the cost of the dish.What is the cost of the dish?

Q3)When Muthu is 10 years old, his uncle is 4 times as old as he. How old will Muthu be when his uncle is 3 times as old as he?

Q1)2

Q2)$2

Q3)15

Why do I see 2 Malay boys, 1 Chinese auntie and 1 Indian Boy? Is it some kind of joke?? :huh:

Why is Ahmad and Ali saving money? Is there unerlying message that Malays should save more?

Why is Mrs Goh shopping? Shouldn't her be saving up too because of the current economic situation? Does being Chinese give her a god-send affluence unaffected by anything?

And the Muthu question is a thinly veiled stab at arranged marriages in India??

Can't we just keep things simple and not corrupt the children?

Edited by Bavarian

dun tell me all these 3qns are psle or wat hor... if so, dan i tink the parents' complain are due to their stupidity... <_<

bo lah, i think P4 one lah

Why do I see 2 Malay boys, 1 Chinese auntie and 1 Indian Boy? Is it some kind of joke?? :huh:

Why is Ahmad and Ali saving money? Is there unerlying message that Malays should save more?

Why is Mrs Goh shopping? Shouldn't her be saving up too because of the current economic situation? Does being Chinese give her a god-send affluence unaffected by anything?

And the Muthu question is a thinly veiled stab at arranged marriages in India??

Can't we just keep things simple and not corrupt the children?

good excuse for not answering the questions -_- the kid can be a lawyer and not a mathematician or engineer [laugh]

1)$12 2)$36 3)$48 4)$77

Qn 1:

Ali : Ahmad

$3 : $4

Convert $ to units, we will get:

Ali : Ahmad

3 units: 4 units

total = 7 units

$84 / 7 units = $12/unit

Ali has 3 units: 3 x $12 = $36

Qn2:

1 Mug = $1 +Dish ----- eqn 1

4 mugs + 1 Dish = $14 ----- eqn 2

sub eqn 1 into eqn 2:

4($1 + Dish) + Dish = $14

$4 + 5Dish = $14

Dish = $10 / 5

= $2

Qn 3:

using guess and check:

Muthu(yrs) Uncle(yrs) M:U

10 40 1:4

11 41 -

12 42 -

13 43 -

14 44 -

15 45 1:3

Edited by Ken_leong

Why

Q1) The proportion of their saving is always 3:4. Hence, if you break $84 into 7 parts, you get $12 for each part. Ali's portion is 3 parts, so 3x$12 is $36.

Q2) Total 5 items bought and by modelling you can visualise it as 5units + $4 (since each mug cost $1 more than the dish) is $14. Therefore, 5 units is equivalent to $10 and hence 1 unit is $2, which is exactly the cost of the dish.

Q3) Current age, 10:40. x years later, ratio becomes 1:3. Using modelling, you should be able to depicts 1 rectangle (representing 10 years) plus a square (representing x years) for Muthu and 4 rectangles plus a square for the uncle. To make 1 rectangle & 1 square 1/3 of the 4 rectangle & 1 square, you have to split the one rectangle and the square of the uncle age into 3 parts and add them to the remaining 3 rectangles equally. This would also mean that 1 square is 1/3 of rectangle plus 1/3 square. Which means, 3 squares is 1 rectangle pls a sqaure and that implies, 2 sqaures make 1 rectangle. Knowing one rectangle is 10 years, one square will be 5 years. Therefore, it will be 5 years later when their age is 1:3, hence Muthu is 15.

Edited by JumpySpeedFiend

Qn2:

1 Mug = $1 +Dish ----- eqn 1

4 mugs + 1 Dish = $14 ----- eqn 2

sub eqn 1 into eqn 2:

4($1 + Dish) + Dish = $14

$4 + 5Dish = $14

Dish = $10 / 5

= $2

Bro, from the way you solve it, I presume you do not have any kid attending primary school. :)

Edited by JumpySpeedFiend

bo lah, i think P4 one lah

P4 only like chicken feet dan i dun see y psle maths can how tough until parents complain and complain... [:/]

P4 and P6 is quite far apart....

then again you are judging from what you already know... to the students it a different scenario [:(]

Bro, from the way you solve it, I presume you do not have any kid attending primary school. :)

Actually, your answer actually jumped one step to commence at 5D +$4 = $14. To me with no school going kids, the other bro's answer is clearer as it starts from the base before moving one more step to your 5D + $4 = $14.

Add on: I can't visualise squares and triangles. But if put down on paper as numbers, it works for me. Maybe it's the way I was taught many many moons ago. Old dogs very hard to learn new tricks.

Another add on: For those in the academic field teaching the older kids (those Sec 3 and above), do you find that children taught the visualisation method any faster than those taught the numbers/formula method?

Edited by Kxbc

They themselves also don't know how to solve. [bigcry] [bigcry] [bigcry]

I don't understand why they must "play with words" or test young kids English language at such a young age????????????????

Shouldn't Maths be understanding about theories, logic and applications? Wanna test this (playing with words, tricks), wait until at a more matured age lah.

Edited by Kangadrool

Actually, your answer actually jumped one step to commence at 5D +$4 = $14. To me with no school going kids, the other bro's answer is clearer as it starts from the base before moving one more step to your 5D + $4 = $14.

Add on: I can't visualise squares and triangles. But if put down on paper as numbers, it works for me. Maybe it's the way I was taught many many moons ago. Old dogs very hard to learn new tricks.

Another add on: For those in the academic field teaching the older kids (those Sec 3 and above), do you find that children taught the visualisation method any faster than those taught the numbers/formula method?

Bro, that "one step" which I skipped is exactly the modelling that I could not "draw" it in my reply.

I am from the old school too. However, for my kid, no choice but to learn the "new tricks" taught by the school now. They are tackling problems which we solved using algebra but they have to so it using models.

As for whether this new method is better for the students, let me ask the maths teacher during the next meet the parents session.