The truth about why you have to keep working.....

Gearoil

How to actually retire when everything you have to pay to look after yourself?? Medical insurance, life insurance, savings insurance..... So many things to pay and also what about holidays and such?? How many are willing to give up lots to save and save so that they have it all during retirement?? I am talking about commomers , couples with combine income of 5 - 10k here.

There was a time when I looked at the period, when one turns 55 and he/she can hope to see the better part of the days, with his/her remaining time to spend leisurely, for the last part of their lives.

at current life expectancies, 55 is not even 3/4 of a person's life, already thinking of spending it leisurely?

55 is very young, in an age of medical advancement. To let the seniors of human society retire so early, and taking away with them their vast wealth of knowledge and wisdom, is to doom our civilisation.

In the ancient days, before "modern man" started to delude himself with ideas of chilling out for an entire decade before dying off, elderly people worked as advisors, like "senior consultants", and held important positions in tribal society, right up to the day they die. In effect, working until their "last day".

The sooner we bury the modern-day myth of "retirement", the better it is for everyone.

at current life expectancies, 55 is not even 3/4 of a person's life, already thinking of spending it leisurely?

55 is very young, in an age of medical advancement. To let the seniors of human society retire so early, and taking away with them their vast wealth of knowledge and wisdom, is to doom our civilisation.

In the ancient days, before "modern man" started to delude himself with ideas of chilling out for an entire decade before dying off, elderly people worked as advisors, like "senior consultants", and held important positions in tribal society, right up to the day they die. In effect, working until their "last day".

The sooner we bury the modern-day myth of "retirement", the better it is for everyone.

Looking at the current population growth, how many senior consultants can a company hire?? All these speeches are easy on paper but to apply it on actual situation, it is actually quite impossible. The majority will be forced to look for jobs like table wipers and other dirty jobs.

wah lau ancient days? got wat retire to? sit under tree watch the labourers build castle or hunters to hunt animals meh? Sit in cave draw pictures on the walls? invent the wheel? or play with magic like merlin? [laugh]

totally unrelated leh in terms of modern context. Ancient times u dun integrate ur self to the tribe and do something useful, throw u out to the wild to fend for urself lor. So they cannot retire, and have nothing to retire to. [rolleyes]

Looking at the current population growth, how many senior consultants can a company hire?? All these speeches are easy on paper but to apply it on actual situation, it is actually quite impossible. The majority will be forced to look for jobs like table wipers and other dirty jobs.

yup, some will end up doing dirty but nevertheless honest and respectable jobs. Just like how traditionally, some elders end up a "maids" caring for grandchildren, cleaning the homes of their working children.....

I see nothing wrong in elders doing these jobs, if they're physically able to. It doesn't take hard physical labour. Some people see it as degrading, there's nothing degrading about dirty but honest jobs.

To retire early, save, save, save, save (e.g. don't drive car, eat cheap food, don't go tour, don't be kiasu) and when turn 55, sell your HDB, withdraw all CPF, apply Malaysia citizen and starts learning malayu..........want or not?

btw, all those Malaysian workers/ engineers/ manager in and out of Singapore will have the last laugh when they turn 55.

what is the criteria to be a Malaysian citizen? [confused]

totally unrelated leh in terms of modern context [rolleyes]

too bad if u don't see how it's related.

Our past has a lot to teach us about how to live, now, and in the future.

How to actually retire when everything you have to pay to look after yourself?? Medical insurance, life insurance, savings insurance..... So many things to pay and also what about holidays and such?? How many are willing to give up lots to save and save so that they have it all during retirement?? I am talking about commomers , couples with combine income of 5 - 10k here.

me! i never support the sinkie economy by spending on eating out and any extras other than keeping my family alive. call me a miser, but if everyone can do this, i think we can bring the cost of living down.

yup, some will end up doing dirty but nevertheless honest and respectable jobs. Just like how traditionally, some elders end up a "maids" caring for grandchildren, cleaning the homes of their working children.....

I see nothing wrong in elders doing these jobs, if they're physically able to. It doesn't take hard physical labour. Some people see it as degrading, there's nothing degrading about dirty but honest jobs.

Yes there is nothing wrong, but to say never to retire, is there even enough job for the old in the first place. Even there is, how many of them actually can be tailored for the elder to work in?? Like I mention, just look at your own company, how many people can be kept as consultant or even admin assistant at retirement age?? Talk is cheap, especially in the forum , to come up with concrete solutions is not something that any tom dick or harry going through years of studies can come up with either. Unless there is a demand for employers to hire employees of that age group ( shortage of workers in the market as a whole ), than will reemployment work, provided no influx of FT, if not , its just BS.

too bad if u don't see how it's related.

Our past has a lot to teach us about how to live, now, and in the future.

yes ol wise shifu. i see your point now.