Bismarck Turbocharged October 30, 2010 Share October 30, 2010 http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1090380/1/.html Singapore's Electoral Boundaries Review Committee convened By S Ramesh | Posted: 30 October 2010 1715 hrs HANOI: Singapore's Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong says the Electoral Boundaries Review Committee has been convened. Typically, the prime minister appoints the committee just before a General Election to review the electoral division boundaries and recommend changes. The committee examines the growth of the voter population from the last General Election and recommends the number of Group Representation Constituencies (GRCs) and single-member constituencies (SMCs) and their boundaries. Speaking to the Singapore media on the sidelines of the ASEAN Summit in Hanoi on Saturday, Mr Lee said he has issued the instruction to convene the committee and it is being chaired by the Secretary to the Cabinet, Tan Kee Yong. Prime Minister Lee's revelation comes hot on the heels of a speech made by Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong on Friday at a university forum that the political buzz will increase in Singapore as many Singaporeans believe that the General Election will be held later this year or early next year. Prime Minister Lee weighed in with this to say: "I don't think it is any surprise. Elections are due some time before February 2012, so if you haven't got the signal by now, something must be wrong with you." On when the report by the Electoral Boundaries Review Committee would be out, Mr Lee said Singaporeans would have to wait and see. The release of the report is seen as one of the clearest signals of a General Election around the corner. For the 2006 General Election, the report was released about seven weeks before Nomination Day. With changes to the Parliamentary Elections Act in Singapore to increase the number of SMCs from the current nine to 12, and to reduce the size of some of the GRCs, especially the ones with six MPs currently, the final report of the Electoral Boundaries Review Committee would be very much looked out for by current Members of Parliament and the opposition parties, some of whom have already been reserving the GRCs which they want to contest in. Prime Minister Lee also revealed that he expects to bring in quite a number of new candidates and several potential office holders to contest in the upcoming elections. He said: "I expect to bring in quite a number of new candidates and several potential office holders and they will strengthen my leadership team. "But I am not announcing elections today. But there will be time to introduce them and get to know them." On the latest Cabinet revamp announced by him on Wednesday, before he left for the Hanoi summit, Mr Lee said it is a reshuffle with the cards which the government presently has. He said: "It's a reshuffle with the cards which we presently have. For the ministers, as I said in my comment, it is a logical consequence or move which we set a couple of years ago when I appointed Lui Tuck Yew as Acting Minister and when I brought in Shanmugam as the Law Minister and Second Minister for Home Affairs. So gradually we are bringing them into positions and putting them in place. "(For the) Parliamentary Secretaries, (their promotions) is a reward for performance and contributions. They are all deserving and I think they will continue to work hard in the same portfolios they have been hitherto, because I haven't reshuffled them. Beyond that, we will wait till I bring in new cards, which means I bring in new candidates, which will be in the general election." Singapore's leaders have said that out of the next General Election, the country must produce Singapore's fourth Prime Minister and a core team of younger Ministers who will take over from the present team. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic October 30, 2010 Share October 30, 2010 Mai Tu liao, Time to cast my grievances = vote !!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged October 30, 2010 Share October 30, 2010 Erection lai lo, lai lo, ai lai lo..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
themagi Neutral Newbie October 30, 2010 Share October 30, 2010 December school holidays if the gerrymandering can be readied by then? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic October 30, 2010 Share October 30, 2010 Expecting the GE for some time liao. all the MPees come out and make noise. Visit estates and make the blanga wash and wash the void decks during wee hours Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic October 30, 2010 Share October 30, 2010 Good to see that Mr. Gerry Mander is a VIP again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bismarck Turbocharged October 30, 2010 Author Share October 30, 2010 Will LKY retire or continue to stand for election? Will PAP's % vote drop to the lowest ever? Will Opposition finally win 1 GRC? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear October 30, 2010 Share October 30, 2010 sad to say, if u notice the votes there are numbers printed on them... they will say votes are sacred but in fact they noe who u are and so if ur votes end up wif the opposition, appeals and stuffs when u need their help will always not come true... i oso wan to vote my grievances too... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear October 30, 2010 Share October 30, 2010 sad to say, if u notice the votes there are numbers printed on them... they will say votes are sacred but in fact they noe who u are and so if ur votes end up wif the opposition, appeals and stuffs when u need their help will always not come true... i oso wan to vote my grievances too... provided the box with sealed is broken into and they wanted to racksack the thousands of paper in the box to find the singel vote of yours . or unless, they use special technology to see through the whole box and to identify your vote. Why worry so much? just vote lah . Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 Any average time interval from the convene of the committee till the report is out and then to the real erection? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 Those r juz hearsay and myth of our election. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 sad to say, if u notice the votes there are numbers printed on them... they will say votes are sacred but in fact they noe who u are and so if ur votes end up wif the opposition, appeals and stuffs when u need their help will always not come true... i oso wan to vote my grievances too... I think they didn't actually bother to check. But I would assume they can, if they really wanted. Maybe a tactic to make people think twice about voting against them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 sad to say, if u notice the votes there are numbers printed on them... they will say votes are sacred but in fact they noe who u are and so if ur votes end up wif the opposition, appeals and stuffs when u need their help will always not come true... i oso wan to vote my grievances too... If you vote for "them" out of fear, then "they" have already won (and "we" have already lost). Never give in to this sentiment - because this just allows them to own us more and more. It may already be too late for any hope of real democracy here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nautilus 2nd Gear October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 Don't worry, your vote is secret. The ballot slips are boxed and sealed after counting, and destroyed a few months later, all under the scrutiny of all political parties. What people don't realise is your vote is very poweful. If they can easily change or prosecute people because they don't vote the right way, then do you think they bother to even step up their wayang campaign before the elections? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achtung7 Neutral Newbie October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 Even if it's true that they can use the serial numbers to trace who voted for whom... what can they do about it?? Are they going to sieve you out from the tens of thousands and make your life difficult... write a computer program to monitor for anything that you have applied for... or get summoned for and make sure that you don't get what you want? I am sure if such a thing really happen, the news would leak and it would not be good for the person who instigated that... there are many people whose email addy ends with .gov.sg.. and they do openly criticize some of the policies.. but they are still "happily" working where they are... the only reason why they don't try their best to clarify the serial numbers issue is for the sole reason that it works to their benefits... why spend time to do something that doesn't do them good? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kenneve888 4th Gear October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 (edited) Don't worry, your vote is secret. The ballot slips are boxed and sealed after counting, and destroyed a few months later, all under the scrutiny of all political parties. What people don't realise is your vote is very poweful. If they can easily change or prosecute people because they don't vote the right way, then do you think they bother to even step up their wayang campaign before the elections? More good years ahead! Edited October 31, 2010 by Kenneve888 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gendut 2nd Gear October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 sad to say, if u notice the votes there are numbers printed on them... they will say votes are sacred but in fact they noe who u are and so if ur votes end up wif the opposition, appeals and stuffs when u need their help will always not come true... i oso wan to vote my grievances too... You must be one of those dumb people who believe in flying saucers. Its precisely due to folks of your ilk that fearmongering at election time persists. And also adds to the reason why we need to raise the intelligence quotient by more FT imports. "i oso wan to vote my grievances too..." Don't talk, just do it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear October 31, 2010 Share October 31, 2010 Even if it's true that they can use the serial numbers to trace who voted for whom... what can they do about it?? Are they going to sieve you out from the tens of thousands and make your life difficult... write a computer program to monitor for anything that you have applied for... or get summoned for and make sure that you don't get what you want? I am sure if such a thing really happen, the news would leak and it would not be good for the person who instigated that... there are many people whose email addy ends with .gov.sg.. and they do openly criticize some of the policies.. but they are still "happily" working where they are... the only reason why they don't try their best to clarify the serial numbers issue is for the sole reason that it works to their benefits... why spend time to do something that doesn't do them good? Yap, why even bother about the serial number if one is voting for a good cause? More importantly vote for what you wanted. Regards, ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...