Best_ctzn Clutched December 21, 2010 Share December 21, 2010 1yr travel 30K km is quite usual......when I work in Tuas & stay in Punggol + detour to AMk, 1 day trip will be about 100km... unless I misread ur post..... You definitely misread his post. He was saying: for first 14month with TC servicing, he locked 32k km But for the next 34month without servicing record, he clocked only 31k km. With same travel history, he should have clocked 34/14x32=77.7k km That means his odometer should show 77.7+32 = 110km instead of 63k km. Hope this is clear now. But if the previous car owner did change a job so that he does not need to use his car daily, then the situation is possible. But the behavior of the 2nd hand car dealer had shown otherwise. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mksoo Clutched December 21, 2010 Share December 21, 2010 Hi, bought my used car (2008 july Altis) in Oct 2010, dealer said under AD warrantly and ask me to call ..... then AD said i'm not the car owner ... cannot reveal .... ... till i get the car .. AD reveal ... last service done at 39K 6 months ago .... 6 month later ... odm read 42K ..... well ... if based on 39k for 21 month ... after 6 month in normal usage .. should be ard 50K .. but will anyone changed the reading for just 8k ???? but anyway ... since under AD warrantly ... i send it back to AD for servicing ...(also cheapskate .... i complain here noise there noise and hope they change some parts .... in the end only change rear shock absorber) .. tell me battery will die anytime but cannot change for me cos reading is ok ... like you guy mentioned .. AD no personal touch .... u ask they reply ... else they just go thru normal procedure mk Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonpaul0104 2nd Gear December 21, 2010 Share December 21, 2010 You definitely misread his post. He was saying: for first 14month with TC servicing, he locked 32k km But for the next 34month without servicing record, he clocked only 31k km. With same travel history, he should have clocked 34/14x32=77.7k km That means his odometer should show 77.7+32 = 110km instead of 63k km. Hope this is clear now. But if the previous car owner did change a job so that he does not need to use his car daily, then the situation is possible. But the behavior of the 2nd hand car dealer had shown otherwise. ok ok...now i understand what he was trying to say.....totally miss his point.....no wonder I get F9 for my maths..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jfkoh 1st Gear December 21, 2010 Share December 21, 2010 i got a opc fd @ 29k mileage.. it was reg in aug 08 then i check the book it stated 10k services at dec 08 @ KL i got it in sept 2010 @ 29k mileage.. one thing highly suspicious is that the tyre was also changed in 2009 which i started to think which owner will change the tyre on just 20+k usage? but heck care the car didn't give me any problem till now.. so still quite ok for me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear December 21, 2010 Share December 21, 2010 now make me scare to consider buying a 2nd hand car liao... i tink even sometimes buy direct from owners, they may noe of ws to help them tweak oso... -.- Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Copen 1st Gear December 21, 2010 Share December 21, 2010 (edited) Nope..it reads the mileage from the ECU. This one quite foolproof, unless you replace the ECU altogether. ECU don't record mileage. Any mileage stated in ECU is from the ODO itself. Try this, change or swap your ECU. See if the mileage has changed. Edited December 21, 2010 by Copen Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear December 21, 2010 Share December 21, 2010 any documentation to show the mileage when you hand over the car to them? tampering the odometer is so common. how come gahmen never take any action? So simple and yet ppl like you still don't understand... You cheat among yourself ...their coffers don't get cheated ..they don't give two hoots about what you ppl want to do! You ppl can whack and cheat each other for all THEY care...but as long as nothing REALLY affect their 'incoming money' as they still want their million dollar salaries to keep increasing! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dragonl 1st Gear December 21, 2010 Share December 21, 2010 but does ECU record mileage? sorry, im not challenging u, just that im not sure n i dont c any reason y ECU need to record such data.... ECU log data thru out it entire lifespan of the car. There are sequent in clearing old data but not mileage. I play a lot especially for manufacturer when there is warranty claim. Ie: in oversea u r covered for a certin mileage, if ECU don't record and can be tempered, everyone will just claim warranty. Unless the delear flush the ECU, all records will be removed. I won't dare to buy a car who has a ECU reflashed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dragonl 1st Gear December 21, 2010 Share December 21, 2010 ECU don't record mileage. Any mileage stated in ECU is from the ODO itself. Try this, change or swap your ECU. See if the mileage has changed. Bro, I salute u, u think ECU cheap is it. Tuning already can cost $1k or more and u can suggest change ECU to test. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Copen 1st Gear December 21, 2010 Share December 21, 2010 (edited) Bro, I salute u, u think ECU cheap is it. Tuning already can cost $1k or more and u can suggest change ECU to test. Bro, I said change or swap, you easily swap ECU with cars same as your own. And change if you intending to change. And definitely, you will find no change to the odometer. If ECU records mileage as you claimed, you should see a different reading on your car. Let us know if you really see a different reading alright. Thanks bro. Edited December 21, 2010 by Copen Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged December 21, 2010 Share December 21, 2010 Anybody who reads the latest Autocar UK issue (Dec15/22), there is an article on page 125 about "Clocking", that is, tampering the odometer. The ECU does actually record memory of the car, including mileage, and with the right equipment, especially on modern cars, anyone can tap into the ECU to determine the real mileage. Take a read here (page 125): http://redirectingat.com/?id=1044...tocar%...%20issue%20Free Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Copen 1st Gear December 21, 2010 Share December 21, 2010 Anybody who reads the latest Autocar UK issue (Dec15/22), there is an article on page 125 about "Clocking", that is, tampering the odometer. The ECU does actually record memory of the car, including mileage, and with the right equipment, especially on modern cars, anyone can tap into the ECU to determine the real mileage. Take a read here (page 125): http://redirectingat.com/?id=1044...tocar%...%20issue%20Free The mileage as stated in the ECU will not be the same as your Odometer, even without tampering. But I do know ECU or rather now called ECM, records the highest rpm you went, regardless of reseting or not. Unless reflash. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Melvyn Neutral Newbie December 21, 2010 Share December 21, 2010 Not going back to AD I dun feel it's cheap skate in any way. It's juz that ppl or in this case, I have a mech I trust and throughout the years I've sent my ride there to service. Undoubtedly there's a small amt of savings but it's not the priority here. Of course if you're driving those uber rare and expensive cars like 458 or Maybach with not many ppl knowing how to service it's a different game altogether. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Filtered 1st Gear December 24, 2010 Share December 24, 2010 but does ECU record mileage? sorry, im not challenging u, just that im not sure n i dont c any reason y ECU need to record such data.... Yes it does....dont know why but I learnt this through my mechanic. The OBD plugged into the ECU was showing different mileage from my odometer, as I had changed it to Optitron type. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Filtered 1st Gear December 24, 2010 Share December 24, 2010 ECU don't record mileage. Any mileage stated in ECU is from the ODO itself. Try this, change or swap your ECU. See if the mileage has changed. Maybe for different cars its different. but for my wrx which I bought brand new, after driving for few years, I swapped the whole instrument console for a 2nd hand optitron type. The mileage is diff from what is read from the OBD. So I think the ECU does record Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wavedancer Neutral Newbie December 25, 2010 Share December 25, 2010 IMHO, money is better spent in assessing the condition of the engine and car as a whole rather than the mileage chalked up. A lot of factors, high mileage could meant that the previous owner did a lot of highway driving, eg Malaysia rather than stop go as in Singapore. Wear and tear are higher in stop go than continous driving. I know of a colleague who shifts his car every 2 hours to keep his ride in the shade. Could not imagine the wear and tear from starting a cold engine. The mileage also could be a doctor or tai tai moving from place to place making housecalls or playing mahjong. There is nothing new in car dealers adjusting the mileage to squeeze out a few more bucks from buyers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
D3badge 6th Gear December 25, 2010 Share December 25, 2010 (edited) 1yr travel 30K km is quite usual......when I work in Tuas & stay in Punggol + detour to AMk, 1 day trip will be about 100km... unless I misread ur post..... agree...... actually 30k is very normal but newspaper alway say 1 year average is 20k thus many pple use this as a bench mark, over 20k say milage too high...... thus AD hanky panky ODO meter. if you click sgcarmart, 90% of car under 5 years old all less than 100K. DO a survey go look at all your friend ODO and calculate most pple less than 20K??? anyway I think cars engine are build to last more than 20k average a year if not think of country like Australia, America, Canada die lia for them 30k plus more normal. does most important is regular maintance in my point of view Edited December 25, 2010 by D3badge Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Passion 5th Gear December 25, 2010 Share December 25, 2010 but anyway ... since under AD warrantly ... i send it back to AD for servicing ...(also cheapskate .... i complain here noise there noise and hope they change some parts .... in the end only change rear shock absorber) .. tell me battery will die anytime but cannot change for me cos reading is ok ... like you guy mentioned .. AD no personal touch .... u ask they reply ... else they just go thru normal procedure mk Jul 2008 Altis is the pre-facelift version? How come so fast shock adsorber kaput? Mine they change the battery for me during servicing for free. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...