Kensk Clutched November 11, 2010 Share November 11, 2010 Went again to the AMM last week. Came across a 2.5 year old car, and found the price to be quite reasonable, so did a check with the sales man, and got to know that the car was involvenin an minor accident. Frame and engine of car is intact. And over the years of 2.5 years, 3 transfer done. A respray of the car is done but different from The primary colour. My question is will a STA check tell me if the engine/car is in good condition? And wad are the view of fellow forumer here? Frankly speaking, I was impress that the sale person integrity, and appreciate it. The price of that car is 5k below market price. It really tempt me to put my name on the paper. You will probably like to spend that 5k more and get a better car. Cost of maintaning problematic cars will eventually catch up to the amount you saved. Most 2nd hand car I came across have only 1 owner. And this cannot be fake, unlike the milleage. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear November 11, 2010 Share November 11, 2010 03 transfer means 4 owners..u be the 5th....avoid. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Helpmeplz Neutral Newbie November 11, 2010 Author Share November 11, 2010 Lol. Thanks. Perhaps I shall wait for the right one. Thanks everyone. Those are really useful opinion. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icebrush79 4th Gear November 11, 2010 Share November 11, 2010 Do not listen to your friend. Pay as much downpayment as you can afford. With zero downpayment, you will not able to break even till you almost scrap your car. By the 5th year you own the car, most probaly your backside will be itch already. Best is 0% loan... drive only if you can afford it.... Taking loans is like deluding yourself that you have surplus... to me at least... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moredhel 2nd Gear November 11, 2010 Share November 11, 2010 Best is 0% loan... drive only if you can afford it.... Taking loans is like deluding yourself that you have surplus... to me at least... Have the same view too. Best is full payment. Cars, HDB, etc... But here, how many of us can afford to pay in full for these big ticket Tax items? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Booboon 1st Gear November 11, 2010 Share November 11, 2010 even if you bought a car and your monthly installment is low, don't forget to factor in your insurance my friend just bought a rx8 recently and his insurance is 7k if his insurance drops 1k per year, after 5 years he'll be paying over 25k for insurance alone do your maths properly TS is buying Latio not some sports car lah. How ex can the insurance be? If yr friend can afford RX8 yet kb $7k insurance, then he is better off BMW, Bus, MRT Walk I mean. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icebrush79 4th Gear November 11, 2010 Share November 11, 2010 Have the same view too. Best is full payment. Cars, HDB, etc... But here, how many of us can afford to pay in full for these big ticket Tax items? Housing is quite out of the question for me of course.... But I paid for my car in full.... To me, its a good way to cultivate self discipline... I remembered when I was driving a bread and butter back then, I had friends earning much lesser driving Rexs and Evos.. Was so tempted to throw in the towel and take up loans.... But I'm glad i persevered cuz with monthly savings, I managed to set aside funds for investments and house downpayments while paying for my car in full.... Actually to be honest... you see many yaya car drivers around because they have the impression that "my car is pricier than yours...so i'm superior.." If only there were compulsory coloured decals on each car seperating the >50% loans kind vs the fully paid cars... let's see how the faces of these self deluded superior drivers will change.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikopeanut Neutral Newbie November 11, 2010 Share November 11, 2010 I just got my license and thinking to get a used 2nd hand car with a budget of 30k. Don't wish to loan and can anyone help to recommend any auto model. How much is the insurance for a new driver and any point to note for a new driver/buyer. Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear November 11, 2010 Share November 11, 2010 Housing is quite out of the question for me of course.... But I paid for my car in full.... To me, its a good way to cultivate self discipline... I remembered when I was driving a bread and butter back then, I had friends earning much lesser driving Rexs and Evos.. Was so tempted to throw in the towel and take up loans.... But I'm glad i persevered cuz with monthly savings, I managed to set aside funds for investments and house downpayments while paying for my car in full.... Actually to be honest... you see many yaya car drivers around because they have the impression that "my car is pricier than yours...so i'm superior.." If only there were compulsory coloured decals on each car seperating the >50% loans kind vs the fully paid cars... let's see how the faces of these self deluded superior drivers will change.... why get bothered over such thing? in the same logic, i shd scoff at the QQ owner beside me when im taking a cab? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear November 11, 2010 Share November 11, 2010 anyw since now many pple like to proclaim they pay on cash for their cars, here is my tiny little 2 cents...with int at 1.88% and finance discount for min loans etc, what is wrong with taking some loan for a car? of cos if the cash u are paying only represent 10% of your total liquid assets, this message is not for you, go ahead pay in full. but if you are paying in full depleting 80% of your cash, then wats the deal?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear November 11, 2010 Share November 11, 2010 if i were u TS. i will not stretch the loan for 8years. down as much as comfortable. dun bankrupt urself of course. den.. loan like 3-5yrs max. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icebrush79 4th Gear November 12, 2010 Share November 12, 2010 anyw since now many pple like to proclaim they pay on cash for their cars, here is my tiny little 2 cents...with int at 1.88% and finance discount for min loans etc, what is wrong with taking some loan for a car? of cos if the cash u are paying only represent 10% of your total liquid assets, this message is not for you, go ahead pay in full. but if you are paying in full depleting 80% of your cash, then wats the deal?? I agree... depleting 80% of savings is definately a no-no.... you never know when you need extra cash for rainy days.... or if golden investment opportunities present themselves suddenly That has never been my principle too... I Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic November 12, 2010 Share November 12, 2010 Dun buy car w/o any downpayment. and also dun take 10 yr loan! But now buy 2nd hand or new also 'bo hwa', unless u really need a car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genes 6th Gear November 12, 2010 Share November 12, 2010 I agree... depleting 80% of savings is definately a no-no.... you never know when you need extra cash for rainy days.... or if golden investment opportunities present themselves suddenly That has never been my principle too... I Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic November 12, 2010 Share November 12, 2010 i remember the first time i see the car... just see sgcarmart price agar agar gum then go down see condition ok... never even test drive... just pay, settle insurance next day took car damm lucky never kena chop carrot... or kena lemon car hahahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic November 12, 2010 Share November 12, 2010 i remember the first time i see the car... just see sgcarmart price agar agar gum then go down see condition ok... never even test drive... just pay, settle insurance next day took car damm lucky never kena chop carrot... or kena lemon car hahahaha Like tht also can eh? Buying a 2nd hand car, u dun even test drive the car then buy liao?! I only heard before pple buy new car, dun test drive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic November 12, 2010 Share November 12, 2010 Like tht also can eh? Buying a 2nd hand car, u dun even test drive the car then buy liao?! I only heard before pple buy new car, dun test drive. ya lor abit luan lai as i said... lucky lor hahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icebrush79 4th Gear November 12, 2010 Share November 12, 2010 wah! beng got a million in liquid assets.. 100k car is minority of your liquid assets.. when i grow up, i wanna be just like u~! Wow... tsk tsk... chill.. i'm not that rich... I got my car as a 2nd hand... less the trade in from my previous, my cash outlay is way below 100K... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...