Panhard 1st Gear November 12, 2010 Share November 12, 2010 i can still remember getting my 1st car during my army daze, its a 7th hand red mini-clubman. paid 7k for it! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genes 6th Gear November 12, 2010 Share November 12, 2010 Wow... tsk tsk... chill.. i'm not that rich... I got my car as a 2nd hand... less the trade in from my previous, my cash outlay is way below 100K... Wow! Chey.. then I don't wanna be like u liao.. [:p] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genes 6th Gear November 12, 2010 Share November 12, 2010 i can still remember getting my 1st car during my army daze, its a 7th hand red mini-clubman. paid 7k for it! cool car! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expertz 1st Gear November 12, 2010 Share November 12, 2010 i can still remember getting my 1st car during my army daze, its a 7th hand red mini-clubman. paid 7k for it! how old was the car? also did you have tons of problems with it? i mean it IS a 7th hand car afterall Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic November 12, 2010 Share November 12, 2010 ya lor abit luan lai as i said... lucky lor hahaha Hahaa, since u r so lucky, u must be always strike 4D and TOTO liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Panhard 1st Gear November 12, 2010 Share November 12, 2010 when i took over car, was already @ 9th year.... still remembered that it had great pick-up. always when the lights turned green will zoom off leaving a trail of smoke behind. turning was superb too, 90 deg. turn at 60km without throwing over. mechanically, did spend some money on the wheel bearings. somehow they turn noisy very fast, had to go real slow on bumps as it will hit the base of the gearbox. but overall--lovely little britt car! will never forget it! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic November 12, 2010 Share November 12, 2010 i can still remember getting my 1st car during my army daze, its a 7th hand red mini-clubman. paid 7k for it! Can afford car during your army?! Consider quite rich liao! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged November 12, 2010 Share November 12, 2010 when i took over car, was already @ 9th year.... still remembered that it had great pick-up. always when the lights turned green will zoom off leaving a trail of smoke behind. turning was superb too, 90 deg. turn at 60km without throwing over. mechanically, did spend some money on the wheel bearings. somehow they turn noisy very fast, had to go real slow on bumps as it will hit the base of the gearbox. but overall--lovely little britt car! will never forget it! u sold it or scrap it in the end? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic November 12, 2010 Share November 12, 2010 Hahaa, since u r so lucky, u must be always strike 4D and TOTO liao. hmmm not always lah a couple of times la hahaha [laugh] buy big always buay tio... buy small small strike a bit song nia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Panhard 1st Gear November 12, 2010 Share November 12, 2010 sold it to a car dealer for a civic Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Panhard 1st Gear November 12, 2010 Share November 12, 2010 not really. was a army regular then. bought it with the savings i had Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luoxy Neutral Newbie November 12, 2010 Share November 12, 2010 anyw since now many pple like to proclaim they pay on cash for their cars, here is my tiny little 2 cents...with int at 1.88% and finance discount for min loans etc, what is wrong with taking some loan for a car? of cos if the cash u are paying only represent 10% of your total liquid assets, this message is not for you, go ahead pay in full. but if you are paying in full depleting 80% of your cash, then wats the deal?? due to the way car loan calculated, the effective interest rate is around 3.5%, in my opinion, still not cheap. unless you have guaranteed return of 3.5% of investment to deploy your cash, you are better off paying ur car in cash. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear November 12, 2010 Share November 12, 2010 due to the way car loan calculated, the effective interest rate is around 3.5%, in my opinion, still not cheap. unless you have guaranteed return of 3.5% of investment to deploy your cash, you are better off paying ur car in cash. agree..the key to note is there are loan discounts of 2k, 3k from the list price jus by taking min loan..factor that in to see if it is stil worth it...anyw there are many dividend stocks that easily pay 5-6% pa..or even voluntary contribution to cpf that earns u interest and save tax... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Speedz Neutral Newbie November 13, 2010 Share November 13, 2010 I guess it depends on what you are going to do with the cash that you do not use as down-payment. If you are just going to leave the money in the bank, then you are probably better off using the cash as down-payment (after factoring in your emergency cash requirements). Putting your cash in dividend-paying stocks that outperforms the effective interest rate of the car loan is one approach. But don't forget, if the economy takes another dip, you might end up with a car loan in negative equity, having no job (touch wood), and your stock values well below what you have paid for them. Hence, minimising your liabilities would be something that you would really want to consider. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Helpmeplz Neutral Newbie December 3, 2010 Author Share December 3, 2010 Alright guys, Got my Latio FINALLY.. Some questions again, hope fellow forumer can answer. Normally how much litres of pertrol is left when petrol light lights up? Is there reserve tank? When the light lights up, i went to pump and it clock full tank at 38l. So am i right to say my car still have another 7l of petrol? 12l per km consider average FC for a latio sports? Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear December 3, 2010 Share December 3, 2010 Alright guys, Got my Latio FINALLY.. Some questions again, hope fellow forumer can answer. Normally how much litres of pertrol is left when petrol light lights up? Is there reserve tank? When the light lights up, i went to pump and it clock full tank at 38l. So am i right to say my car still have another 7l of petrol? 12l per km consider average FC for a latio sports? Thanks yes there is reserve tank. i think once yellow light are up u can max do 50km. dun try ur luck. i guess u pump 38L u can assume there is 7L + more in the tank for FC wise i cant help u... i dun drive a latio. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timex1441 1st Gear December 3, 2010 Share December 3, 2010 latio is well-known for fuel economy....shouldn't be a problem lah...enjoy ur ride Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Helpmeplz Neutral Newbie December 3, 2010 Author Share December 3, 2010 yes there is reserve tank. i think once yellow light are up u can max do 50km. dun try ur luck. i guess u pump 38L u can assume there is 7L + more in the tank for FC wise i cant help u... i dun drive a latio. Great! Thanks for ur advices bro... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...