IDA force opennet on private condos

Wind30

The installer doing the installation of the cabling has really poor worksmanship. I opted not to have it. If I want, I'll get it done myself in future.

its not that easy.. there are hundreds or even thousand of condos site in Singapore...

all use taxpayer money to hack.... u agreeable? if condo MCST dun want, then just leave it at that...

want to install then pay out of your own pocket.....

dun want to install then dun kpkb later that ppl can dl movie in a few mins. you need hours

Actually cable can let you download movie in a few minutes.... I think the bottleneck is not the cable network.

Really, I don't see the need for fiber optic network for residential. I am happy with a 3mbps connection for 4 years. Cable can support up to 100mbps .

All people want is to say NO, especially if it involves MONEY. How can you force a people to cough up hard cash for something they don't want/need.

Very easy to see why...

Who is doing the fibre roll-out? Or rather, which GLC is part of the consortium?

And what does this GLC intend to do once the roll-out is completed?

Yes, sell the existing infrastructure to the consortium and form a business trust...

Anyone want to guess what this GLC would do with the excess cash? Return to shareholders?

Now, who owns the majority stake in this GLC?

I think IDA just want the building to have the infrastructure, probably a main panel to be located inside the condo, individual owners can then choose to install or not install it onto their homes.

More correct to say is some office holder wanna clock certain KPI/milestone for his resume ....[sly]

Edited by Scoots

no, I think IDA wants it routed to EVERY FLOOR. cannot be just A MAIN panel lah. If a resident live in 20th floor wants the fiber, he is supposed to route from main panel up to 20th floor meh?

So all these EXTENSIVE hacking and concealment woke is a lot of money leh. IDA just wants the residents to pay for it so they can hit their milestones and report back to minister.

Hmmmm, like that they can monitor our traffic? A skeptic mind at work here...and makes some sense , no wonder they have a super big operation centre I remember I read somewhere....Hmmmmm....like sewerage pipes that all lead to a septic tank????

sorry, just speculation, dun sue me hor.

Actually cable can let you download movie in a few minutes.... I think the bottleneck is not the cable network.

Really, I don't see the need for fiber optic network for residential. I am happy with a 3mbps connection for 4 years. Cable can support up to 100mbps .

All people want is to say NO, especially if it involves MONEY. How can you force a people to cough up hard cash for something they don't want/need.

Yes, the slow speed is not within the country, but out of the country...hmmm, for conspiracy theory, see my previous post before this.

There is another reason why the IDA are forcing this onto unwilling parties. But that is a reason which cannot be disclosed. Just know that once opennet starts, there will be lesser illegal activities thru the net. And net cases may be solved faster.

Wah, i any how guess also correct? That means i cannot surf porn or curse pxp liao. Better not take up then,

Edited by Kenneve888

anyway if you have read about the thing about digital divide, you will know the reason of IDA doing this. IDA just want to ensure that no one is being left behind..

alamak.... they do for free, why make so much noise.... they are saying all the "eat Wind" house must allow the CON-tractor to lay all the simi LJ cable...... if the owner think they dont want their house to look ugly or for whatever fark reason, then they can dont lay the simi LJ cable to their HOUSE mah..... IDA never say the owner MUST lay to their house even they dont want... even in HDBee... if owner dont want, dont lay lor, same what...... but at least if lay liao, the infrastructure is there..... if anyone change their mind.... just ask CON-tractor lay to house... finished..... KNN free one still make noise... take first lar.... talk later.... [laugh]

KNN what pay for hiding the cable and simi LJ.... NBzz you think the $$$ come from who??? You wanna whole Singapore pay for all the "eat wind" house to lay cable in the house... Please lar... [rolleyes]

Even those staying HDBee also need to pay for laying cable into their house.... so what make the "eat wind" house so special....

Edited by Nlatio

for me, i value my privacy. hence not openet for me.

also the content i am interested are all overseas, so even with fibre high speed, it is pointless just to access useless content in sinkietown.

the reason for this openet is they are trying to spur the IT economy by spending on this infrastructure so that content will evolve and grow in future.

frankly, can wait long long. there will NEVER be a google or facebook from sinkietown no matter how smart we are.

at most its another media to watch tv and video, the matrix only needs workers, not smart people.

Edited by Dpsk

Last time the Starhub cable roll out also very ugly no concealment type,

free stuff is like tat lah ..

if want concealment extra costs to the private owner which i agree owner

have to pay a bit lol ...

bungalow/terrace even worst during star hub cable roll out .. pay 4-5K / 8K

to connect per house ?

what the point of rolling out this crap when they are going to throttle the speed if traffic gets too heavy....

furthermore, the best contents are overseas.... they should save the money and upgrade the undersea cables instead

1-2mbps line can be fast.... until they choose to throttle it or due to congestion between countries.... base on bandwidth the ISP subscribe to....

kekekeke you guys means use the $$$$ to move all the content provided here..... like that no need FO...... 1MBps can already..... heeee

Cable can be fast if u r the only 1 using it. Of course, IDA can force because they can quote law.

for me, i value my privacy. hence not openet for me.

also the content i am interested are all overseas, so even with fibre high speed, it is pointless just to access useless content in sinkietown.

the reason for this openet is they are trying to spur the IT economy by spending on this infrastructure so that content will evolve and grow in future.

frankly, can wait long long. there will NEVER be a google or facebook from sinkietown no matter how smart we are.

at most its another media to watch tv and video, the matrix only needs workers, not smart people.

How does opennet affect our ur privacy? Free KPKB. Need to pay $$$, also KPKB. No wonder ppl says we r hard to pls.