Civic6228 6th Gear December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 Thx Ghostami and Hamburger for the replies..... this will cost me few hundreds of dollars..... haiz....... I will save on anything for the car but I will not compromise for tyres.... It is about safety and like the other replies I am sure that your life is worth more than a few hundreds dollars.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 Alamak, my 17 50 series Falken was given to SOH TYRES, onli one yrs old on the back pair 60% left Din wan to sell old used tyres to brudders, cos changed all four to S drive last fri. Could have given to u if fits Too late. Now u make him go 1 corner n cry. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 Hi all, Thanks for the advise... Sorry was bz these few weeks. Here is the pic of the front n rear tyres. The front ones must change hor? The Front. The Rear. Looks like wheel alignment also needs attention Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JaydenSTI 1st Gear December 22, 2010 Share December 22, 2010 dude, how much r u paying for your monthly installment for your car? how much r u paying your car insurance per yr? these few hundred of dollars to spend on tyres to ensure your safety can last u at least 2 yrs if your driving pattern is not like a taxi driver. dun be a typical penny wise pound foolish person. u can continue to use the tyres if u think your life is dirt cheap and u want to test the effectiveness of your air bags. u should jolly well know that there is a high risk of a 45" low profile tyre get slash if hit on something hard like kerb and your alloy rim get scratch easily. want chio chio low profile look but lamenting of spending hundreds of dollars on tyres be it due to unexpected incident or a regular change is a damn buay kan style leh.... It is not that I wanna save the $$, but this damage on the tire was actually caused by somebody else while driving my car..... That's y I felt abit imbalance at the moment...... Nonetheless, thanks for all the advice. Cheers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Help1 1st Gear December 23, 2010 Share December 23, 2010 It is not that I wanna save the $$, but this damage on the tire was actually caused by somebody else while driving my car..... That's y I felt abit imbalance at the moment...... Nonetheless, thanks for all the advice. Cheers. if caused by someone else whom drove your car, kindda of difficult to get the person to pay so maybe ask him/her to treat u a lunch. it has to comes with a responsibility Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JaydenSTI 1st Gear December 23, 2010 Share December 23, 2010 if caused by someone else whom drove your car, kindda of difficult to get the person to pay so maybe ask him/her to treat u a lunch. it has to comes with a responsibility is my wifey le......... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolfy3769 2nd Gear December 23, 2010 Share December 23, 2010 really dont understand why ppl want to save on tires... on the road... saw a couple of botak tire ...mind u .. some of them are on SUV and those Conti car (merc and BMW)... i think alot of ppl who very particular on tires are those that ever had accident or skid due to tire?? i am one of them... in fact had 1 incident and numerous skid incident... most of them are when tire are not so botak... at least 5mm left...that while i try to change tire every 2.5 year (even if tire still had rubber left). those that are worn... will change them immediately. EO... u stretch a bit.. frankly.. not that bad to the engine... but tire.. when u stretch a bit... it can be really dangerous... worst is the one who injuired are other road users or ur loved one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Help1 1st Gear December 23, 2010 Share December 23, 2010 is my wifey le......... so what is wifey??? can escape the responsibility meh??? there are times where u need to show u mean business and not just forget it othewise she will never learn and take things for granted. When she wants to use the car next time, she will think twice to use or on extra caution. if she ti gong ti xiao, then u slice her expensive bag and she will feel the pain. husband n wife give n take but there must be a common understanding and respect. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JaydenSTI 1st Gear December 23, 2010 Share December 23, 2010 so what is wifey??? can escape the responsibility meh??? there are times where u need to show u mean business and not just forget it othewise she will never learn and take things for granted. When she wants to use the car next time, she will think twice to use or on extra caution. if she ti gong ti xiao, then u slice her expensive bag and she will feel the pain. husband n wife give n take but there must be a common understanding and respect. lol, she is too phobia to sit on the driver seat now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic December 26, 2010 Share December 26, 2010 I use that exit quite often... how fast were you going and the road condition at that time? I was probably going around 80~90 around the corner. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear December 26, 2010 Share December 26, 2010 Always put the best tyres at the rear. I skid before the other day when the rear tyres broke traction. It was extremely difficult to control the car. Luckily I didn't hit the concrete wall when I exit BKE into KJE at the turn. You should be in 4th gear. If auto, tap brake repeatedly Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostami 2nd Gear December 26, 2010 Share December 26, 2010 I guess its common that wifes do not understand why the hubby is angry sometimes when comes to issues with the car arised by them. They are not the ones maintaining it hence don't give a s--t about it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear December 26, 2010 Share December 26, 2010 Is it correct to put the best dry weather tyre in front. And best wet tyre in the rear. So that the car will not easily skid in rainy condition? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jchuacl Clutched December 26, 2010 Share December 26, 2010 U don't brake when cornering as u may throw the car off balance . The correct method is to enter into the corner with the correct entry speed and gear , and thereafter maintain throttle position . I often see pple braking unnecessarily when cornering . You should be in 4th gear. If auto, tap brake repeatedly Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear December 26, 2010 Share December 26, 2010 U don't brake when cornering as u may throw the car off balance . The correct method is to enter into the corner with the correct entry speed and gear , and thereafter maintain throttle position . I often see pple braking unnecessarily when cornering . I was not the driver. Do read the previous story, who was the driver (laugh) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vstrom Neutral Newbie January 4, 2011 Share January 4, 2011 hi to all. I've read numerous local reviews of this particular tyre brand and it seems to get good recommendations. For 8yrs till now, I worked at checkpoint and when permitted, i always go and see accident cars that are being towed from Malaysia. And for curiosity, i do asked the owner of the car what had happened. As for cases on tyre issues , they had mentioned to me that the tyre burst while driving and they lost control of the car resulting an accident. I checked on the tyres and its a high end tyre. I really hoped that the tyre company can use their hand and cook the tyre. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic January 4, 2011 Share January 4, 2011 (edited) U don't brake when cornering as u may throw the car off balance . The correct method is to enter into the corner with the correct entry speed and gear , and thereafter maintain throttle position . I often see pple braking unnecessarily when cornering . For auto tranny not easy. No clutch and engine brake to assist. You need to slow down slow enough before corner (which you will be high beamed and horned by impatient driver behind), gas a little just before corner and accelerate mid way through the corner. Just after the corner, whack hard! Braking and too much changes in throttle position upsets the car composure when banking round corners. Edited January 4, 2011 by Kangadrool ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...