Push starting a car???

Ken4555

Over crank will definitely spoil it...

spoil what? the starter motor? how ah.... :mellow:

[smallcry] poor starter motor....

1)push start only when battery is dead. Clutch in 2nd/3rd gear (First gear? you don pity the person pushing behind is it?) don release, On engine. Push and prepare to release clutch fast enough like you changing gear during normal driving and rev a litlle..not too much( Cos during this time vehicle might jerk badly depending how you execute the sequence)

2)This procedure is sooo Mr. Bean... Its ok...But its also dangerous....because all systems are not ready to go especially your airbags.

Have you check the battery Ken..?? Maybe its the spark plugs also...

hey bro... wei wei...

nothing wrong with my car i am push starting for fun lah... [:p]

btw if battery dead... as in really totally dead... i dont think the engine will start even if push start or jump start... jump start cables once off the car after starting it, engine will die...

by the way since we are on this topic... for all Sunny N16s... take note pls do not slam your boot shut or push the car frm behind with force on the chrome piece ends above the number plate... many sunnys have dented in the ends of the chrome piece, even though never had any accident at all... after months of guessing and investigating why in the world the chrome ends will sink in, this is the only explanation i can come to terms with.... [:)]

Actually, I ever encounter the steering wheel locking when I was pushing my previous car. What to do? I didn't see the point of starting my engine to move it into the proper parking lot which was just straight in front. :p

Well, first gear or second gear. I've tried mostly on first on previous few old rides... And it started. Second gear too strong for a tinny engine to turnover. Probably wrong technique? Well... I guess I'll leave it to a tried and proven method.

Join AAA, got free car start services FREE. Drive for two hours, the battery will be fully charged.

Or just go change a new battery for $100.

I think not easy to push start modern cars anymore!,

hey bro... wei wei...

nothing wrong with my car i am push starting for fun lah... [:p]

btw if battery dead... as in really totally dead... i dont think the engine will start even if push start or jump start... jump start cables once off the car after starting it, engine will die...

by the way since we are on this topic... for all Sunny N16s... take note pls do not slam your boot shut or push the car frm behind with force on the chrome piece ends above the number plate... many sunnys have dented in the ends of the chrome piece, even though never had any accident at all... after months of guessing and investigating why in the world the chrome ends will sink in, this is the only explanation i can come to terms with.... [:)]

i'm saying this cos my battery got died b4.

hahaha [laugh]:D

okok with all the posts here, let me make this clear... i CAN and KNOW how to push start my manual car... did it many times liao... so long batt is not completely dead, sure can push start if done correctly... though its easy, i have seen ppl who simply cant do it...

the 2 questions i had was

1) you guys use 1st or 2nd gear? for me i use 2ndgear... (anyways i have push start before a cb400... gsx400r... gsxr750... class 2 bikes is definately 2nd gear... 1st gear the tyre locks...)

2) wondering whats the damages to the car if push start so often...

thanks...

you mean died until push start also cannot ah? :huh:

battery died cannot start car so i push start the car la... then go buy new battery. but very very weird... stay in singapore, car battery die in HDB carpark... when need somebody to help push only 1 malaysian guy who passed by automatically help push without me calling out... :D ... maybe my area more foreigners or just weird neighbors...???

hahaha [laugh]:D

okok with all the posts here, let me make this clear... i CAN and KNOW how to push start my manual car... did it many times liao... so long batt is not completely dead, sure can push start if done correctly... though its easy, i have seen ppl who simply cant do it...

the 2 questions i had was

1) you guys use 1st or 2nd gear? for me i use 2ndgear... (anyways i have push start before a cb400... gsx400r... gsxr750... class 2 bikes is definately 2nd gear... 1st gear the tyre locks...)

2) wondering whats the damages to the car if push start so often...

thanks...

Like i say push start must engage gear 2 or 3 depend how fast the car is rolling as gear 1 too tight...

battery died cannot start car so i push start the car la... then go buy new battery. but very very weird... stay in singapore, car battery die in HDB carpark... when need somebody to help push only 1 malaysian guy who passed by automatically help push without me calling out... :D ... maybe my area more foreigners or just weird neighbors...???

ok bro i think i know where the misunderstanding is...

your case is car battery 'dying'..... so not enuf CCA to crank start the car... but still can drive if you push or jump start...

For a batt to literally 'die' or 'dead'.... means even if push start also cannot start... if you use jumper cables from another car can start but once you remove the cables the engine will stall...

this most likely happens when your car's alternator probably also abt to kaput....

cheers ^_^

your case is car battery 'dying'..... so not enuf CCA to crank start the car... but still can drive if you push or jump start...

For a batt to literally 'die' or 'dead'.... means even if push start also cannot start... if you use jumper cables from another car can start but once you remove the cables the engine will stall...

this most likely happens when your car's alternator probably also abt to kaput....

cheers ^_^

bro,

batt dead can still jumpstart with cable/ or push start, provided is manual car. auto transmission cannot push start, only can jump start.

if when you jumpstart and remove cable the engine die most of the time it got something to do with the alternator, you will see the batt symbol on the dashboard to show you that there is a charging problem

cheers ^_^

Yes the alternator is very important also... i check the alternator first before and after changing battery... cos if even after changing new battery your alternator not charging properly the battery will only last 2-3 weeks...

BTW what batteries you using...???

Yes the alternator is very important also... i check the alternator first before and after changing battery... cos if even after changing new battery your alternator not charging properly the battery will only last 2-3 weeks...

BTW what batteries you using...???

last 2 batts were amaron... one went to the scrap yard still strong... another one 2 and a half years old still strong i sent it in for early retirement... my batts all last long not because batt good but because i believe i have very good 'take care' of battery style... [:p]

1st i select a batt with abit higher CCA, AMPs...

*wiring and connecting parts must no rust all, i nicely polish...

*radio/cd never on when engine off...

*air con always off when cranking car...

*infact everything off when cranking car (except meters i dont hv an off switch)...

*anything aftermarket installed in the car (amplifiers, meters, third brake light, electric horns watever must have proper earthing...)

*NEVER lock the car n engine off and leave something on like headlights, even small lights as your tail-lights also on and some cars hv a buzzer sound... hazard lights also...

*some things plugged into the cig lighter plug will still consume electricity when engine is off. most modern cars will have the cig plug cut off when ignition is off but i hv seen some maufunction before. so best to plug out everything especially older cars.

*actually the wiring for the whole car if in poor condition especially for old cars, batt life will never be as good as a new car... also because new cars the alternator is stronger to charge the batt as compared to an older car...

*seriously turning the aircon to full blast once you crank the car sucks alot of electricity from the batt. so its better to warm up abit first before switching on the aircon... cause the first cranking sucks the most electricity from the batt..

anyways talk so much c--k suppose to tell you wat batt i am using now... haha

i wanted to get a vatra... but couldnt find the exact cca and amps as my amaron... so i got this brand that looks like yuasa or smthing, grey in colour... guy said made in thailand... quoted by wife $100. i didnt bargain. he said should be more but i just said your wife said $100... then he gave me 6months warranty... i told him AA got 18mths warranty or 12mths warranty... he just stared at me and ask me AA got $100 battery anot... i smile back n said i just kidding... anyways he said within this 6mths he will drive to wherever i am to jump start my car if the batt fails... i believe this is extremly kind of him and not to his advantage... what if i left my headlights on the whole night? anyways i said thanks... batt is wonderful so far till now its about a mth old... [laugh]

no nano paulser installed... just a purple pivot VS n grounding... batt guy said all these batt VS just in the mind... well for me i like the well being in my mind feeling... [:p]

am currently using Hankook... seemed ok...

wah you really love your car huh to polish things around engine... [thumbsup] . I really envy ppl like you with lots of time to sayang the car man...

my car... huh... [smallcry] I think if the car got feelings ah... i kena left already...

am currently using Hankook... seemed ok...

wah you really love your car huh to polish things around engine... [thumbsup] . I really envy ppl like you with lots of time to sayang the car man...

my car... huh... [smallcry] I think if the car got feelings ah... i kena left already...

u mean Hankook Batteries? never seen before... thought i've been to Hankook a few times... [laugh]

when i was riding 2B bikes, i had a full chrome LC125... then RXZ... haha... so i feel nostalgic everytime i polish anything... [laugh]

actually nowadays i'm getting closer to accept that a car is a car... so expensive in SG to own a car... but will still shower the occassional love on my car lah...

u mean Hankook Batteries? never seen before... thought i've been to Hankook a few times... [laugh]

when i was riding 2B bikes, i had a full chrome LC125... then RXZ... haha... so i feel nostalgic everytime i polish anything... [laugh]

actually nowadays i'm getting closer to accept that a car is a car... so expensive in SG to own a car... but will still shower the occassional love on my car lah...

LOL... go get a gal la... :wub: