Mr & Mrs Kayu...What do they usually drive?

Gambel32

Camry drivers usually the No 1 kayu. Never signal when changing lane, cannot stick to their lanes when turning, roadhogging expressways Lane 1.

Maybe they think their Camry is a Lexus.

Usually I siam far far from them

[bigcry] [bigcry] [bigcry]

my observations for kayu drivers are:

1) wear sari

- confirm super slow

2) auntie with curly hair, driving champagne/silver cars (regardless of brand, mostly merc)

- never signal, confirm eat into your lane when turning, honk at her she also don't know

3) young girl with long hair driving with p-plate

- 99% never switch on headlights at night, 30% switch on high beam

- on signal and don't dare to change lane

- when decided to change lane, didnt check blind spot and swerved back abruptly when the other person honked

4) skinny balding uncle wearing specs, should be in his 60's, 70's

- drive super slowly and sometimes straddling 2 lanes.

- cannot keep to own lane when negotiating bends and turns.

- gestured and cursed at you when you honk or high beam

- the above happens because he is talking/gesturing wildly to his partner while driving most of the time

sounds familiar?

agree with no. 3

nearly had a accident with a young 20s female, p plate. driving a blue fit/jazz. come out from filter lane straight cut into lane 2(got 4 lanes) when i was travelling at about 80. knn.. need to horn / jam brake still not enough. had to swerve to lane 1 just to avoid her. drive side by side for about 50m, stare at her. she keep on looking straight, never check mirror or look left and right.

Altis, Vios and Sunny + OPK + Champaign or Silver colour + Auntie = Probable Kayu Driver Spotted!

No hard feelings to the great drivers out there that are driving something similar that I mention but the combination usually triggers my honk to inspire their totally insecure driving that can be hazardous! They cut into your lane when they feel like it, They turn out from filter lane as they wish then drives very slowly in front of you, They love driving 30km/h below the speed limit and they usually love to drive on 2 lanes.... [bigcry] Any more encounters to add?

I believe most drivers would have their very own kayu radar...

Cheers!

Gambel32

what no hard feelings? many are already offended by your topic. i would give you a punch in the face if you ask me this face to face.

Wat the point of labelling other being a kayu driver?,we are all kayu drivers before we upgrade, upsize our car to bigger spec.

This is the world we are living in and we can accept it is part and parcel of life. Assuming one day you strike 2.2M and U go out & get your dream car of bentley or ferrari super car, you step on the accelerator and there it goes . . . your heart stop and U go wondering all those instruments . . going berserk. That is really kayu.

alfa is about driving passion, the driver got passion for sprinting and braking mah [laugh]

engine n brake is [thumbsup] [thumbsup]

Afla can cheong and brake, wait till the brake pad can kill U every 2-3 months, Alfa romeo has been well known for that.

Electrical problem is one, brake pad change is another.

I owned alfa twin spark, Gold leaf before :D

With all the above mention behaviour from sg driver, I started to drive slowly to avoid accident, those kuku I have seen alot.

The experience will be different depending on the area driven through. I drive often past Bukit Timah/Dunearn area, and my experience with 'kayu' drivers are usually tai-tai (auntie/lao chio) driving Beemer 5 series or 7 series, or worse RX300, or Cayenne (get out of the way!!!) [laugh]

Very dangerous! Favourite trick is to slow down to almost standstill in their lane (!), in order to filter to the next lane!!

Edited by Sosaria

Afla can cheong and brake, wait till the brake pad can kill U every 2-3 months, Alfa romeo has been well known for that.

Electrical problem is one, brake pad change is another.

I owned alfa twin spark, Gold leaf before :D

ehhh ... my alfa's brake pad still haven change after more then 1 year plus leh? I am still able to stop.

other alfa owners also dont change brake pad every 2 -3 months leh

wrong la these taitai aka soccer mom usually r housewifes & no self income one, only know how to swipe the card, somemore they dun get the good cars, usually just some lao pop kar like suv or mpv, only their men drive the real deal & go niteclubs to pickup younger chicks

Edited by John112

There are many kayu drivers on the roads. So much so that I don't even remember which makes/models they drive most often! My take is that for almost every make/model of car out there, surely got someone kayu driving it!

Actally we should be asking ourselves, which makes have NO kayu drivers! Think very very few... Even rare cars like Mitsuoka got kayu drivers, saw one hogging right lane before!

KAYU means wood , stands for inflexible like wood ...........

Many drivers were termed KAYU bcoz they were either inexperience , dreaming , or deliberate .......

There are many types of Kayus .......

Worst being the type of kayus who caused fellow road users a lot of inconvenience .......... , yet still think they have every right of the way ....

Some example :

i hv once been middle fingered by a LADY driver coming out of the " ENTER" only one way car park when i was about to make entry ...... i dunno whether to laugh or cry ... when she gave me that " universal sign " ......

i cld only console myself by thinking it was bcoz i was sauve looking guy .... sooooo she oggle at me lah ....

When approaching + cross junction while waiting to make right turns , some have often chosen to remain behind the white line despite dotted lines leading into the right ( with some exceptions like some + junctions) ..... while waiting for on coming traffic to clear to be able to make a right turn ......

dunno to classify them as kayu or ignorance .......

Lane hogging ...... going on the most outer lane at 65-70 km when max 90 km stretch .....

( dreaming , deliberate or plain kayu ? )

Failure to signal when necessary .......... deliberate or kayu ?

slowing down suddenly .... turning without signaling ........ deliberate , lazy or kayu ?

Kayu driver

Those driver that need to lean their body forward to their steering wheel (or seat pushed all the way to the front) and their eyes are stuck. Only know how to look forward.

They dont know how to use their side or rear view mirror

Reckless driver

Those driver who push their seat all the way behind. Just like driving DAYTONA

Kayu driver

Those driver that need to lean their body forward to their steering wheel (or seat pushed all the way to the front) and their eyes are stuck. Only know how to look forward.

They dont know how to use their side or rear view mirror

Reckless driver

Those driver who push their seat all the way behind. Just like driving DAYTONA

Actually those drivers who push their seat all the way infront also consider reckless lo. [:p]

Kayu Driver (Private Vehicle) : Any Beng with a Chio Bu in the Front Passenger seat(make of car doesn't matter) .

Kayu Driver (Public Transport): Bus Drivers who purposely drive so close to cyclists at the edge of the road when they pass them at high speed. [shakehead]