Blackwind Neutral Newbie December 30, 2010 Author Share December 30, 2010 Simple dishes: Fried Rice: You'll need: Cooked Rice (for 2 people), 2-3 eggs(beaten, i normally use 3), olive oil, chopped garlic, soy sauce, pepper, meat ingredients, shallots, spring onions(chopped). Eggs, add some pepepr and salt(just abit will do) and beat. First off, fry garlic in oil(don't need alot, just enough to prevent garlic from chao ta-medium heat) and add in to stir fry your meat ingredients eg, sliced sausages, crab meat, prawns, fish slices, etc... Take out ingredients and put on plate. Use existing oil + abit more to stir fry more garlic, don't let it chao ta, add rice and fry for about 2-3 mins to get the moisture out. Add soy sauce and pepper to taste. Fry another 1 to 2 mins. High heat. Lower the heat and flatten out the rice and pour in the beaten eggs. It should just nice cover the rice in the wok. After about 30s, start flipping and seperating the mixture to ensure an even cooking surface. Once most of the eggs on rice mix looks done, add in ingredients and mix. Adter another 30s remove and serve with shallots and spring onions. Difficulty: 3/10 (7.5/10 if you want every rice grain to be covered in egg) Sweet and sour fish and fried mince meatballs with apple sauce coming up soon. Y no one recommend fried wanton? My fav and super easy. Ingredients Wanton skin Minced pork Water chestnut Eggs Seperate egg yolk and egg white. Cut water chestnut to small pieces. Mix mince pork with egg yolk and water chestnut. Add pepper and some soy sauce. Use small spoon to scoop up the mixture and wrap with wanton skin, use the egg white to seal the edges and deep fry to golden brown. Optional ingredients are prawns. thnx for sharing... will definitely give them a try once i'm done with the others ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GLZT 6th Gear December 30, 2010 Share December 30, 2010 Y no one recommend fried wanton? My fav and super easy. Ingredients Wanton skin Minced pork Water chestnut Eggs Seperate egg yolk and egg white. Cut water chestnut to small pieces. Mix mince pork with egg yolk and water chestnut. Add pepper and some soy sauce. Use small spoon to scoop up the mixture and wrap with wanton skin, use the egg white to seal the edges and deep fry to golden brown. Optional ingredients are prawns. Wanton dunno must eat how many then can feel the 'full' satisfaction. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged December 30, 2010 Share December 30, 2010 Wanton dunno must eat how many then can feel the 'full' satisfaction. You be surprised Lor...... With soup and spagetti or rice.... Very fast full Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GLZT 6th Gear December 30, 2010 Share December 30, 2010 You be surprised Lor...... With soup and spagetti or rice.... Very fast full Haha. I meant the satisfaction mah. Sometimes I eat those 8-10 course dinner without rice/noodles I won't feel satisfied one. Maybe only me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Techaview Neutral Newbie December 30, 2010 Share December 30, 2010 i think i did not stir enough so those spaghetti at the bottom remained at the bottom and got burnt.... like maggie mee i guess try to spread the spaghetti like a fan shape after the water has boiled. You do not need to stir the spaghetti. Just let it boil to the correct softness of your choice.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabriel 1st Gear December 30, 2010 Share December 30, 2010 haha "cooking for myself" will not be right cos i don't intend to only cook for myself haha ..okok... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Superyandao 1st Gear December 30, 2010 Share December 30, 2010 Sorry, my instructions not clear enough. The meat should be close to done first then pour sauce. Otherwise sauce wasted, anyways yours looks like too little sauce. Usually for 1pax use up to about half the bottle. What I do is boil a small cup of water, then add some pasta sauce. As the sauce reduce, add in a little more water. The same concentration since you're only boiling away the water. Then throw in the done pasta and cook for a couple minutes. The flavour of the sauce goes into the pasta and is quite nice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic December 30, 2010 Share December 30, 2010 After he saw your thread title, he got all excited. He can give you some excellent recipe suggestions. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear December 30, 2010 Share December 30, 2010 with the influx of china ppl working in foodcourts i have finally given up on foodcourts. i am not going to waste time describing the 3 disgusting incidents which just took place at my foodcourt in a matter of minutes. im army trained... never whined abt sand in my canned food and i am not the type who is fussy abt food. i'm the type who will pick up the meat and eat it even if it falls on the table. my mom is forever travelling and is not always in spore to cook for us. anyway the important thing is im gonna start cooking myself. any tips for me? any easy recipes for beginners like me? i've seen youtube videos and recipe books..... but what i need are simple recipes where the ingredients are easily found in our markets.... preferably meat and vege recipes thnx a million! OMG I saw yr title n tot u planning to cut yr flesh n cook it yrself. Phew what a relief. Fr simple recipes u can start by open a can of sardines n cook wh some sliced ginger, chili n onions n eat wh rice, Stews r also a complete meal in a pot. I like to put a can of corned beef, potatoes, carrots, cabbage, onions, garlic n ginger n a small pc of cinnamon stick wh some black pepper corns in a boiling pot of water n boil on slow fr abt 30-50 mins n eat wh rice. Eggs can b cooked in so many ways n eaten wh bread n butter. Sunny side up/scrambled/omelet is good fr this. There r so many simple n complete meals u can try. Experiment fr a wider variety. Maybe even pick up a cook book on this type n hv some fun trying e recipes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear December 30, 2010 Share December 30, 2010 Oh, also: You're going to love the little supermarket at Ikea. The meat balls, especially. Best bloody balls I've ever had. Ya Ive been eating them a lot recently. Dont forget e pkg of meatballs, mushroom sauce n cranberries topping. Damm shiok wh rice r mash potatoes or pasta. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear December 30, 2010 Share December 30, 2010 Bro, if you lazy like me, just cook white rice and make a nice pot of soup to go with it. No need make 3dish 1 soup. Just the soup with healthy ingredients enough liao. Can go buy those soup cookbook, everyday make different soup. Even just make a pot of cambells cream of mushroom/chicken soup n add some cooked rice till its thick n just eat like that. Add some pepper n butter if u like. Yum yum. Or just eat e soup wh crusty french bread dipped in e hot soup. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear December 30, 2010 Share December 30, 2010 ok noted When u boil e spaghetti, always add some salt n cooking oil to e water b4 u drop e spaghetti in. N keep stirring so it cooks evenly. Take out when its still a littlr firm n dunk it in cold tap water to stop it from cooking further n drain fully. U can put e balance in e fridge to keep fr tmw's meals. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged December 31, 2010 Share December 31, 2010 Go supermarket get Barilla brand spagetti sauce, choose yr desired favor. But some spaghetti, cook the spaghetti. Pour the Barilla over a saucepan, add desired amount of minced meat, sausages, ham or whatever you like, cook it with the sauce. Put the spaghetti into a plate, pour the concocted sauce with meat over. Voil Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged December 31, 2010 Share December 31, 2010 For a start I thought somebody want to commit suicide by cooking himself Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hwt Neutral Newbie December 31, 2010 Share December 31, 2010 (edited) One of the ways is to attend a cooking lesson that lasts for a few hours (somehow I have not met any Singaporean in my cooking classes). If that is a hassle, then just visit this site for some videos: http://www.thaifoodtonight.com/thaifoodtonight/recipes.htm Edited December 31, 2010 by Hwt Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackwind Neutral Newbie December 31, 2010 Author Share December 31, 2010 what's inside the pic? Chewbacca Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackwind Neutral Newbie December 31, 2010 Author Share December 31, 2010 One of the ways is to attend a cooking lesson that lasts for a few hours (somehow I have not met any Singaporean in my cooking classes). If that is a hassle, then just visit this site for some videos: http://www.thaifoodtonight.com/thaifoodtonight/recipes.htm Thai Basil Chicken Fried Rice looks gd and relative easy to make... i think Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackwind Neutral Newbie December 31, 2010 Author Share December 31, 2010 Even just make a pot of cambells cream of mushroom/chicken soup n add some cooked rice till its thick n just eat like that. Add some pepper n butter if u like. Yum yum. Or just eat e soup wh crusty french bread dipped in e hot soup. sounds good ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...