Jamesc Hypersonic December 31, 2010 Share December 31, 2010 Actually I read somewhere Air con wrapping will trapped the condense water, and this may corrode the piping.. How serious or true is that? I don't know. Water is condensated when the heat from the engine reaches the cold pipe. The insulation insulates the heat from reaching the pipe and this helps prevent condensation in the first place. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forte3737 5th Gear January 1, 2011 Share January 1, 2011 it does not work at all. so dun spend those $$ and waste time. those who have wrapped and tell you its colder now, its just psychological effect at work Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stanchiam 1st Gear January 1, 2011 Author Share January 1, 2011 (edited) it does not work at all. so dun spend those $$ and waste time. those who have wrapped and tell you its colder now, its just psychological effect at work oh well, be in psychological or real, as long as my wife asked me the question "do u go and service the aircon? how come it get colder faster now?" For me that is enough. Maybe its psychological but doesnt matter as long i feel it get colder faster and maintain the coldness for a while after i turn it off. No harm wrapping it, its like a condom protecting it from engine heat...lol $2 and 15mins I can affort to waste.... Edited January 1, 2011 by Stanchiam Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged January 1, 2011 Share January 1, 2011 (edited) why do u need to wrap w alum foil? any extra effect? i thot rmaflex wrap enuf? contemplating of doin it too. whr to get armaflex? alum foil should be those normal foil fr supermarket used to wrap turkey / poultry for bakin rite? thx. Edited January 1, 2011 by Fuelsaver Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stanchiam 1st Gear January 1, 2011 Author Share January 1, 2011 (edited) why do u need to wrap w alum foil? any extra effect? i thot rmaflex wrap enuf? contemplating of doin it too. whr to get armaflex? alum foil should be those normal foil fr supermarket used to wrap turkey / poultry for bakin rite? thx. aircon material shop should have and just note that it cost about $2 only for 2m, dont get carrot head chop alum foil is optional Yes, but for foil i chose heavy duty type, 25sqft is normal while 37sqft is heavy duty, slightly thicker. Well, the foil is used to protect the wrap from getting wet and also, it will reflect some heat away. Thats science, remember to let the shiny surface face outside and the dull surface inside. Just imagine putting a potato and bake it directly on charcoal versus wrapping it with alum foil, u will see the differences in the potato Edited January 1, 2011 by Stanchiam Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged January 6, 2011 Share January 6, 2011 for me, I wrap all, just make sure the tube is aircon tube if u want to do such DIY, make sure you wrap the correct pipe... 1 pipe is supply, another one is return. start your car, turn on the aircon to max, 5 mins later. touch each pipe. you should wrap only the pipe that is cool. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged January 6, 2011 Share January 6, 2011 Yes it does nothing to coldness, as that is control by knobs or button setting for temperature or thermostat. What the insulating tube does is reduces heat loss during coolant transmission. Basically you want more of heat exchange to occur at the coil where the wind blows into the cabin, rather than loose some heat at the engine bay. This should translate to the lesser energy used to achieve the same cooling load. bro, not reduce heat loss lah, should be reduce "cool loss" , the pipe transmitting the gas to the coil is cool, if exposed to the engine bay temp, it will absorb more heat and the compressor have to work harder to achieve the temp set by the termostate...... by wrapping the pipe,lesser heat will be absorb... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stanchiam 1st Gear January 6, 2011 Author Share January 6, 2011 bro, not reduce heat loss lah, should be reduce "cool loss" , the pipe transmitting the gas to the coil is cool, if exposed to the engine bay temp, it will absorb more heat and the compressor have to work harder to achieve the temp set by the termostate...... by wrapping the pipe,lesser heat will be absorb... excellent explanation, no wonder feel the coldness last longer after i turn off so.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MG_Myvi 1st Gear January 6, 2011 Share January 6, 2011 Actually I read somewhere Air con wrapping will trapped the condense water, and this may corrode the piping.. How serious or true is that? I don't know. This is serious and true. It just a matter of time. This will even happen to home aircon insulation (Indoor). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coder Clutched January 6, 2011 Share January 6, 2011 bro, not reduce heat loss lah, should be reduce "cool loss" , the pipe transmitting the gas to the coil is cool, if exposed to the engine bay temp, it will absorb more heat and the compressor have to work harder to achieve the temp set by the termostate...... by wrapping the pipe,lesser heat will be absorb... FYI, the cool pipe is going back to compressor. the hot one is going to coil (cabin). hot one is after compress and cool into liquid, heat released. cool one is vaporised and very cool, sub zero already. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged January 6, 2011 Share January 6, 2011 FYI, the cool pipe is going back to compressor. the hot one is going to coil (cabin). hot one is after compress and cool into liquid, heat released. cool one is vaporised and very cool, sub zero already. really?? but the way u describe sound like how a heater work lrh... hot one go to the coil (cabin), then heat up the coil, blower blow thru the hot coil, hot air comes out? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
QQDreamer 4th Gear June 18, 2013 Share June 18, 2013 dig up an old thread. anyone can advice where to get this aricon insulation? thinking for DIY my piping also leh.. especially now the weather so hot. Wrapping will help anot? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 18, 2013 Share June 18, 2013 dig up an old thread. anyone can advice where to get this aricon insulation? thinking for DIY my piping also leh.. especially now the weather so hot. Wrapping will help anot? OK Just to put in my 2cents worth here. I did consider doing e ac pipe wrap cos it makes sense to me. B4 I diy....I consult Ah Huat of Markcool...the ac specialist. His advice is dont do it. Seems the pipe wil hv condensation n the water wil accumulate under the wrap on the pipe n might cause some corrosion problems so I scrap the idea. Maybe thats why all cars dun come from e factory wh the cold pipe already wrapped in insulation foam. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forte3737 5th Gear June 18, 2013 Share June 18, 2013 OK Just to put in my 2cents worth here. I did consider doing e ac pipe wrap cos it makes sense to me. B4 I diy....I consult Ah Huat of Markcool...the ac specialist. His advice is dont do it. Seems the pipe wil hv condensation n the water wil accumulate under the wrap on the pipe n might cause some corrosion problems so I scrap the idea. Maybe thats why all cars dun come from e factory wh the cold pipe already wrapped in insulation foam. yep. car mfg would have done it in the factory if it works at all Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 18, 2013 Share June 18, 2013 yep. car mfg would have done it in the factory if it works at all Thats why I checked wh someone who sud know n he said dun do so I listen to him lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
QQDreamer 4th Gear June 18, 2013 Share June 18, 2013 i thought the pipings are alunmium type? will also get corroded? if its steel probably i will say it will corrode over time due to condensation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic June 19, 2013 Share June 19, 2013 OK Just to put in my 2cents worth here. I did consider doing e ac pipe wrap cos it makes sense to me. B4 I diy....I consult Ah Huat of Markcool...the ac specialist. His advice is dont do it. Seems the pipe wil hv condensation n the water wil accumulate under the wrap on the pipe n might cause some corrosion problems so I scrap the idea. Maybe thats why all cars dun come from e factory wh the cold pipe already wrapped in insulation foam. My getz a/c pipe has factory insulation in certain area. Exposed pipe is usually aluminium, they don't corrode that easily unlike sheet metal. Flexible pipe is some form of rubber. My vw van has more factory "insulation", but it's probably also to prevent rubbing against other pipes/parts and making holes. Should we wrap and try to keep the "cool" gaseous coolant colder and longer before it hits the compressor ? It's quite debatable. Fact is, compressor can't compress liquid, it can only compress gas. Perhaps the effort should be made on keeping the front a/c radiator clean and cooling more efficiently, rather than focus on the wraps. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 19, 2013 Share June 19, 2013 i thought the pipings are alunmium type? will also get corroded? if its steel probably i will say it will corrode over time due to condensation. All metals wil corrode/oxerdise over time. Even stainless steel. Only difference is how long. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...