Atonchia Supersonic January 2, 2011 Share January 2, 2011 Mercy-mercy. Do practice in proper circuit such techniques. Likely we mistaken you for drunken/handphone driving instead That's why I practise it only when I'm slightly tipsy. No lah, just spouting nonsense. But should only practice it on track, not so nice if mount kerb or hit tree. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XALmoN Neutral Newbie January 2, 2011 Share January 2, 2011 c a r p a r k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bicolor 5th Gear January 2, 2011 Share January 2, 2011 That's why I practise it only when I'm slightly tipsy. No lah, just spouting nonsense. But should only practice it on track, not so nice if mount kerb or hit tree. Such techniques carry little risk if practiced at normal road speeds. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic January 2, 2011 Share January 2, 2011 You can do it very quickly with practice. I believe almost anyone who has been regularly driving a manual vehicle can learn to rev-match, it just takes time and lots of practice. If I'm not wrong, engine braking by dropping gear can wear out the clutch and the synchronizers and not good for the gearbox in the long run, especially if dropping more than one gear at a time, unless you brake first to a suitable speed before the downshift. But the time my clutch is released, the RPM drop to the same level before the throttle blip Coordination issues here. If I remember correctly, one reason given for this technique is to have control over the car by shortening the timing of the car free wheeling during any corners. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic January 2, 2011 Share January 2, 2011 i sense conflict yo. Nah, no conflict. Just get a little irritated by throwaway put-downs from Picanto-clones. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear January 2, 2011 Share January 2, 2011 [you]You got the point. You are right.[/you] X 100000 Hey at least I'm in no danger of anyone mistaking me for a retard. Not everyone can share the same opinion all the time (even parents quarrel with their children). Ever encountered objections against benefits (laugh) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear January 2, 2011 Share January 2, 2011 c a r p a r k Multi-storey carparks: no trees, hardly any kerb, but many columns/pillars? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XALmoN Neutral Newbie January 2, 2011 Share January 2, 2011 Multi-storey carparks: no trees, hardly any kerb, but many columns/pillars? you need to travel around singapore more, there are many heavy veh parks which are practically empty at night. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phluvcat 6th Gear January 2, 2011 Author Share January 2, 2011 you need to travel around singapore more, there are many heavy veh parks which are practically empty at night. dun crash into the empty trailer...next time the park got headless spirit Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear January 2, 2011 Share January 2, 2011 you need to travel around singapore more, there are many heavy veh parks which are practically empty at night. Loose debris, oil leaks/spillage, too? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XALmoN Neutral Newbie January 2, 2011 Share January 2, 2011 Lol, that said, i learnt everything i know on a track, so i'm not one to talk aye? I did a handbrake turn in a parade square once, which, i wont say. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear January 2, 2011 Share January 2, 2011 dun crash into the empty trailer...next time the park got headless spirit I almost did that during NS, driving Landrover (there was this 10-tonner left in non-designated place around a blind turn). So lucky, I served away instead of applying brakes (too short a braking distance for Landrover with off-road tire) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear January 2, 2011 Share January 2, 2011 Lol, that said, i learnt everything i know on a track, so i'm not one to talk aye? I did a handbrake turn in a parade square once, which, i wont say. Not all tire can survive many handbrake turns for long. Suspect to had replaced two tire on previous Accent due to carcass damaged by such practice (no more such practice). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XALmoN Neutral Newbie January 2, 2011 Share January 2, 2011 of course when changing tire then do.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phluvcat 6th Gear January 2, 2011 Author Share January 2, 2011 before the 9/11 incident, can go jurong island test vehicle...hand brake turn, top speed, etc. my friend tried those, I just execute 0-100s sprint. now buay sai liao... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic January 2, 2011 Share January 2, 2011 Lol, that said, i learnt everything i know on a track, so i'm not one to talk aye? I did a handbrake turn in a parade square once, which, i wont say. I guess, along portsdown road? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XALmoN Neutral Newbie January 2, 2011 Share January 2, 2011 carpark or parade square? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jchuacl Clutched January 2, 2011 Share January 2, 2011 I have been dropping regularly from 6 to 4, no problems so far after 132k of mileage . The only danger is mis shifting of gears where engine could be damaged . You can do it very quickly with practice. I believe almost anyone who has been regularly driving a manual vehicle can learn to rev-match, it just takes time and lots of practice. If I'm not wrong, engine braking by dropping gear can wear out the clutch and the synchronizers and not good for the gearbox in the long run, especially if dropping more than one gear at a time, unless you brake first to a suitable speed before the downshift. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...