Bicolor 5th Gear January 1, 2011 Share January 1, 2011 There are many factors involved, so I shall simplfy as follows:- I assume the road if flat, straight and free of obstructions After starting the car, I would check if it is clear to drive off If clear, Signal to drive off Engage 1st gear, step a little on the accelerator, gradually release the clutch, apply more pressure onto the accelerator if needed Step on the clutch pedal, engage 2nd gear, gradually release the clutch, and apply pressure onto the accelerato Repeat for 3rd gears, 4th gears, 5th gears Do not that my car got lower kerb weight, so this procedure dones no harm to the engine, and is smooth like automatic gear This is not rev-matching; what you are describing here is just the basic upshifting technique. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weiming 1st Gear January 1, 2011 Share January 1, 2011 There is no need for double de-clutching in modern cars. That's what the syncros are for. Rev-matching is useful when downshifting from higher to lower gears. Idea is to blip the throttle and then downshift. Heel-and-toe is rev-matching together with braking simultaneously to slow the vehicle down using the brake system together with engine brake. This website has lots of info on technique and terms used: StandardShift.com Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged January 1, 2011 Share January 1, 2011 to execute a clean heel toe easily, the rev must be reasonably high to begin with. try them on a track and you get what i mean. it will be way easier to do it than on public road where your speed would have to be reasonably fast at that high rpm. Doesnt have to be on the track or at high rpms. Just need to get used to it. Now I am able to rev match from 2nd to 1st smootly at slow speeds cuz have to go over humps alot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nightsky 1st Gear January 1, 2011 Share January 1, 2011 (edited) There is no need for double de-clutching in modern cars. That's what the syncros are for. Rev-matching is useful when downshifting from higher to lower gears. Idea is to blip the throttle and then downshift. Heel-and-toe is rev-matching together with braking simultaneously to slow the vehicle down using the brake system together with engine brake. This website has lots of info on technique and terms used: StandardShift.com Heel and Toe is not used as an engine braking technique. Edited January 1, 2011 by Nightsky Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bicolor 5th Gear January 1, 2011 Share January 1, 2011 Heel and Toe is not used as an engine braking technique. Typically not, especially not at high speeds on the track. But I do find it quite useful for braking and losing speed quickly and smoothly when approaching roundabouts or traffic lights at normal road speeds. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Creative_tec 2nd Gear January 1, 2011 Share January 1, 2011 on normal street driving, doing toe heel double de-clutch is good for both the engine and gearbox, although the FC will be slightly higher due to bleeding of RPM. when i first started learning this, i do it with my lancer GLX. i tried with normal toe heel first whenever i am slowing down towards redlight. from 5th to 4th to 3th to 2nd gear. then i try to do faster without jerking till i reach the stage where it become part of driving. afterwhich, i changed to rex. believe most rex owners knows that rex gb is really a freaking bitch. either gb gone or sychro gone very easily. i then practice double de-clutch toe heel and it certainly helps to prolong the life of the gb. when i first got my rex, the sychro for 1st, 2nd and 5th got problem. when i sell the car, all the sychro seems back to normal. i believe its due to the double de-clutch toe heel. good luck in learning. its good. try to do double de-clutch toe heel from 5th to 2nd gear in less than 3 secs =) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic January 1, 2011 Share January 1, 2011 I can never able to tap the acclerator fast enough leh. Normally I will enter a turn with the from 5th to 3rd gear during braking and commence the turn with 3rd gear. So I can only do normal driving. I do quite a lot of engine brake, sometimes without pedal brake, not sure if gear box and engine can take it or not. I try to wear all parts evenly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bicolor 5th Gear January 1, 2011 Share January 1, 2011 (edited) I can never able to tap the acclerator fast enough leh. Normally I will enter a turn with the from 5th to 3rd gear during braking and commence the turn with 3rd gear. So I can only do normal driving. I do quite a lot of engine brake, sometimes without pedal brake, not sure if gear box and engine can take it or not. I try to wear all parts evenly. You can do it very quickly with practice. I believe almost anyone who has been regularly driving a manual vehicle can learn to rev-match, it just takes time and lots of practice. If I'm not wrong, engine braking by dropping gear can wear out the clutch and the synchronizers and not good for the gearbox in the long run, especially if dropping more than one gear at a time, unless you brake first to a suitable speed before the downshift. Edited January 1, 2011 by Bicolor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sky_vinz Clutched January 1, 2011 Share January 1, 2011 Did attempted a couple of times before, with no success. It certainly needs quite a lot of practising.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear January 1, 2011 Share January 1, 2011 Same here. I perfected my technique in my bugeye WRX. Then when I sold it and bought a manual Kia Rio, I treated that as a beater. I used that car to practice clutchless shifting. Upshifts weren't an issue (just had to time it right), but downshifts had to be precise within +/- 200 revs max (even lower tolerance in the lower gears), otherwise, the gears would grind horribly. Got to the point where I could undertake entire journeys without the clutch, except when for the shift to first at lights. Lots of advanced techniques can (and should) be honed on the street before driving on the track in anger. But one has to be careful - I remember the first time I tried left foot braking on the street. I simply did not expect to make an unintended e-brake, and I was lucky not to get rear-ended (in hindsight, I was foolish to have attempted that in traffic, but I underestimated the importance of muscle memory). Mercy-mercy. Do practice in proper circuit such techniques. Likely we mistaken you for drunken/handphone driving instead Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear January 1, 2011 Share January 1, 2011 Hello people have been talking about how rev matching brings you a smoother ride and minimise stress to the engine. Correct me if I got the terms wrong...two methods are widely use - double de-clutching and heel-and-toe. So I curious once in a blue moon will try try a bit. Till date, maybe due to my pedal arrangement, I find it difficult to do heel and toe. Or I do not have the flexibility of a ballerina. And every time when I am in the mood to try, after several attempts, in addition to not getting anything right, I appear to temporarily forget even my normal pedal movements, i.e. I felt like a newbie. And I will like take a few seconds before I feel like myself again. Lately tried double de-clutching, way easier but find it too troublesome on Singapore roads, when I am making so many gear changes. In the end, I just drive as per normal. As long as when I down shift at the appropriate speed and gradually release the clutch no noticeable jerk can liao. So my question is - the above is also a form of rev matching right? Just that its prob not suitable for tracking. Anyway the engine is designed to take reasonable stress. Another questions that pops up - every time blip throttle when executing the 1st two method, in theory will up the fc right? Regards. Practised it on the first day I took delivery of my first car. A Mini Clubman with faulty handbrake sold to me. Realised the handbrake could not hold the car on the first ramp encountered, and there were cars behind mine (laugh) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XALmoN Neutral Newbie January 2, 2011 Share January 2, 2011 I used that car to practice clutchless shifting. Upshifts weren't an issue (just had to time it right), but downshifts had to be precise within +/- 200 revs max (even lower tolerance in the lower gears), otherwise, the gears would grind horribly. Got to the point where I could undertake entire journeys without the clutch, except when for the shift to first at lights. There was a period of time when my master cylinder, slave cylinder and vacuum booster all died at the same time, and thus, i had no pressure in the clutch hydro system at all. I had to shift without the clutch. It was fun but, i now really really appreciate my clutch now, even though its a heavy sob. Don't ever want to do that again, i'm surprised someone actually did that on purpose.. Interesting. And as for people concerned about increased FC on blipping the throttle, it makes bugger all difference actually. Because as you blip the throttle, the engine is unloaded and just spins freely, fuel use is negligible, and then when you re-engage the gear, the car drives the engine instead. You burn more fuel idling to a stop than in gear, if you're concerned. And if you're still skeptical, my fuel consumption with double clutching and just regular downshifting is exactly the same, half tank every week. No atas fuel consumption monitoring on a 21 year old car, and definitely not on a sports car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XALmoN Neutral Newbie January 2, 2011 Share January 2, 2011 If I'm not wrong, engine braking by dropping gear can wear out the clutch and the synchronizers and not good for the gearbox in the long run, especially if dropping more than one gear at a time, unless you brake first to a suitable speed before the downshift. The synchros only work when a shift is being done, so yeah. Thats why we blip the throttle, to increase revs in line with the current speed and the gear to be selected. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phluvcat 6th Gear January 2, 2011 Author Share January 2, 2011 later I am going to observe my rpm "surge" when I down shift. if I can keep it within 300 rpm I guess I will stick to normal shifting. only try the double de-clutching when I have ample space and time to do so. frankly at higher gears like 4th and 5th, I will dump the clutch whether I am up or down shifting anyway. I am sort of very familiar of the rpm to cross over the gears so that it is smooth even if I clutch out quickly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phluvcat 6th Gear January 2, 2011 Author Share January 2, 2011 hmmm...just now fetch my son, wife, mom-in-law, grandma-in-law, pa and ma go view house and makan a bit. quite a heavy load. clutch in rpm drop is about 500 to 800 rpm and re-engaging the gear the rpm increase typically 500 rpm from the rpm value where I clutch in. total rpm movement range using conventional gear change method is about 1000++ rpm. should try again when only me alone or with wifey...car too heavy liao. for now I will just stick to conventional and double de-clutching good enough...hnt is not for me but great info from this thread including the eye-opening "clutchless shifting" ...wah sibeh hiong man... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phluvcat 6th Gear January 2, 2011 Author Share January 2, 2011 There is no need for double de-clutching in modern cars. That's what the syncros are for. Rev-matching is useful when downshifting from higher to lower gears. Idea is to blip the throttle and then downshift. Heel-and-toe is rev-matching together with braking simultaneously to slow the vehicle down using the brake system together with engine brake. This website has lots of info on technique and terms used: StandardShift.com looks interesting, will go read it up...thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic January 2, 2011 Share January 2, 2011 (edited) Mercy-mercy. Do practice in proper circuit such techniques. Likely we mistaken you for drunken/handphone driving instead [you]You got the point. You are right.[/you] X 100000 Hey at least I'm in no danger of anyone mistaking me for a retard. Edited January 2, 2011 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XALmoN Neutral Newbie January 2, 2011 Share January 2, 2011 [you]You got the point. You are right.[/you] X 100000 Hey at least I'm in no danger of anyone mistaking me for a retard. i sense conflict yo. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...