Crystal_tiong 1st Gear January 3, 2011 Share January 3, 2011 Hi guys Can any PRs or malaysians please advise ? No Maybank please , is public banks good , reliable and stable? I want to start to have a savings account. Thanks in advance. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic January 3, 2011 Share January 3, 2011 There are so many banks there - bumi banks, non-bumi banks and overseas bank. JB also got OCBC. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crystal_tiong 1st Gear January 3, 2011 Author Share January 3, 2011 Precisely , there are many banks thats why I need advise which one is gd. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Se17g Clutched January 3, 2011 Share January 3, 2011 Me always go Malaysia, then using singapore ATM cards to withdraw when cash on hand not enough, I also thinking of opening an account in Malaysia, would like some recommend also. And how to open in Malaysia.? I heard foreigners open in Malaysia need to interview youo ask this and that...ask why you open account in Malaysia....is it true???? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic January 3, 2011 Share January 3, 2011 Suppork Singapore bank lor - OCBC. Conveniently located also. But, dunno whether they will "freeze" your account after 1 year of inactivity (like OCBC Singapore). You need to deposit $1 or withdraw $1 to activate again. LOL. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged January 3, 2011 Share January 3, 2011 I saw this CIMB advert in JB. No charge for withdrawal of cash. Dont know if this applies to Singapore card. If yes how they earn, should have hidden cost Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic January 3, 2011 Share January 3, 2011 BTW, are you attracted my their savings interest rates? That's why thinking of opening an account there??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Se17g Clutched January 3, 2011 Share January 3, 2011 No lar....those interest rates are for those large amount of savings in the account....I where got so rich? If i so rich, do you think i bother to open an account there...anywhere also can liao lor.... The reason why i wana open an account there is because i often go Malaysia for work lar, holiday lar, pump petrol all these....thats why....I thought like that is easier for me and convient too, better than i always go in, not enough cash, withdraw using my singapore atm card (Will be charge) somemore very troublesome...go in change RM all these... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator January 3, 2011 Share January 3, 2011 I heard Maybank has the most branches & ATM in Malaysia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic January 3, 2011 Share January 3, 2011 (edited) Good and Bad is quite subjective. But, if one is a foreigner and cannot converse well in Bahasa, rough rule of thumb is to steer clear of those bumi bumi banks. Better to stick to banks like Hong Leong, OCBC, or the "more outward looking" banks like Maybank, CIMB. One more thing, most banks charge account holders GIRO fee for GIRO payments. Q can be long also as most are still transacting over the counters. But security is tip top. Got guards armed with shotgun even after office hours at ATM machines. LOL. [laugh] Edited January 3, 2011 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Estrangable 5th Gear January 3, 2011 Share January 3, 2011 Hi guys Can any PRs or malaysians please advise ? No Maybank please , is public banks good , reliable and stable? I want to start to have a savings account. Thanks in advance. if you are looking for the most convienent bank with atms ... then maybank definitely. in terms of reliablity and stability.....maybank is the largest in boleh land Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamtaroo Neutral Newbie January 3, 2011 Share January 3, 2011 singaporean can open bank accounts at malaysia meh ? need a residence status visa like mm2h correct ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear January 3, 2011 Share January 3, 2011 AFAIK, Singaporean can't anyhow open a bank account unless you have a form of identification showing that you are residing in Msia. Anyway, as you know, this rule can be bent if you know the right person or if you have large amount of money... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Funny88 Clutched January 3, 2011 Share January 3, 2011 Hi guys Can any PRs or malaysians please advise ? No Maybank please , is public banks good , reliable and stable? I want to start to have a savings account. Thanks in advance. Frankly speaking, MayBank is the most popular there. I opened a savings account there, minimum deposit is RM1000, just bring along your passport and NRIC, they will give you a Debit card which serve as an ATM card as well. You can apply for online banking as well. You can go to the one near Pelangi, not so crowded. Service not bad. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear January 3, 2011 Share January 3, 2011 Frankly speaking, MayBank is the most popular there. I opened a savings account there, minimum deposit is RM1000, just bring along your passport and NRIC, they will give you a Debit card which serve as an ATM card as well. You can apply for online banking as well. You can go to the one near Pelangi, not so crowded. Service not bad. Hmmm... Singaporean does able to open an account huh... That's news to me... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic January 3, 2011 Share January 3, 2011 Maybe he's a Malaysian. SG PR. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ultramega 1st Gear January 3, 2011 Share January 3, 2011 Hi guys Can any PRs or malaysians please advise ? No Maybank please , is public banks good , reliable and stable? I want to start to have a savings account. Thanks in advance. What's wrong with Maybank? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Funny88 Clutched January 3, 2011 Share January 3, 2011 Hmmm... Singaporean does able to open an account huh... That's news to me... Yes, I am a 100% Singaporean, for foreigners, minimum deposit is RM1000, just bring IC and passport and the RM1000. I think for Malaysian, their minimum deposit is only RM10 depends on account type. You get a debit card as well. SO it is good especially for people who travels to Malaysia very often like me. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...