Enforcer533 Neutral Newbie January 19, 2011 Share January 19, 2011 Hi guys wat is the maximum mod u can do to a NA car ? beside putting aftermarket intake , exhaust and Chipping it is there other thin i can do to maximize the performance ??? (Turbo is risky =p ) Thanks =) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aimnfire 4th Gear January 19, 2011 Share January 19, 2011 Hi guys wat is the maximum mod u can do to a NA car ? beside putting aftermarket intake , exhaust and Chipping it is there other thin i can do to maximize the performance ??? (Turbo is risky =p ) Thanks =) sell that car and get a performance car save you the headache Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gt2929 1st Gear January 19, 2011 Share January 19, 2011 Yes...lup bigger engine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enforcer533 Neutral Newbie January 19, 2011 Author Share January 19, 2011 lol i just got the car 6 mth back. As this is my 1st car i would like to learn more on modding. Coz i am nt trying to eat any evo or rexs is just for the pleasure of driving and trying out wat each mod can do =) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasles6912 Clutched January 19, 2011 Share January 19, 2011 Your car is new so dont mod first if not warranty is void.... And if you do start modding...it will be endless...besides after market intake, chipping, and exhuast, you need to improve on your braking system etc.. etc ..etc... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enforcer533 Neutral Newbie January 19, 2011 Author Share January 19, 2011 but i already did some light mod such as. Closepod, semi flow muffler and a VS it improve my pick up alot but right nw i am like stuck. donno wat to do nxt. coz i treat this as my hobby =) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lanevomax 1st Gear January 19, 2011 Share January 19, 2011 (edited) Hi guys wat is the maximum mod u can do to a NA car ? beside putting aftermarket intake , exhaust and Chipping it is there other thin i can do to maximize the performance ??? (Turbo is risky =p ) Thanks =) maximize the car performance , wear and tear much more faster. end of the day maintenance is high too. i ever know one guy mod his lancer almost near to evo (without the turbo) spending 30-40k of moddications. fuel consumption is about 6-8km per litre , full tank only achieve 300km++ end of the day , he dekit the moddication and sell the car, sell the mod parts and then go buy an evo. morale of the story, want fast car? , buy performance stock car better and mod necessary parts. - no need to scare LTA vehicle / inspection. - accident bang liao , still can claim back instead of not cover by insurance etc. - mod car confirm is not economical to drive due to high FC. - car is difficult to drive when low rev. just my simple comments Edited January 19, 2011 by Lanevomax Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enforcer533 Neutral Newbie January 19, 2011 Author Share January 19, 2011 maximize the car performance , wear and tear much more faster. end of the day maintenance is high too. i ever know one guy mod his lancer almost near to evo (without the turbo) spending 30-40k of moddications. fuel consumption is about 6-8km per litre , full tank only achieve 300km++ end of the day , he dekit the moddication and sell the car, sell the mod parts and then go buy an evo. morale of the story, want fast car? , buy performance stock car better and mod necessary parts. - no need to scare LTA vehicle / inspection. - accident bang liao , still can claim back instead of not cover by insurance etc. - mod car confirm is not economical to drive due to high FC. - car is difficult to drive when low rev. just my simple comments Hi bro thanks for your sharing. But of coz i wont spend so much like 30-40K right nw only the exo is not legal. Still waiting for a legal 1 for my ride. Btw will changing mid pipe affect the Cat ? And for the 4-2-1 is it universal for other cars ? Coz i thinking of doing up the hardware before goin for Chip. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear January 19, 2011 Share January 19, 2011 Hi guys wat is the maximum mod u can do to a NA car ? beside putting aftermarket intake , exhaust and Chipping it is there other thin i can do to maximize the performance ??? (Turbo is risky =p ) Thanks =) Honestly, it is the process of modding....Hope you enjoy it....Been there, done that and now back to stock. Not to mention I spent some money (not too much) along the way.... But I enjoyed mine thoroughly. Do remember to factor in the safety issue when you look toward improving the performance of your ride. Get good rubbers and grippy brakes...... And......don't take the public roads like some race tracks after inclusion of some of your mods....Do it in the tracks or proper circuit..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enforcer533 Neutral Newbie January 19, 2011 Author Share January 19, 2011 Honestly, it is the process of modding....Hope you enjoy it....Been there, done that and now back to stock. Not to mention I spent some money (not too much) along the way.... But I enjoyed mine thoroughly. Do remember to factor in the safety issue when you look toward improving the performance of your ride. Get good rubbers and grippy brakes...... And......don't take the public roads like some race tracks after inclusion of some of your mods....Do it in the tracks or proper circuit..... Thanks for the tip bro. Nope i am a safe drive don do stunts on public road. normally test speed will do it in Boleh land =) sg too risky no worth the risk. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lanevomax 1st Gear January 19, 2011 Share January 19, 2011 Hi bro thanks for your sharing. But of coz i wont spend so much like 30-40K right nw only the exo is not legal. Still waiting for a legal 1 for my ride. Btw will changing mid pipe affect the Cat ? And for the 4-2-1 is it universal for other cars ? Coz i thinking of doing up the hardware before goin for Chip. every major hardware you change , you had to tune the ECU again plus go for LTA inspection for cert othewise consider illegal mod. it not so easy , bro. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear January 19, 2011 Share January 19, 2011 Hi guys wat is the maximum mod u can do to a NA car ? beside putting aftermarket intake , exhaust and Chipping it is there other thin i can do to maximize the performance ??? (Turbo is risky =p ) Thanks =) you asked for maximum mod can be done to NA engines yet you want to kleave out intake,exhaust and tuning? if you asked me,the list are a must to fully maximise a NA engine:- 1).Intake includes open pod. 2).Header aka intake manifold. 3).Exhaust preferably straight through. 4).Boring of throttle body. 5).Boring of engine head. 6).Increase compression ratio like changing of pistons,con rod. 7).Change to a high lift and longer duration cams,valve springs..etc. 8).Heavy duty clutch. 9).Tuning preferably using standalone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear January 19, 2011 Share January 19, 2011 Bro, long time no see..... We still haven't meet up...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enforcer533 Neutral Newbie January 19, 2011 Author Share January 19, 2011 every major hardware you change , you had to tune the ECU again plus go for LTA inspection for cert othewise consider illegal mod. it not so easy , bro. hi bro i didnt know ECU need to send to LTA. But i was planning to do Unichip piggyback. Any diff with reflashing stock Ecu ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enforcer533 Neutral Newbie January 19, 2011 Author Share January 19, 2011 you asked for maximum mod can be done to NA engines yet you want to kleave out intake,exhaust and tuning? if you asked me,the list are a must to fully maximise a NA engine:- 1).Intake includes open pod. 2).Header aka intake manifold. 3).Exhaust preferably straight through. 4).Boring of throttle body. 5).Boring of engine head. 6).Increase compression ratio like changing of pistons,con rod. 7).Change to a high lift and longer duration cams,valve springs..etc. 8).Heavy duty clutch. 9).Tuning preferably using standalone. Lol bro impressive list but quite chim sia but i am doing up exo next wat does boring throttle body means ah just curions ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whatisthis04 Neutral Newbie January 19, 2011 Share January 19, 2011 Hi bro thanks for your sharing. But of coz i wont spend so much like 30-40K right nw only the exo is not legal. Still waiting for a legal 1 for my ride. Btw will changing mid pipe affect the Cat ? And for the 4-2-1 is it universal for other cars ? Coz i thinking of doing up the hardware before goin for Chip. Wat car u driving? Mod N.A car need spend alot to gain higher bhp. Better spend that money on cosmetic n audio to njoy the ride... If u into performance get a tc car...U will get more fun in modding a tc car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weiming 1st Gear January 19, 2011 Share January 19, 2011 It is normally costly to mod NA cars for more hp/torque. Will be cheaper to go forced induction. However if you still prefer NA (less complicated, less heating issues, easier to pass inspection, better throttle response), then what I can suggest is use Google and search, read and then read even more. You will spend less, be more informed to prevent being carrot-headed and do it right. There are what I call bolt-on mods (cold air intake, intake manifold, exhaust manifold, exhaust) and engine mods (pistons, conrods, valve springs, cams, port n polish, crank knife edging, blueprinting etc). If you go all out, then a standalone (not piggyback) ECU will be required to maximize the performance of the mods. Then with the increment in hp/torque, you have to tackle suspension, brakes, tyres, chassis stiffening etc. However, the best mod I can think of is to improve your driving skill while still retaining road courtesy and basic driving rules :) Hi guys wat is the maximum mod u can do to a NA car ? beside putting aftermarket intake , exhaust and Chipping it is there other thin i can do to maximize the performance ??? (Turbo is risky =p ) Thanks =) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enforcer533 Neutral Newbie January 19, 2011 Author Share January 19, 2011 Wat car u driving? Mod N.A car need spend alot to gain higher bhp. Better spend that money on cosmetic n audio to njoy the ride... If u into performance get a tc car...U will get more fun in modding a tc car Bro sad to say i am only driving a forte1.6. the stock says 124 bhp but it don feels anything like it. " but with some mod done i can feel a better respond and the acclerator become more sensitive. But few days back i went north to test out my car. Sadly it only reaches 180. Same as stock. abit dissapointing not sure weather there is a limiter in my car ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...