Jayy25 6th Gear February 8, 2011 Share February 8, 2011 (edited) and do you know that if a modified car that fail to inform their insurance company about the modification and suay suay the car hit your car the insurance company can discharge themselves from paying the other parties meaning you can only claim through civil suit to the driver it was reported a few months ago in the papers. I beg to differ.... if other ppl bang into you, say rear-end you or hit-and-run... what that got to do with mods (legal or illegal).... Also, not all insurance companies ask for declaration of mod (so far i only know Aviva does) Lastly.... if the undeclared car got into an accident (Like turn turtle or bang into a tree or car or skidded) then his/hers insurance surveyor will determine if your mods caused it. (normally, they will say its your mod fault so they wouldn't have to bear your damages) Of course, if we feel unease or kiasi.... we can always be honest and bear it all out but be prepared to pay a much enormous insurance amount. For me, my stand is clear... you ask then i declared if not I just act blur like a layman should be.... Edited February 8, 2011 by Jayy25 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear February 8, 2011 Share February 8, 2011 and do you know that if a modified car that fail to inform their insurance company about the modification and suay suay the car hit your car the insurance company can discharge themselves from paying the other parties meaning you can only claim through civil suit to the driver it was reported a few months ago in the papers. I beg to differ.... if other ppl bang into you, say rear-end you or hit-and-run... what that got to do with mods (legal or illegal).... Also, not all insurance companies ask for declaration of mod (so far i only know Aviva does) Lastly.... if the undeclared car got into an accident (Like turn turtle or bang into a tree or car or skidded) then his/hers insurance surveyor will determine if your mods caused it. (normally, they will say its your mod fault so they wouldn't have to bear your damages) Of course, if we feel unease or kiasi.... we can always be honest and bear it all out but be prepared to pay a much enormous insurance amount. For me, my stand is clear... you ask then i declared if not I just act blur like a layman should be.... illegal mods how to declare? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aimnfire 4th Gear February 8, 2011 Share February 8, 2011 so if ppl bang your backside, u also lan lan? I beg to differ.... if other ppl bang into you, say rear-end you or hit-and-run... what that got to do with mods (legal or illegal).... Also, not all insurance companies ask for declaration of mod (so far i only know Aviva does) Lastly.... if the undeclared car got into an accident (Like turn turtle or bang into a tree or car or skidded) then his/hers insurance surveyor will determine if your mods caused it. (normally, they will say its your mod fault so they wouldn't have to bear your damages) Of course, if we feel unease or kiasi.... we can always be honest and bear it all out but be prepared to pay a much enormous insurance amount. For me, my stand is clear... you ask then i declared if not I just act blur like a layman should be.... its the same as a drunk driver hit your car remember you cannot claim against drunk driver BUT he can claim against you if it deem that you cause the accident a few years ago it was reported in paper that this biker made a u-turn was bang by a drunk driver who have the right of way the car also knock into another car the other car try to claim insurance but was rejected as the driver was drunk BUT the drunk driver claim insurance against the biker as the biker is at fault in the accident fair? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Walkingtree 1st Gear February 8, 2011 Share February 8, 2011 i did a claim recently , was being rear ended .did a 3rd party claim . claimed 1) new cf boot 2)new tail lights 3)new exhaust guard 4)new bumper 5)new bumper skirting 6)new exhaust. as for the exhaust , mine wasnt an approved model.so end up they replaced another non approved model for me. all the claims went thru. Wah seh! Can meh? I thought they typically replace with stock parts only? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear February 8, 2011 Share February 8, 2011 Wah seh! Can meh? I thought they typically replace with stock parts only? stock CF? lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Walkingtree 1st Gear February 8, 2011 Share February 8, 2011 stock CF? lol Sigh.. I remember my last claim long ago. OD claim. My alloy rims damaged, they replace me with stock steel rims. KNN :angry: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear February 8, 2011 Share February 8, 2011 Sigh.. I remember my last claim long ago. OD claim. My alloy rims damaged, they replace me with stock steel rims. KNN :angry: trade in the rims for alloy de lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Walkingtree 1st Gear February 8, 2011 Share February 8, 2011 trade in the rims for alloy de lor. Yep, that's wat i did eventually. But have to top up money. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rb26dett Clutched February 8, 2011 Share February 8, 2011 (edited) Wah seh! Can meh? I thought they typically replace with stock parts only? erm at the event of the accident . i was already using the mentioned parts. so they just replaced whatever damaged parts with what i was using initially. eg . my rear varis boot cracked.so they took from st powered and replaced the same original varis boot for me. for the exhaust , the model already stopped production. so they replaced with another aftermarket big brand exhaust.but wasnt an approved model as the one i using wasnt approved as well. Edited February 8, 2011 by Rb26dett Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Walkingtree 1st Gear February 8, 2011 Share February 8, 2011 erm at the event of the accident . i was already using the mentioned parts. so they just replaced whatever damaged parts with what i was using initially. for the exhaust , the model already stopped production. so they replaced with another aftermarket big brand exhaust.but wasnt an approved model as the one i using wasnt approved as well. Precisely. I was using alloy rims already, but got compensated with steel rims. KNN..... But that was 15 years ago lah... maybe now more liberal... but at the same time more calculative with mods? What am i saying??? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...