How to reduce traffic on the road - The Real; Solutions

Majordan

Sheares bridge upslope towards Changi not steep enough ah?

I don't see small cc car got problem with the slop of Sheares Bridge. More of the driver problem, don't know how to change gear, don't know how to step harder, don't know how to anticipate when there is a slop in front.

So bloody true. Even if you have a 2 litre car, trying to accelerate up a slope in 5th gear will make your almighty car slower than a 1.3 litre going up in 2nd or 3rd. The problem I think is that people just leave the driving to their auto-gearboxes and turn off their brains. Twits.

Just make all cars in SG manual and scrap the auto licence. I think that might actually reduce the number of drivers a bit. Lol

One viable one is to restrict good vehicles from the 2 extreme right lanes. If you notice during CNY and normal holidays where the goods vehicles aren't hogging the middle and lane 2 , traffic is always good.

USA is USA... Singapore is Singapore.... we cant afford to have lane for bike dont we...already the bus lane is giving some driver problem liao... pls commerical car driving on 1st lane... now with the car pool lane....where u expect the cars to drive on??

err... we expect you to car pool.... isn't that the point?

1. Impose smaller quota for < 1600cc cars. If you realise, those are the ones that causes slowdown on slopes because they crawl like turtle

2. Charge COE based on volumetric size. Why does Honda Civic 2L pay the same COE as Camry 2L where Camry is clearly the bigger car? Afterall, traffic is contributed by how much space each vehicle takes up on the road

3. Give COE rebates with family with kids. we want them to maximise the use of transportation in a car, not taking up space on the MRT with that stroller

4. Implement a car pool lane, they have that in USA. Any car with more than one passenger can use the lane.

1. errr... ??? seriously if I am bothered by road hoggers, the traffic is SMOOTH... common, you got drive during peak hours or not? If it is jam, it doesn't matter whether you drive a turbo car or a lao pok car.

2. I think there isn't really much of a difference between a camry and civic if you take into account gap between cars while driving. Unless you are sticking at his bumper.... no matter how skilled you are in tailgating, there is still a space of around 0.5-1 car length? I think more impt is to encourage people to follow more closely??

Edited by Wind30

Not true that smaller CC cars are slower, this has something to do with driver leh !

Sometimes traffic crawling cos driver nv accelerate fast enuff to clear the traffic light, resulting long que.

As such each time 10 second green light only few vehicles can cross becos some self-fish driver accelerate like snail :angry:

Else day dream, green light lag few seconds then move off [rifle]

yup. If everyone on the ball at the trraffic light and drive off promply, it will really help.

let's say implement a car pool lane in CBD area, with the already cannot use bus lane, how are we suppose to turn into lanes/ buildings on left? :blink:

Edited by Puteh83

I like your points number 1 and number 2, so I help you to merge them into one point ok -->

Impose smaller quota for >1600cc cars, traffic is contributed by how much space each vehicle takes up on the road, >1600cc cars usually are bigger than <1600cc cars based on volumetric size.

Not just 1 and 2. Point 1 and 4 can intersect as well. Carry 5 heavy passengers in a 1800cc car, and going up a slope. Hmm....

1. Impose smaller quota for < 1600cc cars. If you realise, those are the ones that causes slowdown on slopes because they crawl like turtle

What about cars like Jetta? 4-5 litre trucks also need COE and they're slower than a 1000cc QQ?

2. Charge COE based on volumetric size. Why does Honda Civic 2L pay the same COE as Camry 2L where Camry is clearly the bigger car? Afterall, traffic is contributed by how much space each vehicle takes up on the road

So small cars like Mitsubishi i, Subaru R1/2 will have cheaper COE? Doesn't that defeat the purpose of #1?

3. Give COE rebates with family with kids. we want them to maximise the use of transportation in a car, not taking up space on the MRT with that stroller

A 7 seater is invariably bigger than your average 2 litre family sedan, doesn't that affect #2? COE is charged higher under #2, but rebated under #3, so its back to square 1.

4. Implement a car pool lane, they have that in USA. Any car with more than one passenger can use the lane.

Bus-lane, heavy vehicles drive on the left, then car pool lane put where? Nowadays a bus lane already creates more congestion for the remaining lanes. If they take away bus lanes (e.g. along Upper Paya Lebar Rd northbound before Upper Serangoon Rd) traffic would flow much better.

Your solutions aren't solutions, they just create other problems. You may as well say, only people with Majordan as an internet nickname can own a car in Singapore?

imo, solutions like..

i)less pollution emitted from vehicles get taxed less(reduce green house gases, not reduce traffic, but older less efficient vehicles will be taken off the roads)

ii)carpooling will get cheaper ERP rates(dun know how to enforce though)

iii)encourage smaller cars like those kei-cars with smaller footprint by introducing rebates(most cars carry 1 or 2 passengers only, why go for big cars)

iv)park ur car at home scheme(everyday a person parks his car at home will get certain rebate level..to encourage use of public transport)

v)raise parking rates in town centres and city areas..hence discouraging the use of cars in these places

vi)more enforcement needed for those parking offences which will slow down traffic eg.busstops, double-yellow, zig-zag lines

vii)more enforcement needed for road offences like changing lanes without due car, roadhogging, tailgating > these slow down traffic during peak hours

viii) more safety checks done on trailers, goods vehicles to ensure they comply hence less accidents to inconvenience others

its easy la.... Those working in office is banned from driving... Those workng outdoors can drive.. This case, the office carpark will have sufficient lots and no competition.... Hahahaha

Your solutions aren't solutions, they just create other problems. You may as well say, only people with Majordan as an internet nickname can own a car in Singapore?

+1

u guys will be surpised at how the car pool lane is useful... a lot of CBD drivers only have the driver in the car, what a waste of space

if u line up 10 camrys, i'm sure they are the same as 11 civics or thereabouts - u save one car length there. and correct lorries and buses must pay more COE by that logic.

GENERALLY, < 1600cc cars crawl slower than >1600cc cars. of cos there are turbo cars around but this is speaking generally.

Singapore don have so many lanes to dedicate 1 lane especially for car pool, in the end all cut here and there again.