Subaru Legacy 2.5 GT any comment?

Simchuan86

I strongly believe its ur driving skill that is the prob, not the car itself.

If kena one time can suspect the car is lemon. If kena twice than we can confirm it's ur driving 'skill' and nothing else.

I hv driven both 05' rex and 07' sti for 2 years each consecutively and running at least 1.5bar for both and nothing happens. Those that went in for engine change due to crack or other prob mainly is bcoz owners did not know how to take care of the car. The whack the car like there's no tmr and best part is when the car is down they blame it on its reliabilty. Lol

In dis case, give them a tank oso no use.

Hahaha. Very true. How can an engine just piang on stock boost? Somemore we're not talking about cheap cut cost cars leh. Legacy GT is like 1 of the top range Subies. That said I'm still stock to hear that the stock box cannot take 300BHP. Maybe that guy that made the comment is on drugs..

it is not normal.

Highly doubt. As mentioned, it can be heavy but definitely no where close to car without power steering. If you havent driven a car without power steering, maybe next in camp ask the driver let you test his van.

Almost every week can see ppl change engine due to crack or problem and confirm not modd. I ganna twice too until reduce boost to 0.5 bar. Maybe will Just drive all the way with 0.5 bar until scrap.

Sure or not 2.5 gt is that bad? Every week people change engine? Those guys mod their engines or lup big big turbo ah?

I drove a 2.0 gt for nearly 6 years.. other than the usual wear and tear, no weird problems at all.

And also. . I wacked the car to redline very often. Gearbox also no problem.

I drove the 2011 Legacy GT before changing to Rx270 in Jan.

The steering is not light but not as heavy as one without power steering if I can remember.

But the power is sure addictive, driving on the NS highway was super fun then, hitting 180km/h at ease and I max out at 220km/hr once just for fun.

The car can most probably go faster but I lack the guts.

I really do not have the liking for the interior and that was one of the reason I sold it off.

It was making noises from the dash and else where too, even my previous Camry was better.

That said, I wanted to really try a turbo and had leave the turbo dream once.

From sporty sedan to SUV? What a change.... I cannot imagine going back to a high CG vehicle.

So the leggy cabin is noisy?

NA better? Is that the conclusion? I have driven NA cars my whole life, didn't like turbo lag but the new LGT has very little of it, so thinking of buying one and living the turbo dream for once, like you. My friend told me he won't go back to NA ever again after going turbo, so it will be interesting to hear the turbo to NA story.

Hahaha. Very true. How can an engine just piang on stock boost? Somemore we're not talking about cheap cut cost cars leh. Legacy GT is like 1 of the top range Subies. That said I'm still stock to hear that the stock box cannot take 300BHP. Maybe that guy that made the comment is on drugs..

The general concensus on the safe "limit" is 300whp (not bhp) on the stock autobox. Anything more and you take your chances, some might survive whilst some start running into issues. So if you want to want to have a well rounded and reliable LGT running over 300 horsies at the wheels, you will want to be looking at strengthening the gearbox, starting with the torque convertor and moving on to the valve body/plates/etc the more power you push.

From what i hear the STI a-lines also run into the same issues once the power (and more importantly torque) starts hitting certain limits.

1st Gear

well, we all know what is what, dont we? hee hee

btw, hows life down under?

Hey guys, is it normal for a 2.5 LGT WAGON steering at parking speed to be really heavy (like a car without power steering)?

What's the tyre size of the the LGT that u tried that's has a heavy steering? Some upsize of tyres will cause that as well.

The general concensus on the safe "limit" is 300whp (not bhp) on the stock autobox. Anything more and you take your chances, some might survive whilst some start running into issues. So if you want to want to have a well rounded and reliable LGT running over 300 horsies at the wheels, you will want to be looking at strengthening the gearbox, starting with the torque convertor and moving on to the valve body/plates/etc the more power you push.

From what i hear the STI a-lines also run into the same issues once the power (and more importantly torque) starts hitting certain limits.

Ah. 300whp makes a bit more sense.

well, we all know what is what, dont we? hee hee

btw, hows life down under?

Boring and grounded. This yr was supposed to be full on time attack year for me but got a baby girl now. So gotta save the money up instead and more family time.

1st Gear

Boring and grounded. This yr was supposed to be full on time attack year for me but got a baby girl now. So gotta save the money up instead and more family time.

Ahaha.. Congrats dude. Not juz more, its almost 99% family time. 'Me' time is almost non existence. How i know? I am going thru dat now. Dun even hv time to do detail washing for my car anymore. Sigh..

But its a happy prob. Rewards will come soon when ur baby gal starts to get attach to u. So hang on there pal.. Lol

From sporty sedan to SUV? What a change.... I cannot imagine going back to a high CG vehicle.

So the leggy cabin is noisy?

NA better? Is that the conclusion? I have driven NA cars my whole life, didn't like turbo lag but the new LGT has very little of it, so thinking of buying one and living the turbo dream for once, like you. My friend told me he won't go back to NA ever again after going turbo, so it will be interesting to hear the turbo to NA story.

have heard about complains about dash giving noise but mine was perfectly fine.

not even wind noise at 200kmh.

only sound was the roar form the boxer engine and road/tyres. but it was upsized 18". so sound intrusion was expected.

then again, even my current c-class has sound intrusion with the 18".

expectation is subjective & personal..better do a test-drive to experience yourself if you like it.

btw.. do agree about the thing about turbos.. [;)]

Agreed, windnoise is very minimal on the leggy wagon at high speeds. Cabin insulation is also pretty good, although probably not as good as the sedans due to the open space at the back.

Mine has minor squeaks from a few spots around the cabin that come and go, but not from the dashboard.

It's not light but should not be really heavy either, with some effort can still spin the wheel one-handed. Possible steering pump issue (mine failed when the car was 3.5 years old), a replacement is around 600-700 i think, i had some other work done at the same time.

It was a month ago when I tried it, a Nov 06 2.5 LGT Wagon.... I need to full force both arms to turn the wheel to pull it out of the lot.. The dealer kept telling me Legacy is like that one... It was actually more tedious then the no power steering cars of the 90s(if my memory didn't fail me)

Looks like I better test another one...thx

It was a month ago when I tried it, a Nov 06 2.5 LGT Wagon.... I need to full force both arms to turn the wheel to pull it out of the lot.. The dealer kept telling me Legacy is like that one... It was actually more tedious then the no power steering cars of the 90s(if my memory didn't fail me)

that is not right.. leggy's steering wheel is firmly weighted, but not to this extent... like you turn it with engine off?

either have the car checked by a pro-scooby workshop (and have the dealer pay repair), or walk away.

something not right with the steering. I've driven the legacy for 3years and not much effort needed to turn the wheels at all. Even my female colleague driving one now has no problems with the steering.

Likely the steering pump giving way which is a common problem for the LGT. FYI, the LGT steering is one of the 'lightest' among jap makes.

have heard about complains about dash giving noise but mine was perfectly fine.

not even wind noise at 200kmh.

only sound was the roar form the boxer engine and road/tyres. but it was upsized 18". so sound intrusion was expected.

then again, even my current c-class has sound intrusion with the 18".

expectation is subjective & personal..better do a test-drive to experience yourself if you like it.

btw.. do agree about the thing about turbos.. [;)]

Good to hear from a ex-LGT owner.

I test drove the LGT 2 years ago and in terms of value, it tops my shortlist, just not sure if I should join the dark side or buy a more executive NA car with a bigger cc engine im the next 1 year or so. I presume you are driving the CGI, having traded in speed for more comfort (and perhaps prestige), any regrets?

Edited by Voodooman

mine is a kompressor.. 6 months too early before they came out with a facelift, then the 7-g turbo.

anyway, the switch was quite okay actually.. other than the initial withdraw symptom from power, and smaller cabin space...mine was a wagon.

the newer c-class is now 7-sp turbo.. capable of doing very decent speeds..better than the kompressor.

both are different animals. cannot really compare..

but overall, no regrets.

Edited by Solar

I think steering motor up the lorry liao...i usually can use one palm on the steering wheel to do a u turn....I agree it is dangerous but can be done.

Ahaha.. Congrats dude. Not juz more, its almost 99% family time. 'Me' time is almost non existence. How i know? I am going thru dat now. Dun even hv time to do detail washing for my car anymore. Sigh..

But its a happy prob. Rewards will come soon when ur baby gal starts to get attach to u. So hang on there pal.. Lol

Thanks. I'm going to the drag at the end of the month and hoping maybe attend 1 time attack while its still winter (if I can jio a couple of friends along). The problem is time attack isnt cheap since its almost 200 per 1/2 day session.