ST Forum: Danger Lurks In Overhead Speed Checks

Vulcann

I can nvr understood jokers like HKL writing in to complain abt tp hiding to take pictures of speeding b------ds. FIRST SPEEDING IS WRONG. IT IS BREAKING THE LAW n if u kanna caught, be a man n take responsibility of ur own action.

Like wat some bros said, if u ain't speeding, wat's there to worry abt? juz drive as per normal. As for people who say that the front driver suddenly slow down upon spotting these enforcers....My take to u, if u r tailgating or following too close to the car in front!!! A DANGEROUS act by itself.

Well, I guess the best is for LTA to implement a GPS tracking system to all cars (like our IU) n automatically issue summon if u go abt the speed limit for that road (+- 10 km/h for imperfection in system), then no more issue abt speeding n hiding rite?

Opps..but then Sporean being Sporean, some will now KPKB abt loss of privacy, blah...blah...blah....NOTHING IS PERFECT IN THIS WORLD. YOU WIN SOME YOU LOSE SOME. YOU DECIDE.

ok lemme guess. you're the perfect model citizen that has never, ever exceeded driving at 60 or 50kmh in your whole life? [angel]

..all I want to see is for TP TO BE ON THE ROAD MORE than on bridges/behind the bush!...speeding is one thing but what about ROAD HOGGING?...

ditto bro... ditto... [thumbsup]

i encounter more "crimes" on the road which probably can get them more revenue... nowsadays first lane seems to be for lorries...

ok lemme guess. you're the perfect model citizen that has never, ever exceeded driving at 60 or 50kmh in your whole life? [angel]

i think his message is 'take it like a man, the consequences of your actions' for that part... feel free to correct me.

Your point?

Based on your argument, only people who are better than you can judge you?

That is like saying only a prettier judge can be the judge of Ms Universe.

What is wrong is wrong, regardless who said it to you.

If you break the law, you accept the consequences of getting caught. Don't point the finger around and say how the govt should make it easier for you to get away with breaking the law.

Is like saying the police should not do stakeout because it is not fair to the unlawful.

and on the first lane... ... ... [blush]

No need guess when all you have to do is to ask. but of coz to believe or not is entirely up to u. coz other than the fact that in my 15 years of driving, I ve never been summoned for speeding offences.

YES. I have exceeded 50 n 60km/h in my driving (up to this point in my life, but as to my whole life I have no answer for u coz I don't know when my life will end :D ),

coz there is a road called EXPRESSWAY. For expressway driving, I usually drive in lane 2 at about 90km/h give or take 5km/h, however if I have to overtake, I will accelerate to the lane 1 n go back to lane 2 once I have overtaken the road hogger, n this overtaking process may bring me to abt 95 to 100 km/h at most.

However, for normal road driving, I can tell u safely I nvr exceeded 60 give or take 5 km/h, which is why I keep to the left most lane for all the subarus n civic bengs, or racer boys wannabes to do their things on the fast lane. JUST don't involve me.

but thank you for offering this opportunity to clarify my stand.

Reminder, if u choose to speed or tail gate n u get into an accident or kanna summon, pls don't kpkb say not fair n wat not. BE a man n take responsibility for your one moment of folly or ur usual stupidity.

LOL...r u new to Singapore road?

1st lane? if u follow the highway numbering system, 1st lane is for overtaking. The reason why they labelled it lane 1 is becoz of practical reason like if they expand the highway by adding more lanes, they juz have to label the new lane lane 4 assuming they are already 3 lanes on the highway.

For conventional road, juz know that the lane closest to the walkway or side of the road or where buses usually travels, is the lane for heavy n slow moving vehicle, unless they have to make a U turn or do a right turn.

cheers.

No need guess when all you have to do is to ask. but of coz to believe or not is entirely up to u. coz other than the fact that in my 15 years of driving, I ve never been summoned for speeding offences.

YES. I have exceeded 50 n 60km/h in my driving (up to this point in my life, but as to my whole life I have no answer for u coz I don't know when my life will end :D ),

coz there is a road called EXPRESSWAY. For expressway driving, I usually drive in lane 2 at about 90km/h give or take 5km/h, however if I have to overtake, I will accelerate to the lane 1 n go back to lane 2 once I have overtaken the road hogger, n this overtaking process may bring me to abt 95 to 100 km/h at most.

However, for normal road driving, I can tell u safely I nvr exceeded 60 give or take 5 km/h, which is why I keep to the left most lane for all the subarus n civic bengs, or racer boys wannabes to do their things on the fast lane. JUST don't involve me.

Reminder, if u choose to speed or tail gate n u get into an accident or kanna summon, pls don't kpkb say not fair n wat not. BE a man n take responsibility for your one moment of folly or ur usual stupidity.

Respect! It is getting harder and harder to find polite driver nowadays. :D

Bro, I totally agree w u that it is harder n harder to find level-headed, considerate driver nowadays. Assuming you r not "suaning" me. ^_^

But, maybe I m naive, but I know that as long as there are some of us around, doesn't it make your day, when someone gives way to u, or keep out of your way when they know u are in a rush, or acknowledge your graciousness by waving their hands to u?

SIGH, I can also tell u safely I will not live to see such a day on Singapore roads where majority of the drivers behave thus.

Edited by Sabretan

Respect! It is getting harder and harder to find polite driver nowadays. :D

polite drivers? they're as hard to find as the polar bears..we should be glad that in a small road there are no drivers who will cut in front of u just to "gain" 1 car length..or hi-beam u on lane 2 e-way when in front is a lorry blocking u [laugh]

The report is true to a certain extent. If the TP main purpose is to deter ppl from speeding and cause accidents, then by showing up in plain sight with the bike/car is more than enough. From far see one white vehicle at SH, 90% of the ppl will slow down and maintain to speed limit already.

Whereas if TP hide and camoufladge and the speedster who didn't notice him will continue to speed even though he will kena summon later on.

This is not a war zone where a sniper hides to shoot. Traffic police should make themselves visible on the bridge to be fair.

I find myself looking up at the bridge more than looking at the road ahead whenever I approach known overhead bridges with TP. Blame me, and I am sure a lot of drivers do the same too.

last time, i just look up and see the bridge area...

now.. i still scan left scan right... the corners, the stairs...etc...

problem is i dont know where are the traps... so basically get kinda nervous when any bridge approach... :p

i think i shld just stick to speed limit lah hor?

by hiding, i wonder what is the true purpose? To deter and to educate, or to dish out fines?

Edited by Chrispie

Received a speeding ticket recently along Orchard Boulevard towards Grange Road for travelling at 74km/h along a 50km/h road.

Yes 5 lanes and speed limit = 50km/h

2-3 days after that I was (TRYING VERY HARD) keeping at 50km/h along the same stretch when 2 TP bikes drove past me, easily at >70km/h.

WTF?

Anyway here's an article about speeding vs accidents

http://www.carbibles.com/speeding_facts.html

Personal take: These ridiculous speed limits on the road is to protect the LTA/TP arse if any accidents occur.

If they want to protect their arse, fine.

But don't try to impose it as if they have done intensive study over a period of time to determine that is the optimal speed to balance driveability vs safety.

yeah this mr ho only like to complain here and there. got police also complain no police also complain. must be he kena summon not happy. haha sore loser. be a man, can write into ST forum, but cannot think like a mature adult, pay up and move on kido...

guys u all shld feel lucky that our system here is not like our neighbouring country. ever had police man purposely smack ur car's mirror because u block his path? no right? come on... love our policeman here. u will nv get it in other countries

From ST Forum online. A supporter.

http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/Online...ory_642824.html

Mar 9, 2011

Stop speed trap hide-and-seek

WHILE I am aware of the danger of speeding, I do not understand why Traffic Police officers play hide-and-seek with drivers ('Danger lurks in overhead speed checks' by Mr Ho Kei-Leong; yesterday).

It is impossible to remember the speed limits for different roads, especially when one is new to an area. The signages also are not always clearly visible.

Perhaps permanent speed cameras should be installed in critical areas with appropriate signages.

Glen Goh

i too hv a clean driving record. but we need to differentiate between reckless, dangerous driving (which does not necessarily mean speeding btw) vs doing 75kmh on a perfectly straight, dry road wif excellent visibility. often this is where the white ants like to stakeout and deemed as "dangerous driving". this is totally BS and nothing more than playing wif statistics and revenue collection.