Would you try again???

Tianmo

Life is full of uncontrollables. Lets put it this way, sometimes u go after a gal, sometimes u get sometimes u don't. Get already, try to maintain relationship, sometimes u suceed, sometimes u dun (go back to beginning), if manage to maintain, eventually get married, married already sometimes can maintain, sometimes divorce (go back to beginning). Starting a business, maintaining it and then expanding it is a long process, sometimes u suceed, sometimes u don't. if u don't u can choose to try again and learn from ur mistakes (dats not to say other "new" mistakes won't happen) and hopefully u meet with better success. But even with better success u start to travel to uncharted territory which ur failed previous business did not go before so u start making mistakes again and is suay end up fail again and u start again (if u wish).

Of cos the (financial) cost of business failure may be so great that u can't start again. So its important to have big network of good frens who can support/advise u along the way.

But u might just decide, in the end, being an employee is better - at least u dun face personal financial failure. And if u have de kind of capability dat can open business, i m sure ur talent will be appreciated by ur employer.

I have failed few times and succeeded once. All the failures were on break even with no real financial loss which would have permanently cripple me to try another venture. The success one is now a million dollar company with 50 people working for me.

My approach is always start small and then grow slowly, even if i have hell lot of money, i will never jump big or flashy.

let's share your thoughts.

would you try again in setting up a business if you have failed before?

Failed once. lost some $$$ and 3-4 years. Will definitely try again ^_^

Inn your reception so chio, bluf us say Pai quah!! Knn! <_<

Good things say lousy, ownself keep.

bro... really lah... if i show you the face... i'm sure you wont talk to me again ever... kan buay cua...

bro, MU and see lah...............than he can stop liao!!! [laugh][laugh]

If the business didn't take off due to your own inherent attributes, then it is better not to try again. If it is due to external factors, then you might want to give it another go and hope that your luck is better.

Successful entrepreneurship is actually the result of part luck and part inherent character traits of the entrepreneur. Very good luck can make up for lack of necessary character and vice versa. But normally speaking, you will need a bit of both.

The tough part is being able to tell when it is your own fault. Because humans always have the tendency to attribute poor results with external factors and positive results with internal factors; even when it is not the case. I know of people who try and fail and keep trying. Every time they blame it on external factors. But the truth is that they lack the discipline to be involved in all parts of the business.

Well, those are my thoughts, having been involved in a business that never took off, I would say that we were creative on ideas and good at keeping costs down. But we were not disciplined enough to manage the nitty gritty administrative stuff like dealing with our landlord etc and studying at the same time. In the end it died a natural death. I learnt that I'd much rather be a salaried employee. Start another company? It may only come about only if there is a massive shift in my circumstances. Otherwise, I know that I will never have that discipline needed for entrepreneurship.

Yeah, won't talk to you cos somchio keep to yourself! [laugh] [laugh]

I'd say you hit the nail right on the head, every thing you mention is true to the fact and a lot of them will never admit self fault. I have been in and out of my own biz many times, no losses, good gains good people, and I attribute that to being lucky to have a great team of good reliable friends. [rolleyes]

If the business didn't take off due to your own inherent attributes, then it is better not to try again. If it is due to external factors, then you might want to give it another go and hope that your luck is better.

Successful entrepreneurship is actually the result of part luck and part inherent character traits of the entrepreneur. Very good luck can make up for lack of necessary character and vice versa. But normally speaking, you will need a bit of both.

The tough part is being able to tell when it is your own fault. Because humans always have the tendency to attribute poor results with external factors and positive results with internal factors; even when it is not the case. I know of people who try and fail and keep trying. Every time they blame it on external factors. But the truth is that they lack the discipline to be involved in all parts of the business.

Well, those are my thoughts, having been involved in a business that never took off, I would say that we were creative on ideas and good at keeping costs down. But we were not disciplined enough to manage the nitty gritty administrative stuff like dealing with our landlord etc and studying at the same time. In the end it died a natural death. I learnt that I'd much rather be a salaried employee. Start another company? It may only come about only if there is a massive shift in my circumstances. Otherwise, I know that I will never have that discipline needed for entrepreneurship.

bro, MU and see lah...............than he can stop liao!!! [laugh][laugh]

Kns, you think I so free one ah? Just now Talmud to you, got to stop roasting my coffee for a while. Now...back to work. [laugh] [laugh]

halo.........I creating chance for all of us to see chio bu leh............you no free don't get to see lor, I see liao tell you OK!!! [laugh]

hmmm..............i smell kopi...........good one!!! [:p]

halo.........I creating chance for all of us to see chio bu leh............you no free don't get to see lor, I see liao tell you OK!!! [laugh]

hmmm..............i smell kopi...........good one!!! [:p]

Good things don't come free, free things don't come good.