Why so many people hate WRX?

20G

its not mentioned in the video how long was the drag race but im guessing its very short. like that turbo for evo havent even kick in [:p]

EDIT: ops, saw the full video and the distance seemed like 1/4 mile race. turbo should be in liao.. but no use, too late.

yes the z4 35i is faster than the 1series coupe 135i. what about the new sdrive35is with the "s" at the back. should be even faster?

Seems like alot of people are into drags when it comes to benchmarking performance. Different people may have different opinions. For me, it should be overall and not only straight line power.

Straight line power, money is the most deciding mod. It's the race that has twists and turns that really bring out the full potential of a vehicle.

Which is why I quote "Anyone can drive a fast car but not everyone can drive a car fast."

Seriously this is old news. I don't understand why so many ppl still tend to overate stock Evo's and STI's capabilities.

With the advent of the FD2R, the definition of handling blew most of the mid class performance vehicle out of the water.

People usually live in the past. Just like the loyal fanboys of the old eg and ek. It's hard to teach old dogs new tricks.

Seriously this is old news. I don't understand why so many ppl still tend to overate stock Evo's and STI's capabilities.

i dun think ppl are overrating stock evo and sti, it is in fact that these cars are pretty good in term of handling/straight line power that relatively little money can buy. the hard truth is, 99% of these driver WILL UPGRADE their rides COMPONENT after sometimes, so this clearly indicate that not so much of overrated capabilities on the stock machine.

I think the best out of the box handling supremo is the fd2r. No need change anything can bring to track.

Talking jdm here

True, I've a hard time shaking a (stock) FD2R off my rear at Sepang and my ride is not stock. And those modded FD2R's track timings are simply amazing.

i dun think ppl are overrating stock evo and sti, it is in fact that these cars are pretty good in term of handling/straight line power that relatively little money can buy. the hard truth is, 99% of these driver WILL UPGRADE their rides COMPONENT after sometimes, so this clearly indicate that not so much of overrated capabilities on the stock machine.

Then why do we see comments like stock STI/EVO will "cream" Z4 easily and stuffs like that? The fact is there are many cars faster out there and people are making ignorant comments because they tend to have a narrow mind.

cos STI/EVO price to performance ratio cheap ma. so you know what kind of people it will attract. no doubt its a good car. but there are way better cars out there. STI/EVO is like very nice hawker center food. while the premium cars are like restaurant food. different.

Brother, you just said it, because they are IGNORANT.

Why must we keep comparing? As long as we are happy with our rides, why bother, right?

Yes, it may not be the best car out there, but this is what we can afford, and this is a car I like.

Of course, if anyone else is paying for the car, they are perfectly entitled to hate it. Otherwise, I think we should respect each other (with a larger mind & heart), regardless of what cars we drive.

i think alot of times are the driver... not the car....

just that many times behind the wrx is a stupid young driver who thinks that a wrx can take corner without slowing down or braking...

they under estimate many things.....

last time ppl say civic eg and ek models are ah beng cars....

now they say wrx are ah beng cars....

hahahaaa.....

never ending.......

we should look at the driver not the car.......

many ppl who drives conti cars i know ARE F UP TOO..... as in their personality.....

Golfs and Sciroccos are slowly turning into ah beng cars also :D

Especially the Golf.. KNN.. today near my house got one fellow rev.. I was thinking must be some fellow who fixed fake exhaust.. turn around and saw a Mk6 Golf GTi... driver was a beng.,

A lot of Vios are turbocharged.. dun play play

I know... [lipsrsealed]

Cos the previous generation there was 1.5 turbo (Thai only)

So...

[sly]

Double confirmed (Auntie hand chopped neck sign) !!!! CTR behind will give you rocking chair effect haha, u can try the bukit timah roads now, with the road construction.

Anyway, who is driving CTR here? :wub::wub:

maybe . my current ride's chasis is pretty strengthened up and running 14kg front 10kg rear springs.

i ever drove back from KL to singapore without resetting the suspension from extreme hard (track use) back to normal (for daily drive).......... my buttock was like riding on a galloping horse!!! ........ it literally 'leaped' 1-2 inches from the seat cushion even though NS highway is not bumpy at all...... maybe you have also experienced the same [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

Absolutely spot on!!

Everytime I see a WRX or Evo, i just feel thankful to the jap engineers who created these cars..... in a way, these cars are 'honest' performaners for the price ie no pretentious 'brand name / image', or luxuries that pamper the buttocks or eyes.... just pure power and handling.... they are almost track ready straight from the showroom for weekend fun at the track..... of course some upgrades in cooling / brakes will enhance the fun on track

as a daily cars on ordinary roads, nothing else can really beat them in terms of value-4-money-ness...... i think other models eg CTR, ITR, etc are almost the same..... conti models in a similar league maybe just as fast and as able in handling, but I heard their cooling / brake departments are still no match to the WRX/EVO for some bashing on the track in stock form......(could be wrong though, can someone confirm this?)

Edited by KARTer

dun say stock rex, even stock sti also roll like nobody business..............

they roll, but grip is still good and make it thru fast corners, right? (depending on the type of tyres) ......

one cheapo tiny car doesnt really roll: the original classic mini!!! ........ absolutely flat... hahahaaa..... 1959 design, incredible, but of course in other areas it is totally not in the same league as wrx etc etc..... good fun though [:)][:)] ....... sorry for the OT coz i have the chance to drive one these days, enjoy it just as much, maybe more, than my daily ebo

i ever drove back from KL to singapore without resetting the suspension from extreme hard (track use) back to normal (for daily drive).......... my buttock was like riding on a galloping horse!!! ........ it literally 'leaped' 1-2 inches from the seat cushion even though NS highway is not bumpy at all...... maybe you have also experienced the same [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

haha i have such experience even on local expressways.anything above 100 , man tits can shake.

as such hard settings do not cause bouncing man's tits, it shows how super smooth the F1 track's surface is................. NShwy seems smooth for normal suspensions, but rocks big time in our case :D

Yesterday spoken to a fren whom I haven't seen for a long time. our conversation somehow drifted to car bullies an at a point he got so agitated he cursed ppl like me who drives a wrx go crash and die.. :blink:

and then I replied him telling him I hope shd a Wrx abt to crash, the Wrx will crash into him and drag him to meet his maker tgt..

wats ur reason for hating Subaru Wrx?

I don't hate the WRX, just those ah bengs driving them... Especially those posers who dress their Imprezas up like a WRX...

there are nice SUBARU WRX driver out there. and i totally agree with the statement 'is the driver, not the car'.