Van rear-ended in Lane 1

Fooblack

I check land transport act oreddy. Vans are allowed on lane one so long as obey limits and dun hog

If G plate cannot use lane one then how to exit at PIE Exit 26A [laugh][laugh]

well, i think this is one of the rare exceptions. What other slips roads (right turn/single lane) can you think of in SG expressways?

all commercial vehicle supposed to have speed limiter or not? and the speed limit tag at the back of their vehicles, aren't they not supposed to go beyond that limit?

along jalan buroh everyday morning about 7plus, many cabstar type lorries speeding up to 100km/h with full loads of FTs...drivrn by FTs...they are all over frm lane 1 to 3/4

i think tis grey area is due to high cost if LTA were to buy over certain part of private land (maybe fr YHS, or other parties) to form (factually it should be that way) a left turn to join bt timah/upper bt timah roadsClementi rd, instead of making (an easy) right trun, go under the chantek fly-over,then to proceed either to Clementi/upp bt timah rd.

some months ago, on saturday morning abt 8am, i was travelling towards Tuas.

a TP bike was 6-7car behind me as i was driving a van(bigger size than FedEx van) on 2nd lane.

1st lane was very congested & very slow moving, especially after P/lebar when reaching merger lanes towards city/ further down to AMK/ T/payaoh.

a white van was abt 10-12cars ahead of me oso on 2nd lane.

suddenly he pulled to 1st lane (which had smoother traffic flow) overtaking a few cars on 2nd lane.

TP pulled up fast behind him, then over took him with hand signal for him to stop.

when travelling in SLE, b4 exit wdland ave 2?3?/12, pls be very careful as bikers/cars/lorries coming fr wdland custom zooming out fr filter lane forcing u 2give way to them [furious]

when AD handing over vans to my coy, the 1st word fr the salesman was :

tis is G-plate van, u r not allowed to drive on 2nd+1st lanes, unless very very bad road situation....

i also heard that before, but it was not from the salesman.

why did the TP stop the white van? Because he was speeding? Traveling on Lane 1? Or move to Lane 1 too quickly? You never know unless you are the driver

well, i think this is one of the rare exceptions. What other slips roads (right turn/single lane) can you think of in SG expressways?

I am not sure about the rest of the expressways, but one is already good enough. And it is a permanent execption [laugh]

so what do you expect truck/van drivers to do? can drive on lane 1 or not? or only at what point then can move to lane 1? how many car drivers will be gracious to left a truck (moving at 60km/h) move to that lane 1 there? Plus it is dangerous.

all commercial vehicle supposed to have speed limiter or not? and the speed limit tag at the back of their vehicles, aren't they not supposed to go beyond that limit?

along jalan buroh everyday morning about 7plus, many cabstar type lorries speeding up to 100km/h with full loads of FTs...drivrn by FTs...they are all over frm lane 1 to 3/4

I dont understand your logic. Aren't cars not supposed to exceed the expressway limits too? Also, if Lane 1 is for overtaking, why we still see road hoggers on Lane 1 when Lane 2 and 3 are empty? [laugh]

So many things that we are not supposed to do but yet we do? whether there is a speed limiter (actually, it is just a buzzer) or a sticker, does it matter? unless there is a check on the speed limitor, otherwise quite useless

Edited by Fireball0088

any link?

I can't provide a link to a negative.

But I checked the Land Transport Act in a few different sections - it only mentions vehicles that are banned from expressways, there is no mention of HGV or LGV not to go on lane one.

You can find the act and read yourself by searching Singapore Statutes.

If you can find a specific section of the act that bans LGV on lane one, I will buy you lunch.

Copy and paste from EVC...

Dear Tony,

Under the law, only vehicles with speed limit of 60 km/h or less are required to stick to the leftmost lane. Therefore in your case, goods vehicles that are allowed to travel at 70 km/h can indeed use the next lane. However, we always remind drivers who are driving at a much slower rate than the prevailing road speed limit to keep as close to the left-hand side of the road as possible so as not to obstruct other vehicles moving at a faster rate.

2 Hence drivers who are travelling at a much lower speed should not

drive on the rightmost lane as this would obstruct traffic as well as preventing other vehicles from overtaking safely. The penalty for failing to comply with this is a $130 fine with 4 demerit points for light vehicles and $160 with 4 demerit points for heavy vehicles.

3 I hope I have adequately answered your query. Thank you for writing

in.

Yours sincerely

Fan Chian Jen

Policy Officer

Research & Planning

Traffic Police Department

Darryn - do you understand the above?

as i said, if you are not satisfied and wish to confirm you are right, pls write to TP to state your case. I provided you with link at the start of this email thread.

rgds

Darryn - do you understand the above?

as i said, if you are not satisfied and wish to confirm you are right, pls write to TP to state your case. I provided you with link at the start of this email thread.

rgds

What is EVC?

So LGV (G Plate) ARE allowed on lane one right? Going by this email.

Fully satisfied - as it kinda proves my point that G plate can go on lane one with the proviso that they don't roadhog....

Edited by Darryn

What is EVC?

Fully satisfied - as it kinda proves my point that G plate can go on lane one with the proviso that they don't roadhog....

How can LGV don't roadhog or don't exceed the vehicle speed limit if they travel lane 1? Either way, they are againist the rule, unless it is traffic jam.

What is EVC?

wah your english go back to the teacher liao. pls read again.

what is the rightmost lane? isnt it lane 1?

yawnz..

wah your english go back to the teacher liao. pls read again.

what is the rightmost lane? isnt it lane 1?

yawnz..

My england never go back to teacher - read for meaning, can or not...

Hence drivers who are travelling at a much lower speed should not

drive on the rightmost lane

So IF they are travelling at the same speed as lane one then it is not a problem.

So if you have a situation where Lane 3 = 40km, Lane 2 = 50km and Lane 1 = 65km then LGV are fullly allowed in lane one.

That this only happens when there is a jam I also acknowledge.

FUTHER, there is no offence called "travelling in lane one" for LGV.

If they are in lane one they will get a ticket EITHER for Obstructing Traffic OR for Speeding (or possibly both, imagine if going at 80km in lane one, can simultaneously cite them for speeding and for obstructing :o[laugh] ). Neither is for the offence of travelling in lane - becasue this is not an offence.

remember...

there is a difference between "should not" and "can not / must not" ...

or do I need to provide dictionary links?

remember...

there is a difference between "should not" and "can not / must not" ...

or do I need to provide dictionary links?

Wow, this is the power of playing with words

Errr....

It is not "playing with words"

Unless you think "should" and "must" mean the same thing?

There are shades of meaning in english for a reason - try to speak the language correctly.

Unless, to make your life easier...

I should just say that you are double un-good? New Speak would be much easier for you right? From what has been said here, I think a lot of people believe Winston Smith was an idiot.

BKE splits into two paths, one to PIE (Changi), the other to PIE (Jurong). They are allowed to drive on Lane 1 in a jam to switch to the Jurong side early.