Cracker 1st Gear May 21, 2014 Share May 21, 2014 how can you guys leave out the notorious carpark at Shaw House ? ( the one with Lido cinema).. the building had gone thru a few facelift... but I dun think they had widen the width of the carpark!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karu 6th Gear May 21, 2014 Share May 21, 2014 how can you guys leave out the notorious carpark at Shaw House ? ( the one with Lido cinema).. the building had gone thru a few facelift... but I dun think they had widen the width of the carpark!! That is the worst nightmare for all drivers. You will have to look for a lot next to a wall or pillar. Park very close to it & crawl out from the other side. Yu always see the bigger cars occupying 2 lots... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
samfreak 3rd Gear May 21, 2014 Share May 21, 2014 That is the worst nightmare for all drivers. You will have to look for a lot next to a wall or pillar. Park very close to it & crawl out from the other side. Yu always see the bigger cars occupying 2 lots... And this is where the Isis works brilliantly: the centre console is pretty much flushed and the space between the two front seats is clear. So I will either slide over to the front passenger seat to exit or move to the second row and exit via the sliding door! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cracker 1st Gear May 21, 2014 Share May 21, 2014 And this is where the Isis works brilliantly: the centre console is pretty much flushed and the space between the two front seats is clear. So I will either slide over to the front passenger seat to exit or move to the second row and exit via the sliding door! any car with sliding doors will be good at that crazy carpark.. that place was probably built when Datsun 100A or 120Y was ruling Singapore road.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic May 21, 2014 Share May 21, 2014 Anyway, the width of the car matters more in this kind of situation. If the car can't even get in, then game over already. I can think of one even worse scenario than this: if at the beginning of a long spiral, car can get in, but only just -- and then as you start going on, it becomes narrower and narrower... This is is worst than game over, right? Cannot even go till it's over lor... At the end of it is the A&E dept isn't it? ha ha... is this meant to be a cheeky remark or a genuine question? if genuine question, then no leh, A&E no need to go basement CP. It's in open air CP area... can't expect the long and wide ambulance to brave the very challenging route to basement CP right... S class & 7 series no need park one. Just pass to valet lor... Anyway valet is not expensive if you intent to hang around TTS for a while. Think it was around 5 or 6 bucks regardless of length of stay. yes, now can... but not sure if valet was already around during those days leh. I first encountered it in 2000/01, when had to frequent there cos mother in law was ill... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged May 21, 2014 Share May 21, 2014 I can think of one even worse scenario than this: if at the beginning of a long spiral, car can get in, but only just -- and then as you start going on, it becomes narrower and narrower... This is is worst than game over, right? Cannot even go till it's over lor... Think we do not have it here, it is more like what a new driver might dream at night after a bad encounter haha. . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic May 21, 2014 Share May 21, 2014 And this is where the Isis works brilliantly: the centre console is pretty much flushed and the space between the two front seats is clear. So I will either slide over to the front passenger seat to exit or move to the second row and exit via the sliding door! That's also the reason why i like to park besides cars with sliding doors... safer for my car too Think we do not have it here, it is more like what a new driver might dream at night after a bad encounter haha. . Ha ha ha... claustophobia of a very different kind... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
samfreak 3rd Gear May 21, 2014 Share May 21, 2014 Noob question: how do you guys do multiple quotes in your replies? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged May 21, 2014 Share May 21, 2014 Noob question: how do you guys do multiple quotes in your replies? Whatever postings you reply within a certain time frame will be lumped together. Automatic one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
samfreak 3rd Gear May 21, 2014 Share May 21, 2014 Whatever postings you reply within a certain time frame will be lumped together. Automatic one. Oh thanks. Have been looking for that 'multi-quote' button like some other forums will have any car with sliding doors will be good at that crazy carpark.. that place was probably built when Datsun 100A or 120Y was ruling Singapore road.... Talking about 120Y. That's the car I started learning driving with. There was one lesson the private instructor asked me to drive from Katong to People's park Complex via Nicoll Highway. I'm sure that's not allowed for 'L' plate but he's the instructor. Really scary. Had to go up that steep ramp and reverse park in that narrow PPC car park too! It was manual only in those days of course. ha ha... is this meant to be a cheeky remark or a genuine question? cheeky Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alpha78 6th Gear May 21, 2014 Share May 21, 2014 how can you guys leave out the notorious carpark at Shaw House ? ( the one with Lido cinema).. the building had gone thru a few facelift... but I dun think they had widen the width of the carpark!! Was there last week. The number of available lots was partly due to large vehicles parking over the line out of sheer helplessness (for once I don't curse people for parking over the line). With my sedan, there's only about 8 to 10cm on each side before it touches the line. E and S class practically occupy the whole lot. I think that carpark was designed for Datsun 120Y. And yes, after the facelift the lots remain the same size. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cracker 1st Gear May 21, 2014 Share May 21, 2014 Oh thanks. Have been looking for that 'multi-quote' button like some other forums will have Talking about 120Y. That's the car I started learning driving with. There was one lesson the private instructor asked me to drive from Katong to People's park Complex via Nicoll Highway. I'm sure that's not allowed for 'L' plate but he's the instructor. Really scary. Had to go up that steep ramp and reverse park in that narrow PPC car park too! It was manual only in those days of course. cheeky I had a few lesson with the 120Y..before my instructor changed to a Honda civic. Was there last week. The number of available lots was partly due to large vehicles parking over the line out of sheer helplessness (for once I don't curse people for parking over the line). With my sedan, there's only about 8 to 10cm on each side before it touches the line. E and S class practically occupy the whole lot. I think that carpark was designed for Datsun 120Y. And yes, after the facelift the lots remain the same size. I had not parked there for a long long time... cos stopped going there liao... but IIRC, there were a few lots in the carpark which are parallel parking ( I may be wrong)... .. the other classic one was at the old Jurong Entertainment Centre which has been renamed to Jcube after the renovation... the carpark was equally narrow.. but it is much much better now Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic May 21, 2014 Share May 21, 2014 Talking about 120Y. That's the car I started learning driving with. There was one lesson the private instructor asked me to drive from Katong to People's park Complex via Nicoll Highway. I'm sure that's not allowed for 'L' plate but he's the instructor. Really scary. Had to go up that steep ramp and reverse park in that narrow PPC car park too! It was manual only in those days of course. Then i think we same generation? I also learnt on Datsun (not yet Nissan) 120Y. The car damned solid i remember... I think i could have engaged the (manual one only those days) gear without stepping on the clutch, as it was so so loose... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic May 21, 2014 Share May 21, 2014 Was there last week. The number of available lots was partly due to large vehicles parking over the line out of sheer helplessness (for once I don't curse people for parking over the line). With my sedan, there's only about 8 to 10cm on each side before it touches the line. E and S class practically occupy the whole lot. I think that carpark was designed for Datsun 120Y. And yes, after the facelift the lots remain the same size. I think that carpark is ahead of its time. It's prob meant for Mazda Biantes and equivalent, and all should park head in, all very close to one another, and everyone should get down by opening the tailgate and getting down from there. Does Biante have remote tailgate control? If not, then Biante also cannot... need those MPVs with tailgate control to open tailgate control to do this Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
samfreak 3rd Gear May 21, 2014 Share May 21, 2014 Then i think we same generation? I also learnt on Datsun (not yet Nissan) 120Y. The car damned solid i remember... I think i could have engaged the (manual one only those days) gear without stepping on the clutch, as it was so so loose... Born in the swinging 60s! This instructor won't switch on the aircon. So each lesson, my shirt is all soaked in perspiration. There's also the stick he uses jammed against the right foot to help managed the clutch. Youngsters these days really have it easy .. auto cars .. NS also easier ... studies easier with the WWW available .... only cars and homes are much much more difficult ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic May 21, 2014 Share May 21, 2014 Born in the swinging 60s! This instructor won't switch on the aircon. So each lesson, my shirt is all soaked in perspiration. There's also the stick he uses jammed against the right foot to help managed the clutch. Youngsters these days really have it easy .. auto cars .. NS also easier ... studies easier with the WWW available .... only cars and homes are much much more difficult ... ok. same... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
samfreak 3rd Gear May 21, 2014 Share May 21, 2014 I just serviced my Isis today - 142000km - for a grand total of $96 ($56 for the M1 full syn lube and $40 for the other stuff incl labour). All done in < 1hr. That's what I like about Japanese cars - low running cost, easy to service. I asked about the Opel Zafira Tourer service and the SE told me at least $300 each visit! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged May 21, 2014 Share May 21, 2014 (edited) Another excellent review of Biante in Hong Kong. Too bad only in Chinese. But can see the pictures lah, especially the few pictures on leg room for last row. http://www.car1.hk/news/mazda-blante-2013-review/zh-cn/ Edited May 21, 2014 by Heartlander ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...