Mazda2gal 5th Gear May 4, 2011 Share May 4, 2011 (edited) I'm at clinic now, here for 2 consecutive days. Yesterday I called to get queue number at 10am only got to see doc at about 1230. Waited another half hr for medicine. Had 2 days Mc as I've throat inflammation and fever. Saw blood in my phlegm twice so decided to see doc again today. Called clinic to take queue number at 8am. I'm still waiting for my turn, 2 or 3 more to go. I think by the time I get my medicine, it'll be 1pm, earliest. I usually come to this medical group clinic as there is one female doc who is v good, patient and thorough in her diagnosis.Many patients will ask to see her. So it's normal to wait a long time if queueing to see her. I've tried many docs in my area and I find that many of them really cannot make it, like prescribe wrong medicine, prescribe lots of unnecessary medicine, does not do diagnosis etc. One ultimate example was a relatively young doc, very ah beng type, he would sit there shaking his leg (literally), and ask you "what you want". You say "I feel giddy..." "ok give you medicine for giddiness, what else?" "Headache...""ok give you painkiller, what else?" "Nothing." "Ok that's all" doesn't take temperature if you don't complain of fever. I suspect he was trained to be a medicine dispenser, not doctor. I wonder if this is the norm? I miss the doctor-owned clinics, coz they usually more responsible as they are running their own biz, unlike those serving in medical group clinics, many of them treat it like a job. Sadly, the young estate I'm staying in doesn't have many docs in private practice. Seen a very young female doc once, also cannot make it, only out to earn money. Edited May 4, 2011 by Mazda2gal ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rosschang 1st Gear May 4, 2011 Share May 4, 2011 I got the feeling that it's slowly becoming a norm. Even for private practice, I've seen case like these, mostly with younger docters. normal routine iz a few QnA, listen to ur chest, Say Arh~~ check throat. Less than 3 mins for hours of waiting... go out wait again for meds... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator May 4, 2011 Share May 4, 2011 that is why i have never consulted a dr for the last 12 yrs.....i self medicate...and i just go get a prescription..if dr ask me..i give him prov diagnosis and voila...no questions asked.... Drs normally consult me tho...muahahha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainbowbiatch 6th Gear May 4, 2011 Share May 4, 2011 private didn't take long..30mins max.. polyclinic takes about 2hrs? and another 30mins to take medicine.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear May 4, 2011 Share May 4, 2011 Dentist is the worse..... must book weeks in advance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mike1234 1st Gear May 4, 2011 Share May 4, 2011 private didn't take long..30mins max.. polyclinic takes about 2hrs? and another 30mins to take medicine.. Collecting medicine no need so long la... At most, 15mins nia...of cos depends on queue la... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator May 4, 2011 Share May 4, 2011 see doctor also depend on timing, long weekend a lot of people want to take mc [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic May 4, 2011 Share May 4, 2011 that is why i have never consulted a dr for the last 12 yrs.....i self medicate...and i just go get a prescription..if dr ask me..i give him prov diagnosis and voila...no questions asked.... Drs normally consult me tho...muahahha kns! dead pple oso consult u hor! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged May 4, 2011 Share May 4, 2011 I'm at clinic now, here for 2 consecutive days. Yesterday I called to get queue number at 10am only got to see doc at about 1230. Waited another half hr for medicine. Had 2 days Mc as I've throat inflammation and fever. Saw blood in my phlegm twice so decided to see doc again today. Called clinic to take queue number at 8am. I'm still waiting for my turn, 2 or 3 more to go. I think by the time I get my medicine, it'll be 1pm, earliest. I usually come to this medical group clinic as there is one female doc who is v good, patient and thorough in her diagnosis.Many patients will ask to see her. So it's normal to wait a long time if queueing to see her. I've tried many docs in my area and I find that many of them really cannot make it, like prescribe wrong medicine, prescribe lots of unnecessary medicine, does not do diagnosis etc. One ultimate example was a relatively young doc, very ah beng type, he would sit there shaking his leg (literally), and ask you "what you want". You say "I feel giddy..." "ok give you medicine for giddiness, what else?" "Headache...""ok give you painkiller, what else?" "Nothing." "Ok that's all" doesn't take temperature if you don't complain of fever. I suspect he was trained to be a medicine dispenser, not doctor. I wonder if this is the norm? I miss the doctor-owned clinics, coz they usually more responsible as they are running their own biz, unlike those serving in medical group clinics, many of them treat it like a job. Sadly, the young estate I'm staying in doesn't have many docs in private practice. Seen a very young female doc once, also cannot make it, only out to earn money. Want to go to the popular and sought after doc that works slower then comprain about waiting time? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator May 4, 2011 Share May 4, 2011 kns! dead pple oso consult u hor! eh...is a job not many wan to do hor....and i was told i gifted with it....hosei liao.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged May 4, 2011 Share May 4, 2011 kns! dead pple oso consult u hor! He is a busy man you know... with so many connection..... dead or alive... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazda2gal 5th Gear May 4, 2011 Author Share May 4, 2011 Want to go to the popular and sought after doc that works slower then comprain about waiting time? The popular doc was not on duty on tues so I had to see a young doc, it took me hrs, and though I highlighted that I've sensitive nose and swelling in my nasal passage, he dismissed it totally. Today this popular doc found told me the blood in the phlegm was fr my nose not my throat, as she did some simple testing and found that my nasal passage is inflamed. She gave me medicine for this. My point is, I think there are more and more docs who are no good, don't even have the heart to serve others, help patients. Maybe that is why everyone swarms to see the few good ones, and hence long waiting time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator May 4, 2011 Share May 4, 2011 The popular doc was not on duty on tues so I had to see a young doc, it took me hrs, and though I highlighted that I've sensitive nose and swelling in my nasal passage, he dismissed it totally. Today this popular doc found told me the blood in the phlegm was fr my nose not my throat, as she did some simple testing and found that my nasal passage is inflamed. She gave me medicine for this. My point is, I think there are more and more docs who are no good, don't even have the heart to serve others, help patients. Maybe that is why everyone swarms to see the few good ones, and hence long waiting time. lots of drs have extremely bad bedside manners...and i have taken a few to task at the SMC.... sis...next time come here...get a provisi diagnosis...then go confirm... if dying...er...dun come here hor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aaron_soh80 1st Gear May 4, 2011 Share May 4, 2011 (edited) private didn't take long..30mins max.. polyclinic takes about 2hrs? and another 30mins to take medicine.. i went to my company pte clinic total time aso need to wait almost 1.5 hrs lor.. Edited May 4, 2011 by Aaron_soh80 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainbowbiatch 6th Gear May 4, 2011 Share May 4, 2011 i went to my company pte clinic total time aso need to wait almost 1.5 hrs lor.. wah! that's long! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...