Foreigner: Disgruntled S'poreans taking bliss for granted

Rjmsfire

i know one malaysian malay and one malaysian chinese..

both outright reject... too intrusive to followup on their 2nd interview outcome...

they pay local taxes, local HDB, etc etc ....

heck, they only have daughters each.... not even a son...Pink IC ?! out of question...they are even embarassed that this question has been breached....

maybe a MP role might be deal breaker.....like that indian chap from PAP who has never serve NS..

folks...those that do come across path with him (what's his name ?)

make him recite the pledge, do couple of 'knock it down 10', have him march and BERHENnnnnnnnTI ! if he screws up any of the three, how can he understand 'us' ?

don talk about the pop-the-cherry guy lah! fully-vested my arse! [lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed]

To TS

Your comments are exactly the same things as my so called FT colleagues, i'm sure a lot of other so called FTs think the same way too.

Are you a PR? Or here on an employment pass

If you are a PR.. there is a whole list of reasons that I would like to pen down, but it will be a waste of my time.

The only thing I want to ask you is: since Singapore is so good, why don't you apply for citizenship in Singapore and convert to a Singaporean? Please highlight to all the forumers here your reason for not applying

If not, its just cheap talk. In mandarin, we call them "feng1 liang2 hua4"

If you are not, welcome to Singapore and enjoy our pro FT policy

If I were to change places with you, I will gladly stay in SG (why not, after all the government is treating foreigners better than Singaporeans), save and earn the $$, go back to my country to enjoy a luxury life. and laugh at Singaporeans working their ass off till 70.

Enough of wasting my time to post.

Got nearby first world country meh.

BTW, you are one of the problems. Why don't you scoot back to your country?

if TS talks the talk, will he walk the walk...

To TS

Your comments are exactly the same things as my so called FT colleagues, i'm sure a lot of other so called FTs think the same way too.

If you are a PR.. there is a whole list of reasons that I would like to pen down, but it will be a waste of my time.

The only thing I want to ask you is: since Singapore is so good, why don't you apply for citizenship in Singapore and convert to a Singaporean? Please highlight to all the forumers here your reason for not applying

If I were to change places with you, I will gladly stay in SG (why not, after all the government is treating foreigners better than Singaporeans), save and earn the $$, go back to my country to enjoy a luxury life. and laugh at Singaporeans working their ass off till 70.

I originate from a neighboring country and have many years of first-hand experience living in Singapore and in my country. I observe Singaporeans' sentiments on this general election with interest and put forward my thoughts - food for thought for you perhaps.

Singaporeans have lots of genuine issues to be unhappy about.

Housing prices too high for newly-weds, high and rising cost of living, high cost of medical care, pressure-cooker education system and working life, high ministerial salaries, arrogant PAP politicians who don't care about the mid and lower income groups, large influx of immigrants, etc.

Let me describe some of the electoral issues people in my country are unhappy about.

Housing prices too high for newly-weds, high and rising cost of living, high cost of private medical care (public medical care cheap but dubious doctors), high income ministers but dubious sources of wealth, arrogant incumbent party politicians who don't care about the mid and lower income groups, large influx of immigrants (mostly unskilled labourers and many are illegals)

And Also

High rate of crime, rampant and systemic corruption and abuse of power, state sponsored racism and intolerance, still many people living in poverty, poor public transport in the major cities and non-existent public transport outside major cities, widespread environmental damage, education system that produces poorly skilled graduates unattractive to employers, economy losing out FDI to countries below and above it in the value chain, cash for votes, etc.

You can see that people in my country share many of the grouses that Singaporeans have but we have a lot other major grouses that Singaporeans do not have! The PAP is not perfect but they have produced a society that is by and large a good place to live, work and raise a family. It is not surprising large numbers of educated and skilled foreigners, with plenty of choices, choose to move to Singapore. PAP should be recognised for their good work done over the years with your votes. Like all the good and bad inherent in any spouse, the PAP's strengths and weaknesses come as a package. Compared to incumbent parties in neighboring countries, the PAP has far more strengths than weaknesses.

Foreigners can appreciate the good in Singapore because life in their countries are worse off. However Singaporeans have taken for granted their security, prosperity, an efficient, clean government and excellent economic and educational opportunities open to all citizens. Singaporeans assume these are a given, something that will naturally be there in Singapore. I beg to differ.

Even though past elections have only produced a handful of opposition seats, if enough unhappy people vote for the opposition this time, you might just kick out the ruling party to your surprise. Then in the years to come, only at a time of loss will Singaporeans find out what bliss they had.

My advise to you is:

1) If you like Singapore and our bliss so much. Apply for citizenship and get the chance to vote for your bliss.

2) If you are not taking up the citizenship for whatever hardship or crazy reasons, its ok. But obviously, the bliss aint enough for you. Therefore, you are a guest in Singapore.

Since you are a guest. It is courteous for you to stay out of our affairs. When I visit US of A or Japan or Korea or Taiwan, I am a guest and I keep my opinions to myself and do not teach the locals how they should govern their land. As a guest, you have no stake in my country and have not contributed to my country (paying taxes and spending money here dun count.. otherwise the taxes I paid when I tour Japan and USA should qualify me for their medical benefits and I clearly dun.

In short. You have a choice to be one of us. Until you are you dun have a right to tell us what to do.

To TS

This reminds me of the other idiot in MCF - where are you Zanter?

Reason I call him idiot is because he likes to criticize Singaporeans for whining over every small things and not appreciative of how wonderful our govt is compared to up North.

Of course he has been studying and working in SG for over 20+ years and enjoyed all the benefits.

The reason he said he doesn't want to convert to pink IC is because he doesn't want to 'burden' us - so he's planning to cash out and go back North to retire.

SO much more patriotic than Singaporeans.

In other words - just like TS.

My message to TS is the same as Zanter - convert to pink IC and we can talk.

In the meantime - fark off you idiot.

3rd Gear

TS.....

Show me your red IC next time then we can have meaningful discussion..

U even talk like a MIW... lol...

I quote you

"Even though past elections have only produced a handful of opposition seats, if enough unhappy people vote for the opposition this time, you might just kick out the ruling party to your surprise. Then in the years to come, only at a time of loss will Singaporeans find out what bliss they had."

TS - where u from? Stinkapoo is a living hell to me. When ever i go up north - the feeling is better, less stress and I dun really mind giving

kopi $ (small amount) to mata. I enjoying traveling up north like other bros here - just to get away from here.

How nice of you, rather corrupt other's country and kpkb in own country -_-

Wow, a foreigner without a right to vote in Singapore is not allowed to share opinions? Is there a gag order around here? Sounds pretty dictatorial to me :o

TS,

I am not surprise foreigners are getting uncomfortable having seen 1st hand how Singaporean feel about them.

And I am also not surprised they are hopping to stay on while complaining about one's own former country grouses which you just did.

But there is a different:

Singaporean voters are staying here to vote, while you wandered overseas for years complaining about your country's grouse..

Question is more about your contribution rather than you having audacity to lecture Singaporean.

In case you forget, after having stayed here for many years, Singapore is NOT PAP, it is about Singaporean and for Singaporean.

This is the fruit that you (and may your family) had been enjoying on the backs Singaporean and their NS men.

I await your reply on this matter.

I have also spent a number of years living in Europe and get to observe at first hand how Western governments and ministers govern. Do not simply assume the PAP must be inferior to Western parties and Western ideals of democracy and method of government. The electorate in Europe too have lots of grouses about their government and politicians. They too face pressing, hard issues such as high unemployment, high personal taxation, a higher rate of crime than Singapore, bungling politicians, inefficient beauracracy, high and rising cost of living, etc. Compared to the overall 'goods delivered' by governments, I'll reckon the PAP doesn't lose out to the incumbent parties in any of the countries you mentioned.

Pal, this is our "familee" matter...

Just stand aside and enjoy; You really need to be a citizen here through the 90s, 80s, 70s or 60s to understand why we feel this way about pappies..

Edited by Poper

I don't know what is your intention to flame here???? but for sure you are not foreigner neither from our neighbour country.

Either working for any party :D:D , good in utilise internet power. Smart enough [dizzy][dizzy]

hahaha..TS dissapeared!!!!

TS, I notice you didn't answer one question

Does your ministers get as paid as much as Singapore ministers?

When they are paid few millions a year each from our TAX money, we expect more and no mistakes.

It is as simple as that.

TS - where u from? Stinkapoo is a living hell to me. When ever i go up north - the feeling is better, less stress and I dun really mind giving

kopi $ (small amount) to mata. I enjoying traveling up north like other bros here - just to get away from here.

Everything is good when you spend there but should turn "living hell" when you try to make a living.

PR or FT mind on your own business! If you are not happy, you can convert to citizen and vote for the P8P. I dare you !

We, Singaporeans don't need to stoop so low to compare ourselves to our neighbours and try to feel contented and complacent. This is fooling ourselves and will only lead to downfall of ourselves. We should be comparing to better countries and strive towards that.

BTW, we have not reached the SWISS standard of living as promised yet. [:p]