OpenNet Cabling & Trunking ...........

Maxus-MIFA9

my home plug doesn't work with the fiber [:(]

i really suspect its your hardware limitation.

cause my brother friend using same brand (only one brand anyway :D ) no issue leh..

but his is latest version. maybe the Firmware update you did was limited by old hardware technology??

i really suspect its your hardware limitation.

cause my brother friend using same brand (only one brand anyway :D ) no issue leh..

but his is latest version. maybe the Firmware update you did was limited by old hardware technology??

possible, but i will keep it to wifi as it still get 25mbps and i also run out of wall plug to connect [laugh]

i still thinking...anyway, now contracted with Maxonline still.. 1 more year to go before i can switch... by then wall plug technology will had improve liao [laugh]

OMG, Sunday 11pm

I'm on 30mbps plan, it's even struggling to go to speedtest website....LOL

huh??? You mena on Flybra also like that??? Then what for spend so much install flybra and kena screwed deep deep??? Cable already kena screwed... now they even wanna screw us with the flybra??? [rolleyes]

A light test is the most a normal end user can do within means. If we do need to check on the signal strength, then the cheapest to go for is a Power Meter, and this costs at least US$500 onwards, while the OTDR for checking the estimated location of the breakage costs many times more. All these equipments are not as cheap as a multimeter (below S$20) that a home user can afford. It's also not possible see through the protective layer of the cable as the light goes through. The only way you can see the light, which is usually a small dot is at the tip.

This LED light test method is not harmful. If you stare at the light source while connected to the OpenNet's TP, there's a chance your eyes may be burned/damaged by the laser. I can't say for sure what light source OpenNet is using - Laser or LED. So just to play safe. Another way if you are worried is to test in a totally dark environment and bringing the tip close to a wall. If you can see the red dot, chances are the cable is ok. We usually do this kind of test when we have connectivity issues to eliminate cable problems.

I'm not saying you can see through the protective layer of the cable. I'm saying the light can pass through the protective layer and u can see a spot of light along the cable if the fiber inside is broken. Maybe u haven't seen it before.

Edited by Ultramega

this is my installation :

a middle aged man and woman came to my place in the morning.

asked me where is the terminator.

took some readings with a electronic tool and then plugged in the fibre cable to the wall terminator.

then he asked me what did M1 tell me .... i told him "nothing".

then he said "good .... becoz if M1 said we will setup the modem for you, then i will not do it as my company (openNet) told me not to do so."

but since M1 did not promise me anything, he will go ahead and setup the modem for me also ... which mean pluggin in the power of the modem and then plugging the UTP cable from the ONT into the modem.

that's all, less than 10 mins ... the "installation" is actuall the delivery of the eqpt to your hse, plug in, see got lights moving, take readings and that's it !!

this is my installation :

a middle aged man and woman came to my place in the morning.

asked me where is the terminator.

took some readings with a electronic tool and then plugged in the fibre cable to the wall terminator.

then he asked me what did M1 tell me .... i told him "nothing".

then he said "good .... becoz if M1 said we will setup the modem for you, then i will not do it as my company (openNet) told me not to do so."

but since M1 did not promise me anything, he will go ahead and setup the modem for me also ... which mean pluggin in the power of the modem and then plugging the UTP cable from the ONT into the modem.

that's all, less than 10 mins ... the "installation" is actuall the delivery of the eqpt to your hse, plug in, see got lights moving, take readings and that's it !!

[/quo

about the same process less than 10 mins

Come this Sat afternoon, they are coming to run the cable.

Still hesitating on the running of the trunking & cable ...... [:(][:(]

with fiber, wifi is good enough lah....

You won't regret laying the cables.

OpenNet came a bit late for me as my renovation was completed years ago, so now with a trunking running down the ceiling.

I've laid cat 6 lan cables as well, all these are well hidden. Cat 6 lan cables can support up to 1gbps within a lan environment, compared to the 350mbps wireless can support now. In a way, my house is future proof for the next 10 years.

You may think it is not necessary as u can depend on wireless. You'll be surprised of the signal strength wuth all your furnishings like cabinets, shelves... are up.

Find 1 day, bring your wireless router and your laptop to your new house. Place the router at the location where u plan to put in future. Bring ur laptop ard and stay in each location and monitor youf signal strength. You'll get what i mean.

OpenNet is not a broadband service provider. They are the contractor appointed by SDA to lay fibre cable and installation of Terminal Point in your house. For Fibre broadband services, you need to sign up with either Singtel, M1 or Starhub. The speed of your fibre broadband depending on the service package you sign up with one of these service providers.

The ISPs will buy bandwidth from OpenNet and sell to you for fiber services.

If you want, you can also be a reseller by buyibg from OpenNet and selling it to others.

They are the ones who will turn on/off the signals into your house.

By default it is turned off after installation.

So is the speed good with opennet?

Speed so far looks good, just like MaxOnline in the past.

Congestion will set in when more people hop in.

Current SOHO equipment are not capable of attaining the max speed, so no point going for the fastest plan yet.

with fiber, wifi is good enough lah....

not exactly true. depends on which plan/speed you are on. wifi tech is currently not very scalable. even under ideal conditions, direct LoS eg 5m, it is considered acceptable to achieve 30Mbps data throughput. meaning once you subscribe 100Mbps plan, your router will bottleneck you 80% of the time. Cat 6 is the way to go.

Hi, may I know if anyone can recommend a good Electrician(?) to run a LAN/Fibre optic Cable in my house? It's abit confusing to explain exactly what I want here, that's why I need him/her to come to my place and take a look...

Appreciate any and all contributions...

Hello, in the end did you get someone to come over your home? I just received Opennet letter so facing the same dilemma to have it installed. I want mine to be wired concealed in false ceilings. Not sure if the termination point should be in the study room OR living room? :blink: