Chemmie78 Clutched May 14, 2011 Share May 14, 2011 reading this thread really reinforces the view that we shoulidn't jump into marriages....i am not married but broke up and already feeling so troubled by the mess....so hard to disposes of our joint assets...if i die she still get 500k....sigh....although i admitted i had been unfaithful to her...but i really still love her ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jj5599 1st Gear May 14, 2011 Author Share May 14, 2011 500k of what? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator May 14, 2011 Share May 14, 2011 when i 1st took out my ring, you can tell by the shade on my finger that i've been wearing a ring for a long time... felt different for a while... I never wear one and it last 17 years and counting Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged May 14, 2011 Share May 14, 2011 My frn had to cancel their wedding on a very ugly note bcos the girl cheated on him.out of anger and resentment, he took back e diamond ring on purpose Coz he knew she loved the ring. He went n got it changed to a stud earring for himself. But I wouldn't encourage dat. Pointless n petty. the wedding band is exchanged on the wedding day. since the wedding is cancelled, the wedding band is not exchanged and remains in the possession on the man. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear May 14, 2011 Share May 14, 2011 the wedding band is exchanged on the wedding day. since the wedding is cancelled, the wedding band is not exchanged and remains in the possession on the man. Not really, I'm getting married next month but our wedding bands are now on each others' fingers liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged May 14, 2011 Share May 14, 2011 It ironic that u think she should not have it because u want a clean break but here u r requesting to have it back. Anyway for me, what is given I will not ask back... In fact I will return my side of the ring to her... Money will be the last thing on my mind... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jj5599 1st Gear May 14, 2011 Author Share May 14, 2011 Of cos, cos the guy gave her the rings for life. But since she don't want to continue, she should return them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged May 14, 2011 Share May 14, 2011 Sounds like you can't let go. You should just forget about it and move on if a clean break is what you really want. Just my opinion Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jj5599 1st Gear May 14, 2011 Author Share May 14, 2011 Sounds like you can't let go. You should just forget about it and move on if a clean break is what you really want. Just my opinion It will be clean if all 2 rings returned to me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainbowbiatch 6th Gear May 14, 2011 Share May 14, 2011 It will be clean if all 2 rings returned to me. After a breakup,the ring becomes nothing but juz an object.I'm curious y r u so persistent abt having it back?if it is abt e "custom" u mentioned earlier,I've Nv heard of it.I would rather u fight for ur 19 month old baby. Isn't it more rational instead? The ring u can juz give to her as pittance watever. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jj5599 1st Gear May 14, 2011 Author Share May 14, 2011 After a breakup,the ring becomes nothing but juz an object.I'm curious y r u so persistent abt having it back?if it is abt e "custom" u mentioned earlier,I've Nv heard of it.I would rather u fight for ur 19 month old baby. Isn't it more rational instead? The ring u can juz give to her as pittance watever. Thanks for the rational advice. I just want to put it in a collection. It wont be complete just 1 engagement ring. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainbowbiatch 6th Gear May 14, 2011 Share May 14, 2011 Thanks for the rational advice. I just want to put it in a collection. It wont be complete just 1 engagement ring. Sigh.. *pats*.. As cliche as it sounds, time will heal. I kw it wun do much help by saying, but hang in there. When e goin gets tough,the tough gets going. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jj5599 1st Gear May 14, 2011 Author Share May 14, 2011 Sigh.. *pats*.. As cliche as it sounds, time will heal. I kw it wun do much help by saying, but hang in there. When e goin gets tough,the tough gets going. It helped..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged May 14, 2011 Share May 14, 2011 So when you wanna get going with me? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Walkingtree 1st Gear May 15, 2011 Share May 15, 2011 I never wear one and it last 17 years and counting With my wife 16 years now (married for 12 years), only time i wore my wedding ring was the day of marriage. She oso don't wear her ring all the time, execpt when it suits the occasion to have some "bling" on. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Walkingtree 1st Gear May 15, 2011 Share May 15, 2011 @Ken and Jj, I'm sorry to hear of the bad patch you guys are going through in your respective relationships now. Regardless of cause, i'm sure all sides in a marriage had made their respective sacrifices, big or small, during the time together. I would say the most important issue to resolve will be to make sure the feelings and well-being of the kids, if any, are properly managed. On the topic posted by TS, my personal practice is never to ask for the return of objects that I've given of my own free-will. (kena pressure to buy expensive ring or splash on lavish wedding no count, cos' you can always say no. [laugh] ) I've given stuff (rings included) to ex-gfs before. When the relationship didn't work out, those stuff are theirs to keep if they want. If they prefer to return them, I'll just take them back. From the point where the decision to part ways is taken mutually, most important is to let the relationship go without prolonging the ill-will. I know that breaking up with a gf is very different from breaking up a marriage, and so i'll never fully understand the emotions that you guys are going thru'. The distribution of mutual properties, child custody and alimony claims oso do not feature in BGR breakups. So i can only wish you guys all the best for a speedy resolution, and hope the future works out better for u guys. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluemice 2nd Gear May 15, 2011 Share May 15, 2011 to add : if seeing that 5K or 10K ring ends in undeserving hands pains one... just imagine deductions of thousands $$ flying off monthly from your hard earned accounts.... this will probably trigger a "lifetime" of anger/hatred/reminder/(what-ever-word-you-put-it) ... thats gonna be the real killer, not the ring. thank goodness i am spared of that [pirate] mice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged May 15, 2011 Share May 15, 2011 Of cos, cos the guy gave her the rings for life. But since she don't want to continue, she should return them. I am not in a position to comment much but imho when any relationship breaks down, both have a prt to play. Take care, rest easy, jio your kakis out.... Maybe even take time off for a short holiday ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...