Acieed 1st Gear May 20, 2011 Share May 20, 2011 Doesn't matter what era, if TP wants to be GL, he/she will be GL man. Once upon a time, got LOA to drive MINDEF car and occifer insist on parking illegally because occifer big f*ck. Surely, we got summon 6 pts + $120 sent to MT line, and occifer goes to meet TP thinking they are all gahmen and will help each other. Too bad TP don't even want to talk to him. Luckily, chow LCP write letter to negotiate with TP ASP and got summon waived. Really? which era? now i dun think can lor.. TP all very GL now. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bugts Neutral Newbie May 20, 2011 Author Share May 20, 2011 No chance one. So can forget about it. Even police car attend to emergency(depend on level of emergency) got to adhere to certain speed limit. What makes TS think by friend father in critical condition allow him to speed? I can say, save time and just surrender. Especially so if they got your record of previous offence. More so if it is speeding related. Bo beh chao one. agree but just hope that licence wun be revoked.. at least still can keep it! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bugts Neutral Newbie May 20, 2011 Author Share May 20, 2011 dont think its revoked.. but suspended. prob a couple of mths cant drive.. so tahan lor. so anyone can confirm no revoked for -pts? suspend is ok but not more 12mths lah..! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged May 20, 2011 Share May 20, 2011 i wonder have you ever speed when in times of emergency? like family, relative, close friend etc whos in ambulance to A&E. then you know where i come from.. speed not because of racing or thrill.. sorry if i'm rude.. Since when is "friends father in hospital" an emergency? To think so is very self centered. Maybe if LKY have heart attack and you r his surgeon then can argue. Anyway... If really so important that u risk safety and other road users to be there, isn't your license a small price to pay? Or is it only an emergency when the negative effects fall to someone else? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nohnemwan 1st Gear May 20, 2011 Share May 20, 2011 i wonder have you ever speed when in times of emergency? like family, relative, close friend etc whos in ambulance to A&E. then you know where i come from.. speed not because of racing or thrill.. sorry if i'm rude.. You need to grow up and ask yourself - what will speeding achieve in such circumstances? Will speeding really make a difference? Or is it to console yourself that you tried to do something but could not make it in time? Speeding WILL NOT delay an imminent death. If you really want to be there at the moment of death, you should be inside the ambulance. If someone is already in such a state that he dies INSIDE an ambulance, then there is no amount of speeding that will save that person's life. If someone is in hospital and about to die and you are not there, then just too bad. You really think that speeding to reach the hospital will make a difference? Or preparing for the moment is more important? Speeding in such circumstances is a weak and stupid excuse. It puts many more innocent lives in danger. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic May 20, 2011 Share May 20, 2011 Must salute to TS's friend for his sacrifice(of his license) just to save a friend's father. What a kind soul. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear May 20, 2011 Share May 20, 2011 so anyone can confirm no revoked for -pts? suspend is ok but not more 12mths lah..! i think it ranges from weeks to months of suspensions depending on the previous offences Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged May 20, 2011 Share May 20, 2011 From TP Website.. How does DIPS operate? A driver may not accumulate 24 or more demerit points within 24 months before he becomes liable for suspension. If a driver has been suspended before, he may not accumulate 12 or more demerit points within 12 months from the date of his last offence. A first time suspension will last three months. Subsequent suspensions may be up to three years. Where the suspension period lasts a year or longer, the motorist will have his licence revoked and will have to re-sit and pass all the prescribed tests in order to obtain a new driving licence. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic May 20, 2011 Share May 20, 2011 so anyone can confirm no revoked for -pts? suspend is ok but not more 12mths lah..! 4 weeks to 3 months suspension, assuming no previous suspenion. Mandai 109 km/h is excessive although I must admit the straight/wide stretch of roads, usually with light traffic, is good for clearing carbon. http://driving-in-singapore.spf.gov.sg/ser...s_flowchart.htm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bugts Neutral Newbie May 20, 2011 Author Share May 20, 2011 You need to grow up and ask yourself - what will speeding achieve in such circumstances? Will speeding really make a difference? Or is it to console yourself that you tried to do something but could not make it in time? Speeding WILL NOT delay an imminent death. If you really want to be there at the moment of death, you should be inside the ambulance. If someone is already in such a state that he dies INSIDE an ambulance, then there is no amount of speeding that will save that person's life. If someone is in hospital and about to die and you are not there, then just too bad. You really think that speeding to reach the hospital will make a difference? Or preparing for the moment is more important? Speeding in such circumstances is a weak and stupid excuse. It puts many more innocent lives in danger. totally agree! but that is when you are in clear mind! that is why we call accident. we can't predit what is going to happen next.. he is just unlucky ba. alot of us travel 100+- on expressway. but not on a 70km/h road. how many of us get still react above when it comes to accident. we are call human because we have feelings.. there is ups and down in your life. i'm glad the friend's father in stable condition. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bugts Neutral Newbie May 20, 2011 Author Share May 20, 2011 4 weeks to 3 months suspension, assuming no previous suspenion. Mandai 109 km/h is excessive although I must admit the straight/wide stretch of roads, usually with light traffic, is good for clearing carbon. http://driving-in-singapore.spf.gov.sg/ser...s_flowchart.htm glad to hear that licence will not be revoked.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bugts Neutral Newbie May 20, 2011 Author Share May 20, 2011 Must salute to TS's friend for his sacrifice(of his license) just to save a friend's father. What a kind soul. i think not to save a friend's father but rather be someone who there to help, console, support. like bro Nohnemwan said "Speeding in such circumstances is a weak and stupid excuse" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nohnemwan 1st Gear May 20, 2011 Share May 20, 2011 totally agree! but that is when you are in clear mind! that is why we call accident. we can't predit what is going to happen next.. he is just unlucky ba. alot of us travel 100+- on expressway. but not on a 70km/h road. how many of us get still react above when it comes to accident. we are call human because we have feelings.. there is ups and down in your life. i'm glad the friend's father in stable condition. The time to think about speeding and any beneficial results it might produce is NOW, not during an emergency, whether real or imaginary. This is otherwise known as preparation. Only then will you be able to take hold of the crisis and cope with the situation. Typical case: 20 km from hospital. Likely actual average speed if comply with speed limit assuming encounter the usual traffic lights and road conditions: 60km/h. Journey time is therefore 20 minutes. If speeding at a constant 120kmh, likely overall average speed will only increase to maybe 68km/h. Journey time is therefore 17.5 minutes. Time saving: 2.5 minutes. Anyone who wants to exchange 2.5 minute time savings for 3 months suspension, go ahead (this is for those people who claim that they are speeding for emergencies not everyday speeding). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear May 20, 2011 Share May 20, 2011 Digital 'eyes' to speed up action against speedsters Road cameras targeting 'red light' offenders part of $1b worth of IT tenders By Irene Tham DRIVERS who run red lights or break the speed limit could be dealt with more quickly after the Government unveiled tenders for two new types of digital road cameras on Thursday. More than $10 million has been budgeted for a digital system that photographs cars that jump traffic lights. And up to $3 million is to be spent on digital speed cameras to trap motorists who exceed the limit. Both types of cameras currently in use are analogue and are becoming obsolete, said a Singapore Police Force spokesman. ============================== Officers have to spend time retrieving the films manually and sending them for processing. They then have to review the photos before a summons can be issued. Installing digital cameras would speed up the process greatly and help save on resources. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic May 20, 2011 Share May 20, 2011 i ever kana speed trap at Boon Lay Way from clementi to jurong. the officer said i was clocked at 160km/hr and the speed limit was 70km/h and it was a chargeable court offence. Luckily i was only riding a bike at that time bcos a few minutes later before the officer could write me the summon, a few cars were seen racing on the same stretch and the officer had to delegate the job to some junior female officers that was on duty. Luck was on my side as the female officer had forgotten the details of my offence and had written 106km/h on my summon slip. that was the most worth-it 8 pts and 160 sgd fine i ever paid to the government but that was in 1993. now i drive within speed limits and conscientously Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wanderer8596 Neutral Newbie May 20, 2011 Share May 20, 2011 on behalf of good friend, caught by TP at mandai road. capture at 109km/h. already left 6points. any chance to appeal as i know 30-39 = 8 demerits.. at that time was rushing to A&E khoo teck huat hospital as good friend's father sent to there. Explain to TP that dun intend to speed for racing.. TP said "like you said already, is your friend's father, not yours what.." what is the chances of appealing...? if not sure revoked right? need advise from bro & sis. Thanks! If never being suspended before, once reach 24 demerit points, u will b liable for 3 months suspension.. After 3 months, licence will return bk to u without retake d driving lesson again.. If wanna cut short the 3 months suspension, next will be sign up for their corrective driving in driving school where once u passed it, will reduce the suspension period from 3 months to 1 month... If not, juz dun drive for 3 months and after 3 months then drive.. But note that u will be drive wif 0 point, which mean cnt afford to kena any 1 point offence... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear May 20, 2011 Share May 20, 2011 If never being suspended before, once reach 24 demerit points, u will b liable for 3 months suspension.. After 3 months, licence will return bk to u without retake d driving lesson again.. If wanna cut short the 3 months suspension, next will be sign up for their corrective driving in driving school where once u passed it, will reduce the suspension period from 3 months to 1 month... If not, juz dun drive for 3 months and after 3 months then drive.. But note that u will be drive wif 0 point, which mean cnt afford to kena any 1 point offence... so i can get one 24 point offence from 0 then get 3 months? i see before of cases where those with 0 points and kena caught going 140 on a 60km/h stretch suspended 1 year? how come? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic May 20, 2011 Share May 20, 2011 so i can get one 24 point offence from 0 then get 3 months? i see before of cases where those with 0 points and kena caught going 140 on a 60km/h stretch suspended 1 year? how come? more than double the speed limit is an automatic chargeable court offence! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...